We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - felt like a 5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belmar to your Saves list
Hotel Belmar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free yoga classes
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Fort Wayne In
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel - felt like a 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at the Belmar July 2014. The pictures of the outside do not do it justice at all. Inside beautiful lustrous wood everywhere including a circular staircase. The restarant had a great view and you could eat inside or outd=side on the porch. The bed was very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub in our room looked out over an amazing view, the sitting area was cozy, and we saw a Toucan from our balcony! The road getting there is is slow going, definitely need four wheel drive and for sure GPS - but worth the trip. It is a ways outside the town which was fine with us- nice and peaceful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Funny arriving at a chalet style hotel in Costa Rica but it works. We had the Sunrise room - beautiful views. The room was hot when we arrived due to the floor to ceiling windows, there are no air conditioners but a fan and we opened the door to the deck which cooled the room down. The room is rustic - not 5 star luxury but nice enough. Bed very comfortable. Jacuzzi in room we used both days looking at the view. Service was very personalised and friendly. We asked for an ice bucket for some champagne that we brought and this appeared quickly. The breakfast is simple but tasty. On the other hand, the dinners were outstanding. Superb food which is creative and delicious. This food could be served in any high class restaurant in the major cities of the world - we were very impressed. It is also mainly organic and they try to get ingredients from close by. The hotel is close to the main attractions of Monteverde and they can arrange tours or transport. I would recommend this hotel for a personalised experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iglortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
266 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is just below the Monteverde reserve and above the town. Dinner was served first class because of our outstanding waiter. Room had beautiful views which were not always visible because of the obvious...the clouds. Rough road to get to the area, dirt roads with steep drops...being afraid of heights this was tough for me. The effort was well worth it due to the hotel's staff attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Beautiful hotel with exceptional service. View of the Nicoya Bay. Happy Hour! Wonderful breakfast. Walk-able to downtown. The thing we will probably remember most is that you could call up the desk and have delicious coffee delivered to the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at the Belmar in September 2013, and we loved it. We were here for 2 nights and enjoyed the place. They give free coffee, and their breakfasts were decent. Clean rooms, good service. Definitely will recommend it to people travelling to Monteverde. We travelled in the off-season, so it was quiet and nice.

Room Tip: A second floor room gives a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amruta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights and Hotel Belmar far exceeded our expectations. The accommodations were lovely and comfortable, the grounds were lush and beautiful, the staff was incredibly friendly and attentive, but not over-bearing, and the food and drinks were above excellent. We never expected to find craft cocktails in Costa Rica, but Hotel Belmar has this nailed (try their Costa Rican Old Fashioned -- amazing!). Our breakfasts, lunches and dinners were all outstanding and some of the best we encountered during our time in Costa Rica. We will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: Pennisula Superior rooms are on the top floor of the main house and have stunningly beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H0wdyYall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

My family and i stayed here recently for one night during our trip to Monteverde region. It's a very nice, clean, friendly place. The staff could not have been more welcoming or accomodating. We didn't spend too much time at the hotel because we came to spend time in all of the outdoor natural wonders but the time we did spend there was very comfortable. The food - we ate both dinner and breakfast - was good. The dinner menu had creative items on it and the food was tasty. Again thought the service was superb. Id recommend this hotel for an overnight or two in monteverde, but not much more.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nycfam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#7 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belmar 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Belmar Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing