We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with freindly staff ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Fonda Vela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with freindly staff ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We chose this the Fonda Vela as a recommended choice from a certain popular travel guide. The hotel itself consists of several individual housing units each with several rooms in them. The rooms are a good size, wooden panneled with a small fridge. The bathroom was fine although showing its age a bit. The hotel grounds are pleasant and well maintained. Thesetting is nice with great views across the valley.

The disadvantage of the Fonda Vela is its some distance from 'downtown' where the majority of the the other hotels / restaurants are located. If you've got a car its fine - although the bumpy ride to a fro can get quite uncomfortable. If you are taking taxis then its probably a bit far out if you plan to travel into town frequently. You can walk to a couple of restaurants / coffee shops nearby but there's not much to choose from.

It is a really great location for the main Cloud forest reserve which is a few minutes away and well worth a visit. Take the guided tour (book ahead) but also wander the trails by yourself once the tour is finished. We saw lots of wildlife on our own and really enjoyed the forest.

The staff at the Fonda Vela were very helpful and accomodating throughout our stay. We ate breakfast there a couple of times which was a buffet and was very good. Remember to ask for a discount if you have children eating with you!

  • Liked — Grounds, space for kids to play outside on the grass
  • Disliked — Road getting to / fro!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    152
    62
    17
    13
See reviews for
96
179
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in a junior suite. The room was huge with 2 king beds, fridge,TV & coffee maker. Loads of highly polished wood furniture which was a bit over bearing. A big problem was the bathrooms, very dated, stained bath, even the towels were tatty, very old fittings which badly need a refurb. The staff were pleasant and the food was good and very reasonable. This hotel is a long way from town,even to walk to the excellant bakery,"Stellas" was a 20 minute walk. Very little facilities at the hotel but from the opinions of people we met, it sounded like Fonda Vela was on of the better hotels in this area.

  • Liked — Good breakfasts
  • Disliked — Journey to get to it
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

We stayed at a Junior Suite at the Fonda Vela hotel for two nights; the place is beautiful and located near the entrance to the cloud forest park.

The road leading to the hotel is not the best, but it is what is expected as Monte Verde otherwise would be flooded with an excessive amount of tourists and probably look like a "cruise-ship town"
Hotel is a bit of a distance (5-10 min drive) from"downtown" area. However, this also places you a bit further away from the typical backpacker setting.

Art around the hotel is great and painted by the founder, staff is great and attentive, bright big rooms, resturant is pretty good, however keep in mind all the other restaurants are in town; and you might get tired of this one restaurant quickly. Great place for a few days!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the roads
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We arrived a night earlier than planned and our booked hotel (Poco Poco) could not help us with a room. We tried the Monteverde Garden Lodge next door - but they were so pricey, and seemed not to have a last minute rate (rather have an empty room than paying guests!), so we decided to go for Fonda Vela (after reading about it in our travel guide). The man at reception was very nice and accommodating. He gave us a key to look at the room and quoted a price. When we got back to reception he also offered to include breakfast in the rate. We got a standard room at $120, and a $33 saving (3 people) on breakfast.

We got one of the older rooms with no view, with loved the location - situated in the woods and it really felt like we were in the forest. We also love the musty, wooden room as it felt like a cabin in the forest! The room had two massive queen beds, fridge, TV and coffee machine.

We did not have dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was outstanding. The staff were really helpfull and even managed to book a night tour for us at the last minute.

The hotel has got beautiful gardens with stunning artwork and spectacular views from the bar area.

We will definately stay here again.

(See more on Monteverde - write up Poco Poco Hotel)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — NO free wireless
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean, spacious and had a comfortable bed and large TV (good because there is really nothing to do at night in Monteverde). The restaurant was okay, though the fish main courses were a little bit bland. However, for what it was, it was overpriced, especially considering that the $11/per person breakfast was NOT included in the price. There were no problems with our stay, and the staff was exceedingly pleasant, but I imagine you can get the same experience at many other hotels in the area for 1/2 to 2/3 of the price of the Fonda Vela.

  • Liked — Room, pretty grounds, service
  • Disliked — Breakfast not included
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

The Fonda Vela is a decent hotel for a visit to Monteverde. The hotel is right next to the park entrance, but it's on one of Monteverde's bad roads (of which there are many) and it really gets tiring after many trips down the road. The hotel's grounds were beautiful and there were plenty of places to relax in the sun. The service was quite good. The front desk staff were very helpful at arranging tours for us at the last minute.

For the setting and the service, I give the Fonda Vela above average marks. For everything else, I would give them below average marks. The dining at the restuarant is not good for dinner. The room is big, but it seems dirty and old. We found the bed to be uncomfortable and the sheets did not fit the mattress so they would come off repeatedly in the middle of the night.

We visited several hotels in the Monteverde and Santa Elena and we found that the Fonda Vela was probably the best hotel in the area, despite the negatives. Which says more about the area than the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

Hotel Fonda Vela was our favorite hotel on our Costa Rica trip. The room (jr suite) was huge and furnished with beautiful furniture. The grounds were very nicely done with mixture of statues, etc. along with natural beauty. Staff was very friendly. Restaurant wasn't particularly cheap, but had good food especially for dinner. Main disadvantage is that it isn't in the downtown area so no real alternative places to walk to (you have to taxi to go anywhere else), though taxis are very plentiful and cheap.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms and grounds
  • Disliked — Somewhat isolated from the town, which in some ways was good.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde
Hotel Fonda Vela Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fonda Vela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fonda Vela to your Saves list