We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and budget friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trapp Family Lodge to your Saves list
Trapp Family Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   LG Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and budget friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Stayed here on March 1, 2010 for one night. It is the last hotel before the Monteverde reserve so it's a little rough road getting here but worth it for the price, location and beauty. We got the mountain view because we had heard that the rooms in the main building could get noisy with the restaurant upstairs and the road nearby. I'm glad we did because the view was just spectacular and the room was HUGE with beautiful wood work throughout. The owners really do pride themselves in keeping the grounds and the structure in tip top shape. Breakfast was good and cheap and dinner was hot and fantastic. We chose this hotel for it's location, being within walking distance to the reserve and away from the craziness of the town. Staff was friendly. Would definitely stay here again, given the chance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    115
    70
    23
    14
See reviews for
68
148
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Clean large rooms, friendly and professional staff. Located walking distance to the park entrance.
Can set up any tours for you
Free internet

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

It was an experience to stay in a room surrounded by howling winds and constant horizontal drizzle! Two nights was just right. While there was no heat, there were plenty of blankets. The problem came when, after being cold and wet after ziplining and we wanted to shower, there wasn't enough hot water for more than two people. Then the cold was miserable. (Found a new use for the hair dryer in the room...) They did comp us a bottle of wine for our troubles.

The staff were sweet, and the fish with avocado for dinner was delicious. Breakfast was fine. The lobby is cozy and invites interaction with other guests (loved you Tennessee Trivial Pursuit players!).

As for the bathrooms, we found every bathroom in the area to ask the same thing: that you dispose of the toilet paper in the covered trash can, which you could open with your foot. It defied habit, but it was doable, and I noticed no smell whatsoever (and I'm picky about smells). It's apparently for the good of the environment, so I tried to take comfort in that when the inconvenience got old.

The cloud forest was gorgeous, as were the frequent rainbows en route. The serpentarium was a surprise highlight of the trip, and the butterfly farm was terrific, thanks to volunteer Kyle's amazing way of making even cockroaches fun! Sorry his tenure is so short there.

Enjoy Monteverde!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We ended up at Trapp because they are the closest to the rain forest. Even with the bad reviews it looked OK. Spent the night and then spent the morning finding another place to stay. Reasons:

You can't flush your dirty toilet paper down the toilet. The signs tell you to place your soiled paper in the trash can beside the toilet because of their septic system.

There are reviews that say it is a little cold--It is freezing. The doors to our room had an inch gap on the bottom.

Since it is the closest hotel to the Cloud Forest you are the highest hotel in elevation. The wind is constant and our room howled and shuttered all night.

Most likely you will have a car. If not there is transportation in town to just about any activity you choose being close to the Cloud forest is not worth it. From Trapp it is a considerable hike anyway. We stayed at the Hotel Belmar the next night it was nice (nothing fancy) warm clean and the view from the restaurant of the Gulf of Nacoya was amazing. Monteverde Lodge was also highly recommended by others during our trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Trapp Family Lodge is the only hotel technically in the Monteverde Cloud Forest. The views from our room were amazing - rain or shine. We could sit and watch the clouds rolling over the trees - it was quite wonderful.

The decor in the room was lovely, with striking wood furniture, neutral linens, and wonderfully vibrant pictures on the wall. We stayed in a mountain suite - 2 of our walls were pretty much all windows - and the view was spectacular. The restaurant was very good but a bit expensive and if you do not rent a car you will be a bit captive. WIth the exception of eating out, it was not a problem to go without a rental car. The hotel will call taxis for you and many of the activities will provide you door to door transportation.

The staff was friendly and helpful with planning activities.

The entrance to the park is easily walkable. The walk the opposite direction, towards town, had separate walking paths for pedestrians (although sometimes tricky to find the entrance, as they are right against the forest), and was really beautiful. Walk down to CASEM, the women's art cooperative, and support local artists.

Some other reviewers complain about insects. You may see a moth or cricket or two, but that is part of the magic of the hotel. You are after all, inside the forest. I am not a huge fan of sleeping with creepy crawlies around, but I slept wonderfully here.

We were very sad to leave and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttonwillow, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

This is a wonderful old lodge, constructed of wood and it has a great feel. The problem is that you have to put the toiled paper in a waste can and the bathrooms have a slight sewer smell. There is also no heating or airconditioning, which would be nice. That said, the room was comfortable, the staff was very attentive and the included continental breakfast very good. It included your choice of eggs, french toast or pancakes.
The location is not the best. Even though it is located close to the Monteverde Cloud Forest, you still need to drive for entrance.
If I returned, I would book a hotel closer to town, where you could walk to resturants and bars and shopping.
If the bathroom doesn't bother you and you want a nice seculded place, you will be happy here.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west80
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Agree with all the reviews:
Absolutely stunning location, a 15 minute walk into the Cloud Forest. Meals were at American prices. Dinners ranged from $15 (rice and chicken) to $20 (fish and meat). Wine was $5/glass. Dinners averaged $50/night for two. Breakfast was $5 plus any extras. Breakfast averaged $15/day for two. Taxi to a less expensive restaurant would have been about $10/each way. Rooms have no air or heat. You need to sleep under several blankets in the cool evenings. Very cozy if you up to it. The mattresses are covered in plastic in this very wet environment. They do have a satellite dish, but no internet anywhere in the hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They can book side tours. The picture the view from the room. Chairs are strategically placed in the room so you can sit and watch the mountains and the sweeping clouds.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: LG Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Monteverde
Trapp Family Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trapp Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.