We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you do One thing in Monteverdi - Do This” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curi Cancha Reserve

Curi Cancha Reserve
300 Metros Este de la Fabrica de Quesos Monteverde, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Attractions in Monteverde
Type: Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you do One thing in Monteverdi - Do This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had four days in Monteverdi and visited Curi Cancha for the whole day. It was outstanding. The reserve is set up for the wildlife and flora. Everything is here if you look. Coati, Agutti, Resplendent Quetzal; this reserve is one of the best for access to the attractions without being intrusive.

Only a few minutes from the main road, you can go out to lunch after a 7:30 start and then back in for an additional afternoon session for no additional cost.

Splendid place to spend a day or two and very affordable. We didn't have a guide, but you come across the other groups and they are so generous with their information that we were able to see things that we would have missed. Probably best to have a guide for a time and then do your own thing.

If you miss this one you will have missed an opportunity to see it all without the rides etc of a commercial set up.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    42
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Land O Lakes, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor & go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

On our last trip to Costa Rica, we visited the Monteverdi Cloud Forest. This time, we decided to visit the Curi Cancha Reserve, and we were not disappointed. Like so many others, Rafael was our guide and he found lots of different birds to see. He also knew so much about them and knew so many different bird calls. He took great pictures of them using our camera with his zoom lens. There were only four of us in our group and Rafael took about 3 1/2 hours to show us the park. The park is much smaller than the cloud reserve and also cheaper. Hire yourself a guide and enjoy!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Curi Cancha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Anywherecostarica.com helped with rides to places and answered many questions. You can do much of this thru hotels or wherever you are staying. Taxis are readily available as well. We had Raphael as our guide here and he was very good with bird calls etc. The guides all work together so communicate well and you have a good chance of seeing whatever has been spotted.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Don't hesitate to go to this reserve, even if you've been to others. They are very different. We went in the am, with an excellent private guide. It was very peaceful and beautiful, with blue skies, partial clouds and very interesting scenery. The guides work together to ensure that if one finds something, others know about it. Thus, we saw plenty of sights -- birds, tarantulas, snakes, deer, and so on. Really enjoyed this place.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We went to this place after being disappointed in our last night hike. This one was a lot more fun we saw lots of birds sleeping. A few tarantulas that were very big. Lots of aguites. Also saw a snake sleeping on a tree branch. Our guide rafiel was very knowing and seemed like a nice person. He was obviously very experienced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curi Cancha Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.