We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational and great birding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curi Cancha Reserve

Curi Cancha Reserve
300 Metros Este de la Fabrica de Quesos Monteverde, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 attractions in Monteverde
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
Tampa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Educational and great birding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Christian was our guide and he was very knowledgable. He spotted a tree climbing porcupine, bell bird, emerald toucanet, and a quetzal all in a matter of a couple of hours. This was the first time that I have used a guide in the Monteverde area. I have been to the both Monteverde and Santa Elena reserves and saw some of these animals but I didn't really know what I was seeing and hearing until this trip. It really does make the difference... for me at least. I would recommend this trip and Christian when you are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    41
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A delightful time in nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We happened upon this as a recommendation from hotel Belmar. There are only a limited number of people allowed in each day which makes for a quiet atmosphere and a feeling of really being close to nature as it is not highly developed for tourists. Our group consisted of only 6 people so we were easily able to hear and see everything the knowledgeable guide pointed out and said. The guide had a telescope which allowed us to see things up close and also showed us how to take photos through it using it as a zoom lens. We got some great pictures this way. There is a hummingbird area that is not to be missed. I have never seen so many and such a variety of them in one location. I can't say enough about our guide. Not only did he seem to know a lot about the area, he seemed very excited to share it with us. You could tell he liked his job and that made it even more special for our group. I only wish I could remember his name. This is definitely worth the money to see!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Curi-Cancha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We enjoyed very much the walk we did with Adrian. He is pleasant, knowledgeable and funny! We did see quite a bite of wild life. However we thought the price was a little high!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great visit and great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow, just returned from a perfect vacation in Costa Rica and visited Curi-Cancha, smaller than Monteverde refuge (which we also visited and loved), but equally as diverse and less crowded. And we had a most amazing guide, Adrian Mendez (adrianmendez@hotmail.com) who also accompanied us at the Monteverde Refuge. If you have time to visit both, do visit Curi-Cancha and contact Adrian for your guiding needs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Other Monterde Rain Forest Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our hotel (Monteverde Lodge) suggested this reserve as an option to the Monteverde Rain Forest reserve because of less crowds and better viewing of birds and animals. Our tour guide Carlos took us on a great 4 hour tour...he carried around a huge telescope and tripod so we could see the birds way up in the tree.....much better than our binoculars. His excitment at spotting the Bellbird and the male and female quetzal only added to ours. We were quietly enveloped in the forest and were not stepping on other tourists, totally recommended.

We didn't get to stop at the Monteverde Cheese Facotory on our way back but we heard they have the BEST milkshakes....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curi Cancha Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.