We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful time in nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curi Cancha Reserve

Curi Cancha Reserve
300 Metros Este de la Fabrica de Quesos Monteverde, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A delightful time in nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We happened upon this as a recommendation from hotel Belmar. There are only a limited number of people allowed in each day which makes for a quiet atmosphere and a feeling of really being close to nature as it is not highly developed for tourists. Our group consisted of only 6 people so we were easily able to hear and see everything the knowledgeable guide pointed out and said. The guide had a telescope which allowed us to see things up close and also showed us how to take photos through it using it as a zoom lens. We got some great pictures this way. There is a hummingbird area that is not to be missed. I have never seen so many and such a variety of them in one location. I can't say enough about our guide. Not only did he seem to know a lot about the area, he seemed very excited to share it with us. You could tell he liked his job and that made it even more special for our group. I only wish I could remember his name. This is definitely worth the money to see!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    70
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Curi-Cancha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We enjoyed very much the walk we did with Adrian. He is pleasant, knowledgeable and funny! We did see quite a bite of wild life. However we thought the price was a little high!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great visit and great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow, just returned from a perfect vacation in Costa Rica and visited Curi-Cancha, smaller than Monteverde refuge (which we also visited and loved), but equally as diverse and less crowded. And we had a most amazing guide, Adrian Mendez (adrianmendez@hotmail.com) who also accompanied us at the Monteverde Refuge. If you have time to visit both, do visit Curi-Cancha and contact Adrian for your guiding needs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Other Monterde Rain Forest Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our hotel (Monteverde Lodge) suggested this reserve as an option to the Monteverde Rain Forest reserve because of less crowds and better viewing of birds and animals. Our tour guide Carlos took us on a great 4 hour tour...he carried around a huge telescope and tripod so we could see the birds way up in the tree.....much better than our binoculars. His excitment at spotting the Bellbird and the male and female quetzal only added to ours. We were quietly enveloped in the forest and were not stepping on other tourists, totally recommended.

We didn't get to stop at the Monteverde Cheese Facotory on our way back but we heard they have the BEST milkshakes....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Real Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Curi-Cancha is a beautiful wildlife refuge, and we were lucky to see over 40 species of birds while touring with our guide Esteban (see his Tripadvisor page) over 4 hours. The trails are very well maintained, and numbers of visitors are limited so there are no crowds. The terrain varies from fields to secondary forest to old growth, and although it is hilly, it was not too difficult for me to walk even though I have a bad back. One area contains multiple hummingbird feeders, and you can be very close to several different species of these beautiful hummers. Curi-Cancha is definitely a go-to place for birding in the Monteverde area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curi Cancha Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.