We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curi Cancha Reserve

Curi Cancha Reserve
300 Metros Este de la Fabrica de Quesos Monteverde, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 attractions in Monteverde
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
Brownsville, Oregon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Real Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Curi-Cancha is a beautiful wildlife refuge, and we were lucky to see over 40 species of birds while touring with our guide Esteban (see his Tripadvisor page) over 4 hours. The trails are very well maintained, and numbers of visitors are limited so there are no crowds. The terrain varies from fields to secondary forest to old growth, and although it is hilly, it was not too difficult for me to walk even though I have a bad back. One area contains multiple hummingbird feeders, and you can be very close to several different species of these beautiful hummers. Curi-Cancha is definitely a go-to place for birding in the Monteverde area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    40
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Experts in birdwatching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Followed the advice of others on tripadvisor and was incredibly happy with my guide, Rafael. Not only each bird species, but each song was identified and would determine which way we'd travel for the next photograph.

Curi-Cancha is less well-traveled, which is actually an advantange for birding. It is hiking, so be prepared if you have a lot of camera gear. The guides will have spotting scopes, so you don't need your own binoculars unless you'd like to bring them as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A great place to go if you love wild life and the jungle. Great opportunities for bird watching and picture taking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Unexpected Landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The landscape here is more open. Very different from the closed in trails at the Monteverde Preserve. Our guide gave us a 90% guarantee that we would see a quetzal and she was right as there is a pair nesting in a tree in an open area .. making it easy to see and to photograph.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite reserve in Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This reserve is a wonderful mix of former farmland and denser older growth. We saw a quetzal, a family of Oropendola, dozens of humming birds and lots of other birds. It was very peaceful and uncrowded. The caretaker was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curi Cancha Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Curi Cancha Reserve to your Saves list