We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike and bird viewing -- less crowded than Monteverde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curi Cancha Reserve

Curi Cancha Reserve
300 Metros Este de la Fabrica de Quesos Monteverde, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6915
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 28 attractions in Monteverde
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hike and bird viewing -- less crowded than Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visited Curi-Cancha during a three day visit to Monteverde. We also hiked in Monteverde and enjoyed that too -- more primary forest. But our guide, Rafael, was super fantastic. We did a four hike with him starting at 7:30 a.m.

This was our third trip to Costa Rica with our kids (age 6 and 9) and Rafael was hands down the most knowledgable guide we have ever had. We saw bell birds, lime toucans and queztals with Rafael but he also told our kids (and us) some really interesting facts about the native plant life too. I appreciated that the reserve was less crowded than Monteverde. I recommend visiting it if you are in the area and drop Rafael an email to ask him to show you around.
His email is Rafael Elizondo Vargas <r.elizondov@hotmail.com>

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    32
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I toured Curi-Cancha with Cristian, one of their guides, and it was certainly a memorable experience. The place is a gem and Cristian is a very knowledgable, passionate, and interesting guide. The tour was supposed to take about 3 hours and we were with him about 4 1/2 hours! He spent time explaining the flora, fauna, and history of the area and answered our many questions. We we able to see many things, including 4 quetzales, a couple of toucans, sloth, owls, numerous varieties of hummingbirds, wild orchids, deer, and many other things. All in all, a highlight of our 6 week trip to Central America. His cell is 89752015. Don't miss this place!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place, by far, to find Resplendent Quetzal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Guides are top notch and the reserve covers a variety of habitats. Trails are well maintained and not too steep.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Guide+Amazing Birds=Amazing Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A group of us just last week had the unforgettable experience of taking a tour through the Curi-Cancha Reserve which is located in the Monteverde area. Having been open for only a few years the reserve is much less well known and therefore much less traveled than the Monteverde Reserve (which we also visited and which pales in comparison).

Rafael Elizondo (r.elizondov@hotmail.com, ph:88388145) was our amazing guide for the entire morning and was the best guide we had during our stay in Costa Rica. He has been leading nature tours for over a dozen years, is extremely knowledgeable (about bird, animal, insect and plant life), has a great eye for spotting things of interest in the dense foilage and has such a great personality I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anyone planning on doing a tour around Monteverde.

Our tour lasted about 5 hours from around 7am until noon. We saw an amazing variety of wildlife, plants and insects while walking through the different areas of the park but it was the abundance and variety of birds that really made the park stand out from the others in the area. We of course saw Replendent Quetzals - both male and female - but not just a few - someone called it a "Quetzal bonanza".

We also saw Blue-crowned Motmots, Emerald Toucanets, White-fronted Parrots, Chestnut-headed Oropendola, Elegant Euphonia, Golden-browed Chlorophonia, Bare-shanked Screech Owls, 7 kinds of hummingbirds, and also Thrushes, Tanagers, Jays, Guans, Wrens, and Warblers - some 40 different species of birds in all. Amazing for half a day.

If you are into birding or just nature in general put Curi-Cancha on your must see list of things to do around Monteverde!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An unexpected hidden gem in Monteverde!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Others have called Curi-Cancha a hidden gem, and I couldn't agree more! And for me it was quite unexpected. After visiting the Monteverde Reserve and other nearby sights I found myself with a free morning at the end of our trip. While my wife wanted to relax, I was up for more birding, and someone recommended visiting Curi-Cancha.

My visit could not have been better. The Reserve arranged for my transportation and a personal guide -- all for a very modest fee. My guide, Cristian Chaves, is an experienced naturalist who speaks excellent English. Cris was full of stories about his grandfather who had helped him develop a love for the cloud forest, and he clearly enjoys his work.

Most important, Cris knows where to find the most interesting wildlife. We started at the big avocado tree. Surrounded by other birders and their guides, we saw about ten M & F quetzals come and go.

Then we went on to see other birds that I never could have found on my own: A tiny nesting purple mountain gem, a colorful spangle-cheeked tanager, two species of trogons, and, perhaps rarest of all: a pair of bare-shanked screech owls -- right where Cris predicted they'd be. Along the way we came across a green tree snake that had come down from the windy canopy to warm itself.

Curi-Cancha is little-known, having just opened to the public within the last couple of years. That's part of what makes it so special. The Monteverde Reserve, by comparison, is bursting at the seams with visitors. That may be part of the reason why the wildlife is so accessible at the hidden gem next door. Curi-Cancha was clearly the highlight of a spectacular visit to Costa Rica.

Rick Morgan
Washington, DC USA

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curi Cancha Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.