We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Orchid Coffee Shop

Cafe Orchid Coffee Shop
Contiguo al Banco Popullar | Santa Elena, 222, Costa Rica
+50626456850
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 66 Restaurants in Monteverde
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Specialty hot and iced coffee, crepes, salads, paninis. Home made bakery
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW

Had lunch at The Orchid and all dishes were excellent. Daughter had the pancakes and she said they were the best she's ever had. Husband had salmon panini and I had the parmesan, bacon and apple panini. Both were great and were very large portions. Iced tea and chocolate milkshake were amazing! Nice local art inside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    27
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A gem and must-visit in Monte Verde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW

Orchid is a wonderful place to go for lunch or coffee in Monte Verde. They're the only place we came across with soy milk and other vegan items, which are hard to come by in Costa Rica.

The staff is extremely friendly and always willing to help accommodate you, whether about something you're purchasing or your travel plans. They are also lovely and very friendly, and we loved talking with them.

All the food is fresh and delicious, and the drinks are fabulous (we got various types of coffee drinks and a smoothie). This is a must-visit place for your stay in Monte Verde!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Surprise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 NEW

Monteverde, being a tourist/backpacker town, has plenty of places that seem to fall into two main categories...cheap sodas and taco stands that cater to the budget conscious, and pricier restos that charge North American level prices.
The Orchid Cafe is a real little gem. Located on the road to Monteverde past the Santa Elena downtown triangle, this quaint and funky cafe offers a wide range of dishes not easily found in this size of a town...omelettes, crepes, and sandwiches that are creatively prepared with ingredients not often encountered in smaller venues.
Atmosphere is eclectic, and the wait-staff is attentive and welcoming.
Make sure you try out the french toast, or the salmon crepe, followed by fresh coffee and one of their delicious home made desserts.
Seating is somewhat limited, and they close at 7:00 PM, so if you want to eat dinner there, make sure you arrive at a good time.
Prices are reasonable, and service is brisk and friendly.
The parking lot is small, but there is parking near the Cafe within easy walking distance.
We ate two meals there over the weekend, and were impressed both times. Would definitely go back if we were staying longer.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pancakes are the BOMB, escape from tourist crowds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We went to this sweet cafe on our last morning in Monteverde, and it was perfect! I ordered the banana pancakes, and have to say they were among the best cakes I've ever had. The service was friendly and relaxing, and I loved the design and setting of the place...very peaceful and tranquil, just outside of the heart of Santa Elena. They also have free WiFi and a nice outdoor deck. It was a great place to fill up and plan our adventures before hitting the trail.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best in everything in Monteverde.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 via mobile

This place is great, the food is very good. The service is awesome! We ate there twice a day it was so delicious.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Orchid Coffee Shop also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe Orchid Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Orchid Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.