We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful forest, great organization” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Eternal Rain Forest

Children's Eternal Rain Forest
Bajo del Tigre: Asociacion Conservacionista de Monteverde, Costa Rica
+506-2645-5851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 26 Attractions in Monteverde
Type: Forests, Tours, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bajo del Tigre sector is physically separated from the Children's Eternal Rain Forest and is managed by the MCL. Bajo del Tigre is situated in Monteverde and is approximately 29 hectares in size, although the property is surrounded by other forested properties in the zone. The type of forest found in Bajo del Tigre is rare and it is poorly represented in the country. This is because these forests were cut down to make way for coffee plantations and urban zones. Bajo del Tigre presents an altitudinal range from 1,020 to 1,380 meters above sea level and receives over 2,400 mm of rain annually. In this type of seasonal forest, the dry period extends from January through the beginning of May.Bajo del Tigre has a reception center for visitors and a gift shop with items related to our organization and conservation in general. In addition, next to the reception center is a "kids' house" oriented to environmental education for local kids. The main visitors of Bajo del Tigre are national and international students. However, it is being used more and more by ecotourists and occasionally by researchers. In Bajo del Tigre, there are about 4.4 km of trails that allow you to enjoy the unique flora and fauna of the area, as well as an excellent view of the sunset over the Nicoya Gulf.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful forest, great organization”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent a week and a half in Monteverde this month and our time in the Bajo del Tigre part of the Children's Eternal Rainforest was one of the highlights. This is a fabulous organization staffed by passionate people who are doing amazing things with minimal resources. The self-guided trails are easy to follow with an information packed booklet. There is a fun children's house with some good educational activities for kids ages 5-10 or so (our kids are 8 and 6 and we had to drag them out of there after about 30 minutes to do the hike). They're also just putting the finishing touches on a green house where they're preserving the different plants of the forest for use in re-forestation projects.

We also did the night hike and this was great as well. I'd recommend you bring your own good flashlight (they have some for sharing - but better to have your own). And also you should have the right expectations. The amount of wildlife you see on any given night will certainly vary, as it's not a zoo. We saw tarantulas, wild beetles, other cool spiders, stick bugs, and bats. But walking through the forest at night is just a different and awesome experience on its own. The feel of it and the sounds you here are just different.

The part of the CER that you see in Monteverde is a very small part of the huge overall forest this organization protects. There are several interlocking protected reserves in the area, and the CER is by far the largest of the group. Your money spent here goes to a great organization with a fantastic story (check out their website for the story).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    23
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FO
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Saving CR's nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The children's eternal rainforest is a dynamite group. They are working very hard to extend the Amount of preserved land in Costa Rica. There is a nice evening nature walk that is guided. We saw a green viper and several nocturnal insects. They do not advertise, but they do a great job of arranging tours with some of the companies in the area. They get a certain percentage of all the referrals back into their coffers so they can continue to purchase land that they then protect. If you go to Monteverde I strongly recommend you go to the children's eternal rainforest office and let them do your booking. Our guy in Curious-Cancha gave them 25% of his fee.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A hugely disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were very excited to do the Children's Eternal Rainforest night hike after reading the positive reviews on here. Unfortunately it was the biggest disappointment of our two month trip to Central America.
Our guide gave us absolutely no history about the forest and we were added to the back of a group of 12. Only the first few people can hear what the guide is saying along the trails. However the main problem that we found was that we saw no animals!!! The best our guide could manage was ants!! This may have just been bad luck but nevertheless it was hugely disappointing and there was little explanation or apology. We felt ripped off after paying $46 for the two of us. We have since talked to local guides in Monteverde who all agreed that the night hike at the Eternal Forest is not worthwhile. They said to try the Monteverde Wildlife Refuge so if you are thinking of doing a night hike we would strongly suggest shopping around.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best hiking and birding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I wish we had had another week just to hike this beautiful place. The rain hit hard while we were there so we took shelter in the childrens activity center. My 3rd and 4th grader enjoyed it and younger children would love it!
The bird songs were amazing as the sun came back out. We hiked a short trail and it started raining heavily again. As we left we were treated to a troop of monkeys played in the treetops overhead

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of my time in Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I spent almost four months in Costa Rica, and Monteverde's natural beauty is by far the best part of my time there. I backpacked through this rainforest to a secluded shelter, once a farmhouse owned by Eladio. He cooked for us and told us many stories. The rainforest offers a wealth of fantastic species to experience, from mot mots to creeping Monstera. Do me a favor and see and support this wonderful place!

If you consider ziplining or doing any other touring in the area, you can call or visit the Children's Eternal Rainforest office at the base of the hill near CPI Language Institute and Luna's. They will give you a discount, and some of the proceeds will go to supporting the survival of this beautiful wilderness.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Eternal Rain Forest also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Children's Eternal Rain Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Eternal Rain Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.