We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Eternal Rain Forest

Children's Eternal Rain Forest
Bajo del Tigre: Asociacion Conservacionista de Monteverde, Costa Rica
+506-2645-5851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 29 Attractions in Monteverde
Type: Tours, Forests
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Bajo del Tigre sector is physically separated from the Children's Eternal Rain Forest and is managed by the MCL. Bajo del Tigre is situated in Monteverde and is approximately 29 hectares in size, although the property is surrounded by other forested properties in the zone. The type of forest found in Bajo del Tigre is rare and it is poorly represented in the country. This is because these forests were cut down to make way for coffee plantations and urban zones. Bajo del Tigre presents an altitudinal range from 1,020 to 1,380 meters above sea level and receives over 2,400 mm of rain annually. In this type of seasonal forest, the dry period extends from January through the beginning of May.Bajo del Tigre has a reception center for visitors and a gift shop with items related to our organization and conservation in general. In addition, next to the reception center is a "kids' house" oriented to environmental education for local kids. The main visitors of Bajo del Tigre are national and international students. However, it is being used more and more by ecotourists and occasionally by researchers. In Bajo del Tigre, there are about 4.4 km of trails that allow you to enjoy the unique flora and fauna of the area, as well as an excellent view of the sunset over the Nicoya Gulf.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“night hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We took a night hike here and also walked around during the day. my daughter saw monkeys in the daytime so we went back, but did not see any. you have to pass houses with many dogs to get there so be prepared for barking

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    21
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good, but different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited with our two children (ages 7 & 10) and a group of university students. We had visited the area in January 2013 and were surprised at how different the landscape is at this time of year. It is much drier, although the cloud forest areas are still green. We love the concept of the Children's Eternal Rainforest and were glad for a chance to visit the Bajo del Tigre area. Unfortunately, our tour was just before lunch, during the hot part of the day. We did not see much wildlife, although we saw a number of pretty cool birds, including toucans. Our guide was very knowledgeable and did a good job explaining the area and wildlife. We enjoyed our tour of the national preserve in January much more, although the two forests are very different and we went at the wrong time of day/year this time. The national preserve has more of the 'typical' rainforest and pretty waterfalls (although maybe not at this time of year).

My children did enjoy the children's house while we were waiting for the tour to begin.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great night walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

There wasn't an awful lot to see but the atmosphere was magical and the naturalist guide made it all so interesting. Great experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Night Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Enjoyed a private evening tour of the landscape/forest. Saw a tarantula in its den.. bats.... deer... fire flies... and a monkey or two but not much else as it was windy and quite cool therefore the wildlife tends to stay indoors so to speak... but all in all still an enjoyable adventure.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Experience of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was a great trip and I am glad I got to experience it while I was here in Costa Rica. It was awesome that we got to go deep into the forest and see what it was all about there and then be able to help Giovanni and his family maintain the park! It was also a great workout!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Eternal Rain Forest also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Children's Eternal Rain Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Eternal Rain Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.