We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Eternal Rain Forest

Children's Eternal Rain Forest
Bajo del Tigre: Asociacion Conservacionista de Monteverde, Costa Rica
+506 2645 5002
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bajo del Tigre sector is physically separated from the Children's Eternal Rain Forest and is managed by the MCL. Bajo del Tigre is situated in Monteverde and is approximately 29 hectares in size, although the property is surrounded by other forested properties in the zone. The type of forest found in Bajo del Tigre is rare and it is poorly represented in the country. This is because these forests were cut down to make way for coffee plantations and urban zones. Bajo del Tigre presents an altitudinal range from 1,020 to 1,380 meters above sea level and receives over 2,400 mm of rain annually. In this type of seasonal forest, the dry period extends from January through the beginning of May. Bajo del Tigre has a reception center for visitors and a gift shop with items related to our organization and conservation in general. In addition, next to the reception center is a "kids' house" oriented to environmental education for local kids. The main visitors of Bajo del Tigre are national and international students. However, it is being used more and more by ecotourists and occasionally by researchers. In Bajo del Tigre, there are about 4.4 Km of trails that allow you to enjoy the unique flora and fauna of the area, as well as an excellent view of the sunset over the Nicoya Gulf.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Night Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We took a night tour through the Children's Eternal Rainforest and it was awesome. We saw all kinds of things, the coolest of which was probably the elusive kinkajou. We had a great time. Watch out for army ants though. I got attacked a few times and they really hurt when a bunch of them start crawling up your pants and biting you. Still worth it though - just watch where you step.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    29
    11
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Lots of paths for whatever time you wish to walk. Many things to see, monkeys, sloths, flora, fauna, bugs you name it it's there!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family came here in Dec. of '09. As one earlier post stated, it was a great place to get away from the crowds and really see the forests on your own. The staff member was awesome, and the children's museums was fantastic.
Loved it, loved it, loved it!
I love how that kept my email for over 3 years before contacting me, and now that send me updates every so often.
They are great and deserve your support. If ever we are able to go back to Costa Rica, we will be sure to visit again.
Thanks!!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Protect the rainforests for future generations and have fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you make it up the bumpy unpaved road to Monteverde be sure to pay this reserve a visit. The tourist information office in town has the details. We did not know of its existence before we visited Costa Rica. Glad we found it. There are different stations available to visit. We joined a night hike for 2 hours which included entry for 24 hrs so could visit in daylight the next day as well. For only $20 per person we had 2 hrs of an expert guide with torches where we saw birds elusive during the day and huge tarantulas etc well worth the time spent plus as above we went back next day to explore more fully. Without any extra effort you will be supporting a unique project started by Swedish children to support the rainforest and educate others to the value of keeping these wonderful ecosystems intact for future generations. We had been sceptical of paying for a guide having fallen over wildlife in Manuel Antonio but the night hike was really unique, no way would we have found the stuff that our guide did.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great trails even in rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a quiet walk on trails, too quiet since we saw only a few birds. In fact we saw more critters on the road coming into the trailheads. But they are great trails even in a fairly steady rain. Very enjoyable. It was a nice break from the heavy tourist traffic in the area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Eternal Rain Forest also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Children's Eternal Rain Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Eternal Rain Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.