We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica
Dona Elsa's Farm next to Hotel Miramontes | Santa Elena, 60109, Costa Rica
+506 2645 5874
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 28 attractions in Monteverde
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Horseback Riding Stables in Costa Rica . Horse Trek Monteverde is based in the beautiful area of the Monteverde Cloud Forests. For over 18 years, Marvin Anchia and Janet Ellis have been offering horseback riding tours on well-loved and cared for horses. Rides include: 2.5 hours Mountain & Farm View Ride; 4 hours in the Clouds Ride; Eden Falls Secret Waterfall and Hike Combo; All Day Cowboy Ride and Multi-Day, 2-8 day Horseback Riding Holidays.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horse Trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Loved this. Horseback riding is always fun, but Marvin, the owner, went above and beyond to make sure the experience was excellent. He picked me up from my hotel with the horses, and we wandered up and down roads and trails. A few times during the ride we galloped--which I NEVER get to do on public rides! Marvin pointed out wildlife, picked fruit for me, etc. After the ride, we went to Marvin's farm and he showed me how to make my horse dance. It was overall a lovely experience and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting the area! The views are amazing--at one point during the ride, you can see all the way to the Pacific.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
You liked the dancing horse, eh? Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ride with the BEST - Marvin, the Horse Whisperer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've paid for many horseback rides in my time, including two in CR, but this was the absolute BEST experience I've had on a "rented" horse. Marvin, the owner, is passionate about creating a unique and memorable experience for his customers and he's a true horse whisperer to boot. He pointed out wildlife along the way, showed us stunning views, and took pictures of us creating a lifetime memory.
Marvin's horses are extremely well trained, so there's no need to worry if you're new to riding or you have children. And if you're an experienced rider, you'll enjoy a great horse that isn't so "trail trained" that you can't have any fun. We trotted and galloped as often as we wanted and the horses responded beautifully. You will definitely make the right decision in choosing Horse Trek Monteverde and you'll get your money's worth on a ride with Marvin.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the horse ride. Glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horse Riding FUN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The gentleman that runs this knows his stuff! My mom a longtime horserider and rancher was impressed and even me who can only just stay on the horse. His horses and the trails he took us on were amazing. If your in monteverde go for a ride!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Google Translation
So glad you enjoyed yourselves! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful behind-the-scenes countryside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Darlene at Desafio made our online booking so easy. She answered all my questions and collected all necessary information to reserve our time with Marvin. I'm so glad she did because we had the best time in Monteverde thanks to Marvin and his beautiful horses. My boyfriend was a first-time rider, a little nervous, but Marvin made it a fun and exciting experience. He says he doesn't speak English too well but we were able to understand him just fine. At the same time we learned a few new words in Spanish. The view of the countryside by horseback was breathtaking. Marvin took our photos as we stopped along the way and he pointed out some interesting plants and views. The horses were very obedient and safe. Marvin took as good care of us as he does his horses. We also stopped by a cafe with a nice view of hummingbirds. They had delicious coffee and cakes to make our mid-break more relaxing. We highly recommend Horse Trek Monteverde if you have a half or full day open.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Pura Vida (remember that one?) ! Glad you enjoyed the tour

,,,,,, and thank you Desafio were booking the horse tour with Horse Trek Monteverde - always appreciated !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Marvin was excellent with his horses.
This experience was brilliant.. So much fun. A must do when in Monteverde!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the ride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.