We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great informative tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Trapiche Tour

El Trapiche Tour
Costa Rica
(506) 2645-5271
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our guide Hiro was excellent; learned a lot about coffee and sugar cane growth and production --- fascinating. Another bonus was Julio, the fun-loving local priest who joined the tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    56
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sweet Tour! (Literally)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

El Trapiche is a family farm that produces coffee and sugar cane. The day we took the tour is was an absolutely gorgeous afternoon. We were the only ones there so, in essence, we were treated to a "personal" tour. Our guide was wonderful.

The tour began with a sighting of a Blue-crowned Motmot (spotted with the help of our guide). We soon arrived at some standing sugar cane where he began explaining the whole process and production of the sweet sugary elixir. When our young daughter started fussing, our guide knew just how to halt the brewing eruption: sugar. He proceeded to cut a stalk and whittle away a piece for each of us to munch on. Yum!

From there we arrived at the coffee plants and were educated in the process and production of coffee – from bean to cup. Next was an ox cart ride back to a facility where we witnessed the oxen turn the machine that extracts the sugar from the cane. The entire experience ended with making candy from freshly extracted sugar, taking a shot of distilled sugar moonshine, and drinking a tasty cup of freshly roasted coffee.

Overall it was literally a sweet tour!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Many Activities in One Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This tour of a coffee and sugar cane plantation offered many activities for one price. We not only got to tour the grounds and see the coffee and sugar cane plants growing, but we also got to see how they both were processed. The grounds were beautiful, and we even saw a sloth in the tree. We rode in an ox cart pulled by the oxen that also pulled the trapiche that squeezed the juice from the sugar cane. We also got to make our own candy from the sugar cane. Then we were treated to coffee and delicious snacks. The family who run this were so friendly and hospitable.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for coffee lovers and families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

El Trapiche was a great tour of a coffee and sugar cane plantation in the cloud forest of Monteverde. The guides are very friendly and knowledgeable and speak both English and Spanish very well. There were a couple of young children in our group of 9 people and the guides were very patient and accommodating with them. The tour of farm was very interesting and the guides chopped up sugar cane for us to suck on and taste the juice, which was delicious. They explained the process of harvesting coffee, from plant to roasting. We got to taste fresh sugar cane and make our own combination to stir and take home (add coconut, peanuts, or cocoa). At the end of the tour, we got to try a meat pastry, sugar cane juice and freshly made coffee, which were all delicious. Finally we could ride in the back of a traditional Costa Rican ox-cart pulled by oxen. On the trail back, our guides were very helpful in pointing out some wildlife in the woods, including a sloth. The gift shop at the end has some real bargains compared to many other gift shops in Costa Rica. We had a great time and definitely recommend this tour!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Satisfying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is one for the books!

The guides and staff were beyond friendly and knowledgeable. We saw some amazing scenery, sampled some great coffee, and learned an awful lot about the drink we take for granted. This tour also takes you through the process of natural sugar cane refining, and has a few really great little surprises at the end.

If you go to Monteverde, this is a MUST!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Trapiche Tour also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Trapiche Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Trapiche Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.