We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ride!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabine's Smiling Horses

Sabine's Smiling Horses
1 km oeste del cementerio de Sta. Elena | follow road sign from cemetary to us, Costa Rica
+506 8385 2424
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sabine who speaks English, French, Spanish and German and offers a variety of horse treks, from $ 22 US per hour to day trips to specialty tours including a Full Moon Ride. Several multi-day treks are also on offer. Sabine's Smiling Horses is a true destination in Costa Rica.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We took the 3 hour ride, accompanied by a friendly guide, as well as Tico, the german shepherd. The views were the most spectacular yet, and the horses were very well trained. A perfect ride!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    18
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for first time and experienced riders...great people, beautiful trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I are newbies and were a bit nervous to ride, but my dad was really looking forward to a horse back adventure so we got the recommendation to Sabine's from our hotel and we could not be happier to have gone on such an awesome adventure. The scenery is absolutely stunning. We took the 2.5 hour tour. Our guide was great, not overbearing or lax but right in the middle. At first I was pretty nervous but quickly learned that the more relaxed you are the more the horse is relaxed and the more fun you will have. We were able to take many breaks to take pictures, and you stop at a hilltop above the clouds. The owners are super down to earth and nice. They also grow and roast coffee, and gave us a quick tour of their coffee farm. They even helped us push our car from a ditch when our 4 wheel drive stopped working. All in all, these folks are great and we would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great horses, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We returned to Sabine's several times during our stay in Monteverde. (And we loved the hand-roasted coffee from her farm, too!)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Put this on the top of the list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Without a doubt our ride with Sabine's Horses was one of the high points of our trip to Costa Rica. Sabine has well trained and well cared for horses. Her guides obviously love the horses as much as she does. You could see that our guide was enjoying his ride even though all of our group were novice riders and went fairly slowly. We had no trouble at all with the two hour ride (although the middle age members of our party were pretty sore later in the day). The views were spectacular, the trails and roads peaceful. Small children might find some of the steeper trails a bit scary, but our teens were thrilled and would have been fine even if they were much younger. Put this on the top of the list when you are in Santa Elena. I wish we had found Sabne's stables earlier in our visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly Professional and well organized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

With grandchildren in tow, both my daughter and I were provided with horses which suited our abilities, and the guide allowed free reign in the method we choose to ride. Opportunities were provided to allow picture taking, galloping, cantering and thankfully later walking.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabine's Smiling Horses also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Sabine's Smiling Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabine's Smiling Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.