We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary WiFi
Ranked #2 of 33 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just lovely. We stayed in the Rivendell room. Wonderful room with a window in the forest. Lots of hummingbirds to watch. Incredible service.Best nature guide ever. I can't think of one thing that was not perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    26
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
97
403
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Jennifer has thought of just about everything to make this the best b&b in Monteverde. We were greeted with the question of what we might need at the moment given what she knew was a tiresome journey. She is genuinely interested in each guest and makes sure all needs are met. One evening when we dined at a restaurant that unexpectedly could not take credit cards, Jennifer arranged for our bill from the restaurant be charged to her so we could eat, dignity intact. All guests are spoiled with individually prepared breakfasts and late afternoon beverages (tea time)!in a comfortable environment offering 360 degree views of the cloud forest. Moreover the proprietor has an in-house guide who offers tours day and evening to assure orientation to the area. The tree-houses are wonderful and the grounds spectacular including private areas for contemplative meditation. I wish we had allowed three days rather than two for this part of our vacation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Hidden Canopies hotel in late April 2014. We first heard about this wonderful little place by friends who highly recommended it, so we knew when coming to Costa Rica, this was a must! We stayed for 2 nights and that was not nearly long enough! We hated to leave and wished we had booked a longer stay. This place is, simply put...heaven on earth.

After arriving in San Jose via plane, we were met at the airport by Pilo, the driver sent to pick us up. If you're thinking of renting a car and driving yourselves to the hotel, save yourself a lot of stress and just go for the hotel pickup via Hidden Canopies. Two couples staying at the hotel at the same time rented cars and drove on their own and both got lost. It takes about 4 hours to get to the hotel from the airport with the last 20km or so on very rough and bumpy unpaved roads. By the time you arrive, you're tired, hungry, and just ready to relax. Jennifer and a member of her staff meet you outside, take in your luggage and basically welcome you into the warm and calming oasis of the main building.

It literally felt like walking into heaven after the very long journey! Jennifer is probably the nicest person we've ever met...she owns the property (along with her husband Gary) and both are so welcoming and friendly. You instantly feel in the company of friends. They attend to your every need and basically tell you not to do a thing!

We arrived in time for tea, served daily from 5:00-6:00 where they serve light refreshments (homemade) and whatever you want to drink. While they were going through things to do in the area and we were munching on snacks, they whisked our luggage to our room. When we were ready, they brought us to the room and showed us around. The property is absolutely gorgeous! Be sure to build some time in your schedule to walk around and enjoy the grounds! There are hummingbirds everywhere!

We stayed in the Neverland treehouse and loved it. You are seriously sleeping in the cloudforest! There are huge picture windows which allow for amazing views when you first wake up! It's peaceful and calm.

For food, they serve breakfast in the morning which is AMAZING! Seriously the best pancakes and french toast I've ever had! They don't serve lunch or dinner, but town is close by and you can either order and have it delivered or take a taxi ($5 USD each way). We did both and enjoyed our first night in and our second night out.

We took several tours recommended on their website. We did the morning/day hike in the nearby cloudforest and the night walk in the animal refuge. My friend also did the hanging bridges tour. All three tours was led by their guide Koky and he was amazing! He's a wealth of information and I learned so much from him. For the rest of our trip (after we left the Hidden Canopies), we kept wishing we had Koky with us to tell us what we were seeing or hearing! Definitely be sure to take a tour with Koky!!

All tours are well worth the time and money and I highly recommend them. Others that join from the hotel allow you to get to know others staying at that makes for an even more enjoyable trip (it definitely makes tea and breakfast time more fun since you feel like you're with friends!).

Everything about this hotel is simply amazing...the location, the grounds, the treehouses, the food, the staff...all simply perfection! Do yourself a favor and book time at this hotel immediately! You will NOT be disappointed!

If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would, but unfortunately, Trip Advisor only allows 5 stars, but Hidden Canopies is 5+ stars!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The rooms here are superb. We stayed in the Glade which was beautiful and peaceful. The breakfasts were very good and the afternoon tea is an inspired idea. Eating tasty food whilst looking out of the picture windows at a wonderful view all the way to the Pacific coast and chatting with other guests made our day.
But the people who make this place extra special are Jen and her marvellous staff. So very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We had problems with pick up times for an excursion that our Tour Operator had booked but Jen took charge and we ended up with just the two of us and our own guide. Wonderful result!
One of the best places we've ever stayed in our many years of travelling.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We booked our trip to Costa Rica based upon the availability of a room here after reading all of the great reviews and deciding we had to splurge here for a few nights. We traveled jeep-boat-jeep to get here and to be honest, I was seriously second guessing our trip to Monteverde. To sat the least, the ride is rough. During out journey is was raining which made for a heart-racing trip.

But after we arrived at the Treehouses, I realized it was well worth the trip. We were kindly greeted by the staff and offered a beverage and given a nice overview of the grounds, the main house, activities that are available in the area, etc. We ordered a quick lunch (we used this service several times, since we did not have a car and it worked out great and food was good) and went off to our first tour with Koki. You have to do at least one of this tours. We later did the night tour. The talent and passion he has for nature really blew us away.

Happy hour is amazing and the views from the main house are great. Breakfast also incredible and the menu changes each day. The staff are so polite and helpful.

We stayed in Rising Sun. The treehouse and the surrounding grounds are top notch. Really, a review doesn't do it justice. The trail on the grounds is also great.

I also got a massage from Karen, which I highly recommend. It was a nice relaxing activity after all of the hiking, rafting, and ziplining we had done. What's nice about all of the services, tours, and meals you order in is that you pay for it all when you check out, so no need to worry about carrying a lot of cash around for all of this.

Overall, the Treehouses were such a great, if not the greatest, highlight of our trip. It is worth the splurge and you will receive top notch accommodations and service. This was like no place I have ever, nor will probably ever, visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights at Hidden Canopy Treehouses in mid-April, 2014. It's an absolutely first-class, small, quiet, unique, boutique hotel, located just outside Monteverde, Costa Rica, right on the edge of the legendary Monteverde Cloud Forest, one of the world's most significant protected forests. Hidden Canopy is owned and operated by Jennifer King, a former software industry executive who purchased seven acres of prime mountainside forest and seven years ago, built several distinctive treehouse guest rooms and suites. They REALLY are treehouses, but wow, wait until you see them. Sturdy but hidden concrete and steel structures support accessible, spacious treetop guest rooms with huge windows and sweeping views over the canopy and looking out towards the distant Pacific ocean. Rooms have first-class amenities. Service includes complete and wonderful breakfasts and substantial appetizers and drinks at the cocktail hour. Jennifer and staff can arrange tours of the nearby forest preserves. Bird watching is a major sport in Monteverde - starting with views of the canopy from the Treetops lounges. Monteverde is itself "protected" by deliberately unpaved gravel roads leading up the mountain to it. Visitors should be aware that Monteverde has both dry and wet seasons of the year, with the months of October and November receiving the most rain.

Room Tip: Call and discuss room election directly with Jennifer King.Two rooms in the main house have limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binghamton ny
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

As you will read in other reviews, your stay at the Hidden Canopy Treehouses will be a very memorable experience. [ as will your ride in and out of Monteverde- UNBELIEVABLE] It begins with the owner Jenn who takes great pride in her business and goes out of her way to make you feel at home. Her staff take the same approach and go out of their way to be helpful. The treehouse rooms are quite unique[ we stayed in Glade] and are spacious and clean. The morning breakfasts each of our 3 mornings were excellent and the afternoon"teas" at 5pm provide a tasty warm appetizer and sweet desert that you will greatly enjoy. Overall, a very outstanding experience and I would highly recommend you stay here if you visit this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

Address: 300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene atmosphere secluded in the forest canopy -- 5 luxurious treehouse chalets and 2 well-appointed rooms - all comfortably equipped with over-sized beds, living-room areas, fantasy waterfall showers, private balconies, coffee service, mini-bar, DVD movies and free WiFi service. Easy chalet access from platform walkways and ample opportunities for birding. Lending library, board games and DVD movies in the main house guest lounge. Full Costa Rican Breakfast and our renowned "Gulf-view Sunset Tea" with Sangria and snacks included in room price. Located near canopy tours and the Santa Elena Reserve. Reservation Hours - 9 AM to 7PM. Non-smoking property. PLEASE NOTE: We do not receive children under the age of 14 . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.