We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Larue, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The definition of Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hidden Canopy is a paradise in the cloud forest. When you walk into Jenn's house (the owner) and see the view from the glass "tea room", you are transported by the surrounding beauty of the cloud forest. Jenn has captured the peace and tranquility of the area and brought it to her guests through flowing streams, koi ponds, native plants, and accommodations that truly cater to your every need.

We stayed in Rivendale which was lovely for our family. We saw several other cabins tucked into the woods accessed by easily traversed bridges and walkways (all paved with handrails) and each was perfect, a different size for various needs.

Each day guests are pampered with afternoon tea (dessert before dinner is the house rule) and mornings her wonderful cooks provide delicious breakfasts. Her staff is professional and follows her protocol of making one feel at home while pampered and at rest.

Once there, you won't want to leave (though they will provide you with transportation to other activities should you so desire)! I highly recommend Jenn's Treehouse Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect...Just tell Jenn how many in your party and what type of vacation you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
360
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My first thought when I walked in was " I never want to leave!" Jenn's property is spectacular with amazing views and kept immaculately clean. We stayed in the Eden tree house for 2 nights in May 2013. Our room was a wooden work of art with most of the walls glass but we still had privacy and didn't feel exposed.

Breakfast was amazing yummy goodness as was the afternoon "tea" with delish snacks and desserts. The moment you meet Jenn you feel as you might have known her all your life, she is warm and welcoming. Her staff is friendly and helpful, the locals respect her and every guide, tour and driver she set us up with was top notch. Her team makes it so you don't have to do anything but enjoy your adventure!

I have already warned her we are coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I think the previous reviewers have said it all. Though I didn't love the city of Monteverde as much as the other cities I visited in Costa Rica, that had nothing to do with the lovely accommodations that I received at Hidden Canopy. We reserved the Glade treehouse, and it was very beautiful. I was on my honeymoon and it was private and romantic location. I can tell care went into everything from the art to the little knob on the screen door, to the outdoor lighting placement and umbrella stand. There is nothing cookie cutter about it. The only thing of note is that the sink/shower area is part of the main room, and there is a little side door for the toilet by the entrance.

We ordered out from the collection of menus and was happy with the food and service. I enjoyed the Sangria at the social hour. I found the B&B proprietor charming, funny, warm, who was very concerned about our comfort and has interesting stories about her life before running a B&B. You can tell she likes her job and is a very good multi-tasker. The main house has great glass windows all around the breakfast room, so you get a nice open view from where you sit. The breakfast was very tasty and they were very accommodating to my husband's dietary restrictions, even preparing him his own happy hour appetizers.

Jen is clearly the heart and soul of the place. She is currently training some new employees who are a bit rustier and less knowledgeable, but I have no doubt that Jen will get them up to snuff quickly.

Note: Stayed in early May, there was some rain, but nothing we couldn't easily work around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Every time I look at pictures taken at Hidden Canopy I stop and linger. The place and sensation of being there was just wonderful. The other reviewers have covered the fantastic treatment from Jenn and her colleagues; the great recommendations for guides, tours and restaurants. I can only add that the main house and room where people congregated for breakfast and afternoon tea was just a magnet. Floor to ceiling windows that reminded me of Sierra Mar at the Post Ranch Inn (Big Sur) with a spotting telescope for birds and animals within view if you weren't already looking at the ocean from 5,000' elevation. Comfortable chairs and books in the living room. Dogs and cats making you feel at home. As we headed onward down the hill to the Pacific Coast we all just said, "Wow, that was something". Our thanks and best wishes to Jenn, Michael and all.

On a more tactical note: our son had the idea to book the night tour on our arrival day. Since night falls at 6pm this meant afternoon tea from 5-6pm, the tour which was very close by from 6:30-8:30, followed by an easy dinner in town. (The Crepe place.) There's LOTS to see at night and the guides all work in tandem with walkie-talkies to maximize what all the groups in the reserve see. So greatly recommend.

Room Tip: Write or call them, tell them about your group and their recommendation likely will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Attention to detail made our time here wonderful. Recommend for any honey mooners looking for a bit of adventure and a bit of pampering. Jen, the owner makes the experience personal, enjoyable and fun!
Great place to make plans for exploring as they know monte verde well, tell em what you like and they can make it happen!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

After a three hour drive from Guanacaste on gravel roads and many farmlands, we arrived at Jen's place and stayed for three wonderful days in the Rising Sun Tree House. Jen, the owner, treated us like we were family. The staff was wonderful, especially Michael who took care of booking tours, making reservations for dinner or take out. The breakfasts were delicious and 5pm tea time was a highlight of the day after touring in the morning. Everyone would sit in the main room overlooking the area talking and relaxing with wine or anything you wanted. It was an awesome stay, more than we could have imagined. The tree houses were clean and cozy and the grounds immaculate. We would definitely go back. Thanks Jen for a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was in Costa Rica on business that happened to overlap the weekend. I chose Monteverde and the Hidden Canopy Treehouse based on some quick searches and guest reviews. My expectations were exceeded at every point. Jenny, the owner, is amazing and her presences warms the entire building. She genuinely cares for every guest and works tirelessly to make the stay fantastic. Don't miss the breakfast - amazing. I never got tired of the views from the dining area or watching the humming birds zip through the garden. The rooms take you to a place that you think only exist in movies - waterfall showers, natural wood furniture, and panoramic views. The treehouses themselves are a site - built into and part of the forest. Access to many attractions is convenient with car service taking you directly from the hotel to many local activities. I look forward to coming back in the near future with my wife. The Hidden Canopy is an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: Getting to Monteverde takes about 3 hours from San Jose with 1 hour of that up a windy, dirt, bumpy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

Address: 300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene atmosphere secluded in the forest canopy -- 5 luxurious treehouse chalets and 2 well-appointed rooms - all comfortably equipped with over-sized beds, living-room areas, fantasy waterfall showers, private balconies, coffee service, and mini-bar. Easy chalet access from platform walkways and ample opportunities for birding. Wireless Internet access, lending library and portable DVD players in the main house guest lounge. Full Costa Rican Breakfast and our renowned "Gulf-view Sunset Tea" with Sangria and snacks included in room price. Located near canopy tours and the Santa Elena Reserve. Reservation Hours - 9 AM to 7PM. Non-smoking property. PLEASE NOTE: We do not receive children under the age of 14 . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.