We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I don't give out a lot of 5's for lodging. A place can be pretty sweet, but it takes something special to earn a top rating. Hidden Canopy fills the bill. My wife and I rented the Rivendell treehouse for three nights on our 10 night stay in Costa Rica, and it was everything we'd hoped for, a truly unique experience. The treehouse itself was recently built, completed in the last several months, and the layout and quality are excellent. The website pictures in no way overstate what you will experience, both interior and exterior. Rivendell, with two levels, a large seating area and balcony upstairs, two bedrooms and two and a half baths, was larger than what the two of us needed, but it was the only treehouse available when we booked last fall. Keep that in mind if you want to stay in one of the treehouses, and book early.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped, with a cascading water feature and koi ponds following the length of the path down to the treehouses. Gardens and trees dot the property, housing a variety of bird life. Views of the mountains are breathtaking.

The luxurious surroundings and stunning views are only part of the package. We began to appreciate the great service and wonderful amenities offered by Hidden Canopy immediately. Natalia arranged for our transportation from San Jose, and while our driver didn't speak English, he was competent and his van comfortable. He was waiting at the airport when we arrived. We had priced independent drivers, and the rate was competitive. We had considered renting a car, but with the cost of insurance, using drivers wasn't a huge luxury, and one that was very much appreciated, especially in the mountains, where the roads are pretty dicey.

Natalia greeted us with wine at the main house, and explained the layout of the property prior to showing us to our treehouse. Throughout our stay, she answered our every question and arranged a number of activities for us, as well as taxi's for trips to restaurants and activities. Natalia was truly a great resource, and we thank her for the excellent service. The owner, Jenn, was away on personal business, but the entire hotel ran like a well oiled machine under Natalia's expert handling. All the staff members were friendly, helpful and professional. Gio was always good for a laugh or a little gag, and we appreciated his attitude a lot.

Others have written about the great breakfasts, "high teas", and stunning grounds, so I won't say more than to affirm all the positive comments. I will say the high teas are a great way to meet other guests, make new friends and share experiences, and this added to the special ambiance of Hidden Canopy.

There are a couple aspects of the property worth mentioning, not complaints, just things prospective renters should be aware of. Rivendell is the farthest treehouse from the main house, not a long walk (maybe a hundred yards), but the walk back to the main house is a fairly steep uphill path. I'm in average shape for a guy in his early sixties, and I was puffing by the time I got up the hill. I kind of liked the workout and got used to it, but it is something to be considered. The beds are quite firm (for our tastes) but comfortable. Baths include a rain shower and all those jets in front. The minor downside of the property was the water pressure in the shower (on the low side) and available hot water supply (if we took two consecutive showers, hot water would run out by the end of the second shower).

All in all, Hidden Canopy is a top notch lodging experience, a place we would be eager to return to. I highly recommend it if you plan to visit this beautiful region of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
359
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I praise Hidden Canopy Treehouses in detail on my travel blog - Travelling Angeleno http://bit.ly/14XL8St

In brief summary, the proprietor, Jen. has created a magnificent seven room mountain top retreat with an unparalleled view of the Monteverde cloud forest that comes right up to the floor to ceiling windows of your room extending out from the mountain side and combined that with pampering service and hospitality. You definitely feel like a guest in her home. Somehow Jen makes it feel like you've been friends with her for years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Special, unique stay in the Glade Treehouse. We were treated like royalty, loved the Happy hour with drinks and appetizers and desserts, and especially loved meeting Jen and Natalie who helped us so much. Their home felt like our home, the views of the Nicoya Peninsula and rainbows were exquisite, and Geoh was a special help to us. Love, everything about this place, the highlight of our trip. Jen deserves accolades for everything she has done to her B&B. Miss you Jen. Good luck and hope we will return again soon.

Room Tip: Loved the Glade, private with forest view and awesome bed with netting (felt like a princess) but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Cloud room (in the main lodge) at Hidden Canopy for two nights during our honeymoon in Costa Rica. The highest compliment that I can think to give to this hotel is that I felt like I was visiting a good friend's home. This hotel and it's grounds are gorgeous and unique. The atmosphere just exudes nature, coziness and warmth. Natalia and Jen were so friendly and welcoming. Jen talks to you as if you are a long-lost friend! Gio and the rest of the staff were so helpful and great! The room was beautiful and each room at the hotel has a different story and theme! Tea time/happy hour (5pm-6pm) was great with small plates and endless drinks! Breakfast was delicious (definitely try their french toast!)! We were able to order delivery in for dinner in the case that we didn't want to brave the bumpy road into town which was super convenient!
We took an amazing guided nature walk with Koky at the Curi-Cancha Wildlife Reserve and saw a sloth, a quetzel, howler monkeys, toucans, three-wattled bellbird and many many other birds! This guy is a bird whisperer! He can make a large variety of bird calls on top of being able to recognize the type of bird from the chirps they make in the wild! He has an uncanny ability to spot them from far away, too! In addition to his amazing knowledge of the wild, he took pictures of the many wild animals we saw through his telescope!
Highly recommend this hotel and walk!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Our 3 night stay at Hidden Canopy was a highlight of our month in Costa Rica. While we considered staying in one of the tree houses, we opted for the Clouds room and were so glad we did. Its location provided not only a gorgeous view of the surrounding greenery, birds, and the Gulf of Nicoya in the distance, but easy access to the main house and the amazing staff. It's rare to find a property that has it all -- friendly and knowledgeable staff, delicious food and drink at breakfast and "tea time", wonderful views including rainbows in the morning and sunsets in the evening, comfortable and spacious rooms with lovely amenities, interesting fellow guests to share experiences with. We appreciated being able to order dinner from local restaurants so we didn't have to leave the lovely dining room where the staff set up our table with china and candles and served the food so it seemed like we were not eating "take out." (The three restaurants that deliver meals are some of the best in the area so it isn't really a sacrifice to have food brought in.)
We unfortunately were there when the owner Jen was away, but Natalia, Gio, and the rest of the staff made us feel so welcome. And the guides they have available are exceptional. My husband and I went on an excursion with Kokey to view birds in the cloud forest reserve. We were rewarded with sightings of quetzals and other amazingly colorful and interesting birds that would have been impossible for us to spot without the exceedingly trained eye of Kokey. He went above and beyond by taking photographs with my camera (some of the best of our trip) and after our official tour was over he took us on an extra drive to ensure we could see parrots and howler monkeys (which we did). In addition to his exceptional birding skills, he is an interesting and kind man who is a pleasure to spend time with.
Unfortunately, my husband was not feeling well during part of the time we were visiting. While this precluded some of our planned activities, we had the good fortune of this occurring while we were at a comfortable place with caring and helpful staff who went out of their way to ensure he was well taken care of. (The friendly house cats loved visiting with him and maybe that helped in his recovery.)
I can't say enough about our experience at Hidden Canopy and would encourage anyone traveling to the Monteverde area to make it a priority to book a stay there.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Heights
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Total luxury in the jungle. We stayed in Rising Sun for 2 nights. Getting to it wasn't easy, but once there, amazing. We particularly enjoyed "Tea Time" at sunset with a glass of wine and tasty appetizer. Breakfast was delicious too. Natalia and Geoh were helpful and friendly. I would recommend staying here for privacy and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This B&B is an absolutely wonderful way to enjoy eco-tourism in Costa Rica. The hotel is beautiful and the service is impeccable. We stayed in the Neverland tree house for 5 nights. The included breakfasts and tea times were wonderful and a great time to share daily experiences with fellow guests. Jenn, the owner, and her senior staff Natalia and Gio were always able to deal with all questions and requests for assistance in booking events and transport. The guide Koky does a wonderful job in spotting, identifying and explaining the behavior of the wildlife. His assistance with spotting scope and camera set up resulted in far better pictures than we could have hoped to produce ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

Address: 300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene atmosphere secluded in the forest canopy -- 5 luxurious treehouse chalets and 2 well-appointed rooms - all comfortably equipped with over-sized beds, living-room areas, fantasy waterfall showers, private balconies, coffee service, and mini-bar. Easy chalet access from platform walkways and ample opportunities for birding. Wireless Internet access, lending library and portable DVD players in the main house guest lounge. Full Costa Rican Breakfast and our renowned "Gulf-view Sunset Tea" with Sangria and snacks included in room price. Located near canopy tours and the Santa Elena Reserve. Reservation Hours - 9 AM to 7PM. Non-smoking property. PLEASE NOTE: We do not receive children under the age of 14 . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.