We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Monteverde B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Very Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in the Neverland Tree house for two nights. We strongly recommend staying here if you are choosing between Eden and Neverland since the price is the same.
We met the people who were staying in Eden and they let us see it. It is one large room with no dresser or drawers for clothing which they found surprising. Their balcony was lovely.
Neverland is two levels:on the first level there is one bedroom with a king bed and a built in single bunk bed over the head of the king bed, a full bathroom off of a very large living room and a huge balcony. The second floor has the master bedroom with king bed, a half bath and a smaller screened in porch with a table and two chairs.
This is am amazing tree house. The woods used throughout the house are stunning. From the floors to the railing up to the master bedroom to the chairs on the balconies and the bed frames.
There is a koi pond under the tree house. The views are spectacular (we never did see any birds from either balcony during our stay).
If you want room to move around, this is the treehouse for you. There is only bath gel in the shower so if you want to use bar soap, bring your own. There are no facial tissues in the bathrooms, so again, bring your own.
Sadly workers were welding the metal beams under our tree house and hammering when we wanted to rest, instead of doing the work when we were on our private tours (booked through the property).
Jen was off the grounds because her father had a stroke and was in the Intensive Care Unit in San Jose (she told us about her father the first night we arrived and that she was leaving) but her staff took care of breakfast and tea time.
We booked a private tour to the hanging bridges (sky walk) with Olman, a guide used by HIdden Canopy, as soon as we arrived on property. We saw a family of monkeys in the trees which was amazing. Not many birds, even though he did bring his equipment for a close up look, he never used it.
We met nice guests during tea time. HCT offers free wine/sangria with canapes in the dining room of Jen's house, so you can watch the sunset which is spectacular. Breakfast is also included in the price. You can choose from eggs, french toast, rice and beans. They give everyone a plate of fresh fruit. You can have coffee, tea or a fruit smoothie.
We chose to eat all lunches and dinners off property. Sofias for lunch on the day of our arrival was good. We were the only ones eating there. Dinner at Trio in Santa Elena was fair.
We had lunch at Stella's bakery which was fantastic. They put out banana peels for the birds and we must have seen at least twenty varieties of birds while we ate lunch. (Their chocolate cake is a must).
And this was after our private tour with Koki (an employee at Hidden Canopy), an extraordinarily knowledgeable man and guide who is passionate about what he does and his love for the wildlife in Monteverde is quite apparent. A tour with him is an absolute must. He used his telescope constantly allowing us to see all the birds up close and personal. He put our camera to the eye piece of his telescope capturing the most amazing pictures. We saw a male and female Quetzal, as well as at least fifteen different bird species. We also saw a sloth during our tour.
After breakfast on our final day we took a private tour on the Sky Tram. It was a fun trip above the trees. I do not recommend this as a private tour. If you want to go, do it with other people so you dont end up spending $45 pp.
The feeders Jen uses for Hummingbirds is a huge hit. We hiked around the property but I must say the hummingbirds were a real plus for us.
When we checked out, Olman was left in charge (Jen and Nathalie were in San Jose on personal business). He did not know how to use the credit card machine so it took over twenty minutes to check out. We had arranged through HCT for a private driver in an air conditioned van to take us to Manuel Antonio (four hour drive). After waiting another 30 minutes, a 4X4 jeep arrived. Olman was at a loss, as he said, "This is not my job", so he called Jen. After my husband spoke with her on the phone, she finally got us what we had been promised, but she made sure to tell me she 'felt my husband was stressed'. This is what can happen when the manager/owner of a property is absent.
The time and money spent on this property, with no detail left out, makes this a true gem.
If only the Costa Rican government would pave the roads leading into and out of Monteverde, this would be without a doubt one of the most wonderful experiences you could ever have.

Room Tip: Neverland Tree House is the winner here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
360
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to be guests of Jenn and company for 4 days. It is a unique, peaceful, high quality, and the surroundings abound with both high and low energy excursions to enjoy (which jenn can arrange; all ours ended up with just us and the guide).
First, the rooms. You won't find better. Incredibly quality all the way around, from the showers to the decor, to the comfortable beds. The views are unforgettable. Watching the sun go down over the bay, while 5,000' high and enjoying the daily "Tea Time", wine and tapas as well as excellent conversation (but only if you want) is an experience one will always keep with you.
The guides provided by Jenn (Koki and Olman - pardon spelling) are first rate, interested and knowledgable in what they do, and out to make sure your experience is exceptional, regardless of what is seen or not seen. There is a Danish term 'hyggelig' that descibes Hidden Canopy. It is more than just cosy and warm, but an overwhelming feeling that there are few, if any, better, more comfortable and energizing environments elsewhere. At night, it just seemed right to 'order in', have dinner in the dining area, and get a very - very - reasonably priced bottle of wine to finish the day....and usually with some good conversation. It's a no brainer. Go there.

Room Tip: We stayed at Rising Sun. Wonderful and spacious. But as said, we saw the sun rise, but no sunsets. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at Hidden Canopy with my 3 adult children (Neverland Suite) and was taken aback by the warm and welcoming atmosphere. Jen visited with us at breakfast each morning, and again at happy hour watching the sunset go down from the main house. She loves to offer help and/or suggestions to make everyone's vacation as good as it can possibly be. She is personable, likeable, and always seems to be wearing a smile so inviting you can't help but return it. If you are going to Costa Rica, don't miss this gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I've taken to planning all my trips now with help from trip advisor and it's almost always spot on. This hotel is not an exception. I was thrilled that I was able to reserve my wife and I a room at hidden canopy for our Costa Rica trip in early January. There were no tree houses available, but the cascade room was still very enjoyable with a comfy bed and a cozy sitting area. The highlight of the stay was watching the sunset at the evening tee time. It's a magical view. Jen was away for our stay but she keeps the house immaculate, and because of that, the shoes off rule is understandable. Your boots get dirty tromping around the forest. The private guided tours are perfect. We went on the night walk (told this can be hit or miss as far as seeing things go and ours seemed to be a bit of a miss), the wildlife refuge (it was ok), curi cancha (amazing), and the hanging bridges where Kiko finally tracked down a quetzal for us to see! Man that guy really worked at it, and I appreciated his effort (I think my wife was getting a little annoyed with my obsession about seeing one, but that's another story). We also hit up the canopy tour and that was also an experience you don't want to miss if you are capable of the physical exertion. Take a light jacket and don't write a review complaining if you get rained on. You are in a place called a rain forest!!! Complaining about it raining makes you look stupid. The guests at hidden canopy seemed to be mostly older couples and honeymooners and I believe when we were there all the guests spoke English and were either from the USA or the UK. Everyone assumed my wife and I were on our honeymoon, because we are young but we just like to travel and we are fortunate enough that our jobs allow us to means and time off to visit wonderful places like hidden canopy. Morning breakfast was always delicious. I loved their poached eggs, and to be honest I don't even like poached eggs that much. Also good were the tea time appetizers and desserts. Watching the hummingbirds at the feeders could keep me mesmerized for hours. For dinner I believe most people ordered in, we skipped dinner two nights (in hindsight I wish we would have ordered) and ventured out one night to a restaraunt they recommended (honestly we didn't think that place was super good, but that's a different review). I'm definitely glad we had a rental car even though driving was an adventure in itself. Especially the road known locally as "the black dog". Avoid that one, the GPS tries to make you take it! One last thing, the folks at hidden canopy seemed to discourage visiting monte verde national reserve because of the crowds but we stopped there on our way out of monte verde and I'm glad we did. It wasn't too crowded that day and it was a special experience to see the clouds streaming over the continental divide. We skipped the guide and just hiked for two hours by ourselves. We didn't see a lot of wildlife there, but just walking amongst the old growth rain forest is magical. Anyway, if you are like me and always scour trip advisor before traveling you are looking for a gem to make your visit special. This is it. Hidden canopy is an amazing unique place. I would visit soon before it gets featured on the travel channel or something and reservations are booked for two years in advance. I can definitely see that happening!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved everything about our Hidden Canopy Treehouse visit. It was just not long enough. The new Rivendell Treehouse was the best (living room with panoramic view of the mountains and the Pacific Ocean in the distance; two master suites nestled in the trees). It was important to us that the bed was very comfortable and it was, even down to the padded rug you stepped on when getting out of bed.Loved the sink and shower faucet features; first class. Though these features of the hotel are important, they are not its best feature. That would be the staff who are there to greet you and provide excellent service throughout your stay. We did not get to meet Jennifer during our visit due to her having a family emergency but her staff were excellently trained to run the hotel in her absence. We felt like we knew Jennifer though because her hotel...home..represented the essence of who she was and what she valued even down to taking off our shoes at the front door (we do that in our home too). I loved the idea of the open kitchen in the main living/dining area of the hotel...it added a welcoming touch to a beautiful, inviting gathering area for guests in the treetops. Many of her staff are young and energetic, laughing and having fun as they cheerfully serve and go out of their way to make your stay special. It looked like a fun place to work and it was the best part of our trip to CR!

Room Tip: Rivendell room great for two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This property overlooks the jungle canopy, with spectacular views which include the Pacific Ocean. The property is on the continental divide. The main area has 270 degree views. Varied breakfast made to order, unlike most B & Bs. Nice cocktail hour at sunset time. Also, Jen, the owner, has local guides she works with. $25 per person for half a day and they're knowledgable and accommodating. We had private tours, as opposed to large groups. Jen has a list of local restaurants-- good food, reasonable prices. Not necessary to stay more than two nights to experience the area

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently stayed in the "Rivendale" treehouse at Hidden Canopy. I could not say enough about these treasures in Monteverde.The hospitality was beyond compare, accomodations like nowhere we have ever been, and the best food we had anywhere in Costa Rica. Jen and her staff made us feel right at home. They planned our tours and transportation with obvious experience. Best of all was the tour guide, Koky. We learned so many things from him, and, yes, got to see the illusive Quetzals. What a trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

Address: 300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene atmosphere secluded in the forest canopy -- 5 luxurious treehouse chalets and 2 well-appointed rooms - all comfortably equipped with over-sized beds, living-room areas, fantasy waterfall showers, private balconies, coffee service, and mini-bar. Easy chalet access from platform walkways and ample opportunities for birding. Wireless Internet access, lending library and portable DVD players in the main house guest lounge. Full Costa Rican Breakfast and our renowned "Gulf-view Sunset Tea" with Sangria and snacks included in room price. Located near canopy tours and the Santa Elena Reserve. Reservation Hours - 9 AM to 7PM. Non-smoking property. PLEASE NOTE: We do not receive children under the age of 14 . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.