We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good as it Gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel
Save Saved
You added Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As Good as it Gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to be guests of Jenn and company for 4 days. It is a unique, peaceful, high quality, and the surroundings abound with both high and low energy excursions to enjoy (which jenn can arrange; all ours ended up with just us and the guide).
First, the rooms. You won't find better. Incredibly quality all the way around, from the showers to the decor, to the comfortable beds. The views are unforgettable. Watching the sun go down over the bay, while 5,000' high and enjoying the daily "Tea Time", wine and tapas as well as excellent conversation (but only if you want) is an experience one will always keep with you.
The guides provided by Jenn (Koki and Olman - pardon spelling) are first rate, interested and knowledgable in what they do, and out to make sure your experience is exceptional, regardless of what is seen or not seen. There is a Danish term 'hyggelig' that descibes Hidden Canopy. It is more than just cosy and warm, but an overwhelming feeling that there are few, if any, better, more comfortable and energizing environments elsewhere. At night, it just seemed right to 'order in', have dinner in the dining area, and get a very - very - reasonably priced bottle of wine to finish the day....and usually with some good conversation. It's a no brainer. Go there.

Room Tip: We stayed at Rising Sun. Wonderful and spacious. But as said, we saw the sun rise, but no sunsets. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    24
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
81
352
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at Hidden Canopy with my 3 adult children (Neverland Suite) and was taken aback by the warm and welcoming atmosphere. Jen visited with us at breakfast each morning, and again at happy hour watching the sunset go down from the main house. She loves to offer help and/or suggestions to make everyone's vacation as good as it can possibly be. She is personable, likeable, and always seems to be wearing a smile so inviting you can't help but return it. If you are going to Costa Rica, don't miss this gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I've taken to planning all my trips now with help from trip advisor and it's almost always spot on. This hotel is not an exception. I was thrilled that I was able to reserve my wife and I a room at hidden canopy for our Costa Rica trip in early January. There were no tree houses available, but the cascade room was still very enjoyable with a comfy bed and a cozy sitting area. The highlight of the stay was watching the sunset at the evening tee time. It's a magical view. Jen was away for our stay but she keeps the house immaculate, and because of that, the shoes off rule is understandable. Your boots get dirty tromping around the forest. The private guided tours are perfect. We went on the night walk (told this can be hit or miss as far as seeing things go and ours seemed to be a bit of a miss), the wildlife refuge (it was ok), curi cancha (amazing), and the hanging bridges where Kiko finally tracked down a quetzal for us to see! Man that guy really worked at it, and I appreciated his effort (I think my wife was getting a little annoyed with my obsession about seeing one, but that's another story). We also hit up the canopy tour and that was also an experience you don't want to miss if you are capable of the physical exertion. Take a light jacket and don't write a review complaining if you get rained on. You are in a place called a rain forest!!! Complaining about it raining makes you look stupid. The guests at hidden canopy seemed to be mostly older couples and honeymooners and I believe when we were there all the guests spoke English and were either from the USA or the UK. Everyone assumed my wife and I were on our honeymoon, because we are young but we just like to travel and we are fortunate enough that our jobs allow us to means and time off to visit wonderful places like hidden canopy. Morning breakfast was always delicious. I loved their poached eggs, and to be honest I don't even like poached eggs that much. Also good were the tea time appetizers and desserts. Watching the hummingbirds at the feeders could keep me mesmerized for hours. For dinner I believe most people ordered in, we skipped dinner two nights (in hindsight I wish we would have ordered) and ventured out one night to a restaraunt they recommended (honestly we didn't think that place was super good, but that's a different review). I'm definitely glad we had a rental car even though driving was an adventure in itself. Especially the road known locally as "the black dog". Avoid that one, the GPS tries to make you take it! One last thing, the folks at hidden canopy seemed to discourage visiting monte verde national reserve because of the crowds but we stopped there on our way out of monte verde and I'm glad we did. It wasn't too crowded that day and it was a special experience to see the clouds streaming over the continental divide. We skipped the guide and just hiked for two hours by ourselves. We didn't see a lot of wildlife there, but just walking amongst the old growth rain forest is magical. Anyway, if you are like me and always scour trip advisor before traveling you are looking for a gem to make your visit special. This is it. Hidden canopy is an amazing unique place. I would visit soon before it gets featured on the travel channel or something and reservations are booked for two years in advance. I can definitely see that happening!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved everything about our Hidden Canopy Treehouse visit. It was just not long enough. The new Rivendell Treehouse was the best (living room with panoramic view of the mountains and the Pacific Ocean in the distance; two master suites nestled in the trees). It was important to us that the bed was very comfortable and it was, even down to the padded rug you stepped on when getting out of bed.Loved the sink and shower faucet features; first class. Though these features of the hotel are important, they are not its best feature. That would be the staff who are there to greet you and provide excellent service throughout your stay. We did not get to meet Jennifer during our visit due to her having a family emergency but her staff were excellently trained to run the hotel in her absence. We felt like we knew Jennifer though because her hotel...home..represented the essence of who she was and what she valued even down to taking off our shoes at the front door (we do that in our home too). I loved the idea of the open kitchen in the main living/dining area of the hotel...it added a welcoming touch to a beautiful, inviting gathering area for guests in the treetops. Many of her staff are young and energetic, laughing and having fun as they cheerfully serve and go out of their way to make your stay special. It looked like a fun place to work and it was the best part of our trip to CR!

Room Tip: Rivendell room great for two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This property overlooks the jungle canopy, with spectacular views which include the Pacific Ocean. The property is on the continental divide. The main area has 270 degree views. Varied breakfast made to order, unlike most B & Bs. Nice cocktail hour at sunset time. Also, Jen, the owner, has local guides she works with. $25 per person for half a day and they're knowledgable and accommodating. We had private tours, as opposed to large groups. Jen has a list of local restaurants-- good food, reasonable prices. Not necessary to stay more than two nights to experience the area

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently stayed in the "Rivendale" treehouse at Hidden Canopy. I could not say enough about these treasures in Monteverde.The hospitality was beyond compare, accomodations like nowhere we have ever been, and the best food we had anywhere in Costa Rica. Jen and her staff made us feel right at home. They planned our tours and transportation with obvious experience. Best of all was the tour guide, Koky. We learned so many things from him, and, yes, got to see the illusive Quetzals. What a trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed four wonderful nights at Hidden Canopy. If you are planning a trip to Monteverde, do not even think twice about reserving anywhere by here. Just be happy they have an opening for your dates as there only are about 10 places at Hidden Canopy--most in very elegant "tree houses' and two in the main lodges where the owner, Jennifer King, also lives.

From the time we arrived and were offered a beverage of our choice to the time we checked out with explicit printed instruction for our routing to our next destination in Manuel Antonio, there was not enough Jenn and her staff could do for us.

We stayed in the "Cloud Room" which is in the main house. The view is incredible and the room is spacious. Even though it is next to the main area of the lodge, it was private and quite. Jenn closes the lodge at 8:00p.m. so there are no guest after that time.

The walks she arranged were all very interesting, reasonable and informative. We did the night walk, the day walk and the coffee tour. Do not belittle the coffee tour. We were not going to do it until talking to other guests about their experiences. Everything you thought you knew about coffee is probably wrong and the coffee they make for you from beans they roast in front of you is incredible.

Jenn also is quite good about recommending eating places in the area. We particularly can recommend Stella's for lunch. The home made pies are to die for,b ut others also are good--Sophia and Trios also are nice.

We had our own car and driving is not a problem as long as you are careful. You do not need a four wheel drive in the area. Everything is very close within about 10 minutes max of the lodge.

The "tea time" Jenn does at 5:00 p.m. each evening is a wonderful event to unwind and share experiences with other guests staying at the lodge. The home made hor d'ouvres and beverages are also very nice and there is nothing stingy about the offerings.

Most of all there is a serenity about Hidden Canopy and a dedication of the staff for service that is hard to top. Jenn has a big heart and wears it on her sleeve. You may learn more about her than you need to know, but she is a wonderful host.

For what you received, we thought, that it is very good value. We hope to return some time soon.

The only minor suggestions is that the trails on her grounds could use some markings. It is easy to get a little confused walking on them. However, they are a very good introduction to the
area and easy to walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

Address: 300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene atmosphere secluded in the forest canopy -- 5 luxurious treehouse chalets and 2 well-appointed rooms - all comfortably equipped with over-sized beds, living-room areas, fantasy waterfall showers, private balconies, coffee service, and mini-bar. Easy chalet access from platform walkways and ample opportunities for birding. Wireless Internet access, lending library and portable DVD players in the main house guest lounge. Full Costa Rican Breakfast and our renowned "Gulf-view Sunset Tea" with Sangria and snacks included in room price. Located near canopy tours and the Santa Elena Reserve. Reservation Hours - 9 AM to 7PM. Non-smoking property. PLEASE NOTE: We do not receive children under the age of 14 . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.