We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A gem in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Jennifer is a great host and makes you feel like you are family. Love the sunset/happy hour, a great touch. One of the most unique places we have stayed. The property is clean and the service was excellent

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
360
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this place! If you stay here you will be talking about it for years, like I will. The "tree houses" are amazing, all different and all wonderful. You will not believe the inlaid wood everywhere and a shower that pours like a waterfall. The view from the main house was also breathtaking. Glass windows 360 degrees let in streaming light and hummingbirds flew everywhere. In the morning they served the most delicious french toast I have every tasted! Jenn and her staff made our stay. They were kind and helpful, catering to our every whim. They even ordered food from local restaurants to have it delivered when we were coming back from a hike and were too tired to go out. Oh and P.S. You absolutely MUST go on a guided hike with Koki, who is an independent guide but who is treated like family by Jenn and her staff. His knowledge of the rain forest and his ability to spot wildlife is unparalleled. Since it was Christmas, the whole staff created a huge meal for us, and the whole group of 12 guests, staff and Jenn sat down together for a lovely meal. They even set off fireworks! It was the highlight of our trip, and I will never forget the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

When our American friends said they were planning to get married in Four Seasons Costa Rica, we jumped at the chance to join them.
A university friend had visited Costa Rica in 2010 so I asked him where he'd recommend we go before the wedding. He said "You can't go to Costa Rica without staying at Hidden Canopy with Jenn and her team" I want to pass on the recommendation - it's really like nowhere we've ever been before. You must go, it's fab.
My husband and I, the bride and groom and 6 of their family and friends visited Monteverde during late November 2012. We arrived in to Liberia and took transfers from the airport with Ray (Tours Your Way - also highly recommended!). The first 30 minutes were relatively smooth - and the remaining 3 hours were rather bumpy! (I'd suggest you consider a 4 x 4 transfer...). Without a doubt, Hidden Canopy was worth the journey. From the moment we walked in, we were taken care of. We felt like special guests in Jenn's very unique home.
We arrived just after the usual afternoon tea schedule and Jenn kindly extended times to welcome us. She also arranged takeout our first evening and extended her house opening hour beyond 8pm to accommodate our group. Jenn is wonderful.
The tree houses were fantastic. Our group stayed in a number of them as well as in the main house. I think my favourite was Rising Sun. They were all wonderful. The views were amazing and there was wildlife literally everywhere.
The main house has a view to die for. We spent hours just sitting in the verranda area watching the sunsets, rain and mist.
Jenn offers a wide range of local tours, trips etc. through her contacts. We did a local coffee tour which was very interesting and then we took an organised trip in to the cloudforest with Koki. What a talented guy. We managed to get amazing photos of different types of Toucans, Mot Mot, Sloth, Coati Munde and some giant hamster I can't remember the name of! His knowledge of the local wildlife, vegetation and history was exceptional. At one point, he was calling the birds and they were responding - very surreal.
If you're looking for a unique place to stay in Costa Rica, you can't get much better than Hidden Canopy!

Room Tip: All rooms are special! Rising Sun is particularly pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just returned from Costa Rica after spending the last 3 nights in Neverland Treehouse at Hidden Canopy. This place was way beyond our best expectations. The location is amazing, although a long bumpy ride to get to Monteverde. I wouldn't want to make that drive in a rental car. We hired a driver. Jen is a wonderful host and the staff is outstanding. Breakfast and tea time provided great food and beverages and views from the main house. The staff will schedule private tour guides who are very knowledgeable and give suggestions on activities, restaurants, taxi service, etc. If you are going to Monteverde this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I'm not much of a reviewer, but my stay at Hidden Canopy really was one of the first places that made me want to rush to a computer and tell the whole world how great this place is.

Hidden Canopy is really not just a great boutique hotel, but a wonderful experience altogether. The staff is unlike any other and really tries to make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. My boyfriend and I stayed at the newest Glade treehouse on the property. Hidden Canopy had definitely exceeded our expectations!

Although it is a bed and breakfast, Hidden Canopy has several ordering in options that make it as stress-free as possible to their guests. I'm usually an over-planner and even I found myself letting things go and just listening to whatever Jenn and her staff had to recommend. Happy hour was delightful and breakfast - truly delicious. Customization is also not a problem as the kitchen staff keep a record of every guest's dietary restrictions in preparing their food. I really enjoyed the banana pancakes and French Toast. The wines provided in the rooms are also a great value - $10/bottle and both tasted like $25+ wines from the wine stores in North America.

Their recommendations are also not half-hearted tourist mumbo jumbo. My boyfriend and I participated in the coffee tour, night hike and original canopy (zip lining) tour. All were fabulous, and a bang for the buck. The guide at HIdden Canopy is extremely knowledgeable and it was an eye-opening experience learning from him. The original canopy tour is really a steal, only $45/person for 15 zip lines and they even take pictures of you with your own camera, saving you from the extra $25-$30 other companies may charge.

Jenn is also making numerous improvements to the property, such as bringing in massage therapists, opening their own Hidden Canopy spa, and installing WiFi in all the treehouses in the near future.

It was truly an experience unlike any other and if I have the opportunity in the future, I would definitely come back for a visit.

Room Tip: Glade was a great treehouse, highly recommend it to couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the rising sun treehouse after spending a few days down south by Corcovado. The environment at hidden canopy is unparalleled. Everyone is so welcoming and believe the reviews - the French toast is to die for, the views are breathtaking, and the hospitality is top notch. We enjoyed a delicious New Years dinner complete with chocolate truffles and fireworks in addition to an open bar with the most delicious sangria!
Some advice if you're considering coming to Monteverde: it's more chilly here than in most parts of the country. Bring a rain jacket. It will rain. We did the Original Canopy Tour and it was perfect with great reassuring guides and was a fantastic value. We did not have a car here, but had a great pizza dinner delivered and served in the main lodge at Hidden Canopy.
Our only complaint was that we disliked the bed in our treehouse. Everything else was pure perfection and relaxation; from the scrabble game to the views to the trail leading from the main house to the adorable cats to the cooks and servers. We feel blessed to have been able to spend time in Jenn's retreat.

Room Tip: Ask if they've updated their beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from an amazing trip to Costa Rica and the Hidden Canopies really was the highlight! From the moment we arrived we realised that two nights just wasn't going to be enough! We stayed in the Rising Sun treehouse which was stunning! A very secluded and spacious room set within the Cloud Forest itself which provided an even more perfect setting than we imagined.

Jenn, the owner, was the perfect host. The staff there couldn't do enough for us and the sunset tea really was quite wonderful and unique, offering fantastic views of both the Cloud Forest and the Gulf of Nicoya in the distance.

A stay here wouldn't be complete without a visit to the Argentinian Cafe where you can buy the most delicious truffles and take a chocolate tour with 'Bob'.

On our second and final night, Jen surprised us and had worked out how we could rearrange our plans and stay another night! We were absolutely overwhelmed and of course decided to stay. We were lucky enough to spend the third night in the Cloud Room, in the main house which again had wonderful views and was also very spacious and luxurious.

If you love cats and dogs, then this is definitely the place for you! The two dogs, Bonita and Gazu, will take you on a trail through the Cloud Forest, but be careful not to follow their own short cuts like we did! As for Pumpkin, Steven and Poppy the cats, well what can we say... they're all adorable!!

We both felt very fortunate to have been able to stay here and meet Jenn who has become a good friend, and who really is one of the most inspirational people we have ever met. We both wish her well in her continued vision of the Hidden Canopies.

If you are planning a trip Costa Rica and would like an unforgettable experience, then the Hidden Canopy is not to be missed.

A big thank you to Jenn, Gary, Natalia, Gio, Olman, Koky and the all of the staff for an unforgettable stay!!

Julie & Matt

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend staying in one of the treehouses!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

Address: 300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene atmosphere secluded in the forest canopy -- 5 luxurious treehouse chalets and 2 well-appointed rooms - all comfortably equipped with over-sized beds, living-room areas, fantasy waterfall showers, private balconies, coffee service, and mini-bar. Easy chalet access from platform walkways and ample opportunities for birding. Wireless Internet access, lending library and portable DVD players in the main house guest lounge. Full Costa Rican Breakfast and our renowned "Gulf-view Sunset Tea" with Sangria and snacks included in room price. Located near canopy tours and the Santa Elena Reserve. Reservation Hours - 9 AM to 7PM. Non-smoking property. PLEASE NOTE: We do not receive children under the age of 14 . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.