We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel
Save Saved
You added Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Closed: Sept.16 to Nov.6
Ranked #1 of 30 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Carp, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I just came back from Costa Rica. It was our first visit to the country, and Hidden Canopy was our first stop. Well, the bar was set high! We stayed in the Glades. It was perfect. Not noisy at all (I feared this a bit when I booked, but Jenn reassured me). I actually cannot find anything negative to say about the place. The location is incredible. I loved the view of the Gulf of Nicoya. The staff was very helpful, including the guides that work with Jenn. Our room was quite large and roomy, very comfy. Breakfast was varied. Tea time was much appreciated.

Our only negatives had nothing to do with Jenn and her staff, or with the property itself. The trip from Liberia to the property was, for the most part, quite bumpy and not an enjoyable experience. Pino, our driver, was prudent though. Nature around the property is at its very best, but be warned that there are limited activities available. I would not plan more than a few days in Monteverde, unless you want to chill out. We found the dinner options (we ate in) to be limited, simple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    24
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
347
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The ultimate tree house experience
. Jenn is amazing, like a great mom, you take your shoes off, are not allowed to touch anything. Tea time is great with unlimited refills keep coming. Even when we came after the end of tea time we got served. Jenn has the recommendations, kiko took us on a trail and we saw groups of 4 cappuccino monkeys all around us. So many birds, each with their own stories. It is more important to explore the bat museum and the butterfly museum than to go on the zip lines. It does rain but go to the beach in Santa Teresa on the pacific coast afterwards.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

An incredible place, Jenn and her staff make you part of the family. The views are amazing and the "Eden" was the perfect place to surprise my wife for her 50th birthday. Jenn and the staff are quite accommodating, including arranging tours, guides and activities for you to experience the cloud forest. The guides are extremely knowledgeable and speak very good English. The late afternoon "tea" (includes beer, wine, and hot hors d'oeuvres) is a wonderful time to witness a memorable sunset over Nicoya Bay and reflect on your cloud forest experiences. The staff is also happy to arrange for dinner to be delivered directly to your room from town in case you sample too much evening "tea".

Room Tip: The tree houses are spectacular and a new one with 2 bedrooms should be ready in the next 4-6 weeks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our stay at The Hidden Canopy B&B was truly a warm experience. Even though the weather was not ideal Jen and her staff made us feel special and welcome in her home. And what a home! Spectacular views out amazing windows with open concept dinning. Loved the tree stump glass top tables.

We stayed in the Glade tree house and absolutely loved it. You really feel like you're in the cloud forest with more beautiful windows (even in the ceiling). Jen offered great advice for our stay in the Monteverde area and even gave us a tour of her newest (still under construction) treehouse. We did a hike on the property and our guide Bonita would only accept a scratch behind the ear as payment.

Thank you Jen, Gio, Olman, Natalia and the rest of the great staff for a fabulous stay.

Rick & Karen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I found this place on Tripadvisor of course and knew based on how highly rated it is, we just had to stay. I booked several months early to ensure our spot. We stayed in the Eden treehouse. It was really neat. After a very long day of traveling and a seriously bumpy ride from the airport to Monteverde, we were so relieved to arrive and be greeted at the door by the staff. Conveniently, we arrived at Happy Hour/Tea Time and were taken right in to order drinks and meet a few people. Afterwards, we were given menus from local places that allowed us to order in and have it delivered to our room. This was nice since we were too tired to go out. The treehouses are really neat and unlike any other place we've ever been. Be warned though, this is at a high elevation and gets quite chilly and windy. We were pretty cold most of the time. Breakfast at Hidden Canopy is to die for; seriously the french toast is the best we'd ever eaten. Jenn is delightful and such an interesting individual. She is a true example of following one's heart and fulfilling dreams...rather inspirational. An extra bonus are the house pets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

HCTH: our 1st stop on our 1st trip to Costa Rica. At the time we had no “local” point of comparison or understanding of how wonderful this place is. We are two well traveled explorers.

Jenn is a great host and savvy business-woman. Making room, transport, and guided-tour reservations - easy. We stayed in the Eden TH: spacious, clean, and well appointed. Having a fridge - great. Due to the season (mid-November) we could not really enjoy the deck areas or outdoor spa. Jenn suggests bringing fleece / socks – heed her advice. Nights were often cold, windy and rainy – appreciated the space heater - it is a cloud/rain forest after-all.

French toast is the best ever, and while my hips don’t miss it, I do. Breakfast is just grand. Different each day; reliably wonderful.

The location/site also lovely – watch & photograph evening sunset on the Pacific from MV mountainside while enjoying “tea.” Note, the drive from San Jose, especially up the mountain, is not for the faint of heart. I live in MN – now potholes have an entirely new meaning. Not Jenn’s doing, but be advised if you are prone to car-sickness.

If you love animals this is the place for you! 3 cats enliven the common space and 2 dogs enjoy the beautiful grounds. Plus hummingbirds, toucans, frogs….. We have critters at home, so it was great to pet a kitty; tug a tail at tea / over coffee.

The local guides Jenn arrange are: friendly, professional, speak excellent English, take great pride in their craft, and very knowledgeable. We did a morning tour of the rain forest and also a night tour – both exceeded expectations (different guides). The zip-line outing was probably the highlight of our 9-day trip and we also loved the suspension bridges within walking distance from the B&B.

Oh, and did I mention the food in the area is wonderful, and the convenience of being able to order dinner by taxi a HUGE plus for a remote location.

Overall great experience – weather changes often and sometimes early. From our experience, it is better below the hotel (in town) so don’t be discouraged by what your see in the morning.

Last comment is this is a small B&B, so the breakfast / tea ambiance may be highly influenced by other guests: most spoke English – from the US, Canada, or England. If you want to escape others, there are movies / DVD players available plus the option to order dinner in.

Overall: great experience, yet I still don’t know how Jenn got all those glass panels (windows) up the mountain road, that one riddled with potholes... It seems she knows people who know people – maybe it is the French toast?

Room Tip: Not sure - stayed in Eden Tree House - best to book early to get what you want. Guessing all are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a very pleasant 2 day stay here. Jen's happy hour is a great idea as it gets you mixing with the other guests; sharing tips etc. Jen and her staff could not have been any more helpful. We took the zipline tour recommended by the hotel and really enjoyed ourselves. The weather is always unpredictable in this area by all accounts, but there is plenty to do if it's too wet for you! Would highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel

Address: 300m este del cruce Camino Sky Trek | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene atmosphere secluded in the forest canopy -- 5 luxurious treehouse chalets and 2 well-appointed rooms - all comfortably equipped with over-sized beds, living-room areas, fantasy waterfall showers, private balconies, coffee service, and mini-bar. Easy chalet access from platform walkways and ample opportunities for birding. Wireless Internet access, lending library and portable DVD players in the main house guest lounge. Full Costa Rican Breakfast and our renowned "Gulf-view Sunset Tea" with Sangria and snacks included in room price. Located near canopy tours and the Santa Elena Reserve. Reservation Hours - 9 AM to 7PM. Non-smoking property. PLEASE NOTE: We do not receive children under the age of 14 . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.