We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is indifferent, food is uninspiring, Would not recommend.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sofia

Sofia
Turnoff to Jardin de Mariposas | Cerro Plano, Costa Rica
011-506-2645-7017
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 65 Restaurants in Monteverde
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service is indifferent, food is uninspiring, Would not recommend.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

We found the food to be very good throughout costa rica, however this was a letdown. Not only was the food the worst we had in CR, the service was also the worst. They were all indifferent. They didn't care. It didn't matter that we were there. Not a friendly atmosphere. We would definitely not recommend this place as there were way better places.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    25
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's worth planning a dinner here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The atmosphere is nice, the service is excellent and possibly the best sea bass in Costa Rica.

We enjoyed cocktails (I highly recommend the frozen mojito), an appetizer, two dinners and a postre for well less than I would have spent in the US for this quality food/environment but more than I've spent for any other meal in CR. And my companion ordered the sea bass and pronounced it to be the best in CR - it was melt in your mouth delicious.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Candles & little white lights, romantic & chic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We ate here our second night in the area. We were able to walk down from El Establo even though it was raining pretty hard. Just a short hike.
I celebrated a "big" birthday here. Had sea bass for the third time on my trip. Can't get it much in New England. It was very good. Also had a wonderful blue drink, don't remember what it was called but obviously had Curaco in it. Weren't able to get to the ice cream place next door unfortunately. Would have also liked to have gotten to the sister property Trio. Would definitely recommend & return if I had the chance. Can't remember what my husband had but he enjoyed it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average food - save your time & money & go to Trio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Sophia's is one of the sister restaurants to Trio (downtown Santa Elena). There was excellent service but we weren't overall impressed with the average food - certainly not worth the prices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wow, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

amazing and wonderful vegetarian options!
Just pricey, but worth it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofia also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.