We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manakin Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Manakin Lodge to your Saves list
Manakin Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   calle 1 avenida central, 11-5855, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Afula, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We arrived there and surprise how good was that place. We celebrate our honeymoon and we flat like we sleep in a suite, the gave a bottle of Wien and that was to nice ! We flat like home. All of the staff their is great. The help us in everything and also Arrange us the canopy that was one of out best thing in the trip!!
Great place with great people!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Manakin Lodge during our honeymoon. We reserved the honeymoon suite and it was very spacious with a fantastic balcony where we were able to feed the Capuchin monkeys at the beginning of our stay. The breakfast was fantastic and the employees very helpful in giving us tips and arranging travel for us. The only small negative is that it is located at the top of the hill, kind of a hike (15 minutes' walk up a steep hill on the way back) for getting to Monteverde or Santa Elena--quite enjoyable if the weather is nice, but just be prepared.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a fantastic balcony and lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights; price was right, the food (breakfast included) was great. The room was very clean and the manager was a SUPER nice guy. We had a lot of fun. We were traveling with a 5 months old baby and a 3 years old and the family room was just perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Good place to stay. Beds are ok but not the best. Breakfast was good, place was clean. Cold nights due to the mountain area. Owner was a nice guy to talk to. Staff was really nice. Please be aware of the many dogs outside...
Parking space is in front of the house and your car is safe. We havent seen the monkeys in the time there as promised, but a nice place to stay. Windy area but you can reach the canopy tours with shuttle or walk to the magnolia tree restaurant in the city centre.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Family of 4 traveling with 2 young kids (almost 3yo and 1yo). Stayed in the “triple” room for 3 nights. Very nice spacious room. Had more beds than needed but it was nice to spread out. Two rooms and 2 bathrooms for a great room rate. Balcony within cloud forest. Fridge in the room. Asked for baby bed, though it was ancient and not baby safe (siding had room for baby’s head to go through). Staff was very friendly, ready to help, and helpful (in particular Edgar the manager). He made calls and reservations on a few activities for us. Breakfast was pretty good and plentiful (only tried the tico plate). Laundry was done well and was cheap ($7 for big bag of laundry). Bakery right next door!
Only negatives are:
- Beds and bed sheets were very old. Beds were very hard (we didn’t mind much) but bed sheets had been washed too many times.
- Water in the room tasted funny/not good.
- Sink in bathroom was not mounted to the wall so very dangerous for all and in particular for kids.
- No lunch or dinner available at the hotel.
We highly recommend it, and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Husband and spent 2 nights at this Lodge.Rooms were small but clean and more than adequate.Bathroom so small had to go in shut door to get to shower. Gentleman that ran the lodge( sorry cant remember his name) was wonderful at making us feel at home as soon as we got there.Would like to especially thank him for getting some laundry done for us before we left as we were a mess when we finished hiking theSanta Elena cloud forest and zip lining. Breakfast was made to order and filling. Great dining area with views of HIS birds each morning. Missed the monkeys. We arrived at the tale end of a storm that had come thru the area so was very windy. Walls were alittle thin but we just listened to our ipods at night. Within walking distant to town and restaurants if no vehicle. Also owner helped with directions and offered us bigger room the second night but we were already settled in.Would definitely stay here again, Good price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The two guys that run the front dest are very friendly and helpful. CLEAN room. GREAT breakfast. We saw wildlife from the breakfast room. I highly reccomd this for a romantic stay, or any stay for that matter. My wife and I spend three nights here. The price is great too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manakin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manakin Lodge

Address: calle 1 avenida central, 11-5855, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manakin Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in Monteverde de Costa Ricayour hosting lodge solution atManakin LodgeMonteverde - Puntarenas - Costa Ricahostel, hotel, lodge, backpackers, B&B. Your solution in Costa Rica for your tours to rain forest or bosque lluvioso, bird watching, tropical nature, adventures.....Bed & BreakfastExplore the trees and all the animals living there.Some relaxing moments Our flowers.The living room where to relax during the day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Manakin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manakin Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manakin Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.