We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Juan Coffee Tour

Don Juan Coffee Tour
2 Km noroeste de Plaza de futbol, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6858
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monteverde Costa Rica is one of the best areas where you will have the chance to learn about the cultivation and the processes, of how an authentic coffee that was used as far back as our grandparent’s generation is made. The tour was developed in an environment that stands out as one of the best in our culture and tradition; a tradition that has made this country one of progress and peace. The tour lasts for about 2 hours and it includes typical snacks and the option of an authentic home-made lunch.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I went on this tour. It is extremely informative. The guides are knowledgable and funny. There is coffee, chocolate and sugar cane tastings.
I learned so much about coffee, and to see where the actually produce their coffee is pretty cool.
Must do.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    57
    10
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Coffee is just the beginning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We learned about the cultivation, harvesting and processing of pure sun dried Costa Rican coffee.
We also learned about cocoa production and sugar cane! During the tour we made our own lemonade from freshly pressed sugar cane. We were also treated to chocolate covered bananas and fresh made chocolate milk

Our tour guide was really great- she did a super job. We also got a chance to meet Don Juan who founded the company that sells all of their products on site and also on the internet

***** Rating!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Informative and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The coffee tour is well worth a visit especially if you like your coffee. The tour takes you through the working plantation and shows you everything from the growing to the cultivation and preparation. The guide is very helpful and open to questions throughout. At the end of the tour there is an opportunity to sample the wares and buy some to take home with you. Very enjoyable couple of hours if you are in the area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent tour even for children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My family took this tour in December 2013 and we're very impressed. The tour is well organized and you learn lots about coffee, chocolate and the sugar cane. Even my two sons that don't drink coffee found it interesting. Definitely worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun and information; Junior is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My friend and I took this night tour with Junior in December 2013. Junior was so funny and clearly knew a lot about the coffee process. He picked us up from the hotel, gave us a private night tour, and explained each step of the coffee process. He also showed us a number of animals and made sure to keep away the spiders, which he knew I was deathly afraid of. We were provided with a number of samples and got to test out some of the "machinery." I will never drink dark roast again in Junior's honor!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Juan Coffee Tour also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Don Juan Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Juan Coffee Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.