We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and fun visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Juan Coffee Tour

Don Juan Coffee Tour
2 Km noroeste de Plaza de futbol, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6858
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monteverde Costa Rica is one of the best areas where you will have the chance to learn about the cultivation and the processes, of how an authentic coffee that was used as far back as our grandparent’s generation is made. The tour was developed in an environment that stands out as one of the best in our culture and tradition; a tradition that has made this country one of progress and peace. The tour lasts for about 2 hours and it includes typical snacks and the option of an authentic home-made lunch.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Informative and fun visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very informative and enjoyable visit (esp for a non coffee drinker like myself - my wife loves it). Good background, teaching you what to look out for in a coffee - where it comes from, etc. Their actual coffee which we sampled at the end was ok; my wife actually preferring the local 1820 and cafe Brit brands

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    56
    10
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was my husband's favorite tour we did in Costa Rica. It is really interactive and hands-on. It is about 3 hours long, but you get to see a lot in that amount of time, and they keep it moving. You get the opportunity to taste coffee berries, coffee, chocolate, and sugar cane, in all of its different phases. My 11-year old son stayed interested the whole time. The price was reasonable- I can't remember the exact cost but I believe it was around $70 usd for 2 adults and a child, and that included transportation from our cabin.
We wished we would have bought more chocolate and coffee while we were here! Since we had another town to travel to during our trip, we were going to get all of our 'take home' stuff at the last stop to avoid having extra things around during our transfers. But the coffee and chocolate we ended up bringing home, while good, was not as good as what we had here. So I'd normally never say this, but be sure to spend some money in their gift shop! (They also have a website you can order on, but that's not the same as having it the day you get home from your trip!)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We loved Junior!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We initially didn't pan to take a coffee/chocolate tour during our visit in November 2012, but decided to because we needed something to do while it rained. Were very glad we did! The tour was extremely entertaining and informative as well as filled with lots of delicious samples along the way. Our tour guide Junior was absolutely hilarious and definitely was the best part of the tour. Was also reasonably priced. Highly recommend!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coffee, chocolate, sugar... It dosn't get any better than that”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This tour was fun. It was interactive and I learned a lot about these three crops. Don Juan himself even visited out group. It started out with a try in a traditional Costa Rican wagon and continued with our harvesting coffee beans and seeing how the used to be processed and how they are now processed. We learned how the three different chocolates (white, milk, and dark) come about and we got to squeeze a sugar cane for its juice (it's very hard so don't volunteer unless you are strong). The gift shop was nice. (Most gift shops were equally priced)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun and educational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went on the tour this morning. Our guide, Junior, picked us up at the hotel and then led us through the coffee plantation. We learned all about the growing and production process- including traditional and modern processing techniques. The whole tour was very interactive. After learning about coffee, we had a banana break and then learned about chocolate production. This was my favorite part because we got to sample fresh beans, roasted beans and then a coffee mash. From there, we tried fresh sugar cane and then coffee.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Juan Coffee Tour also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Don Juan Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Juan Coffee Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.