We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Bird Show out Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella's Bakery

Stella's Bakery
Across from Casem, 5655, Costa Rica
2645-5560
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 66 Restaurants in Monteverde
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dessert
Description: Stella's Bakery has been in operation for 18 years and offers the best home cooked meals, pastries, baked goods, sandwiches,shakes,smoothies and many more delicious items you can taste while in Monteverde. Please visit us, we are open everyday from 6 a.m till 6 p.m
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Great Food Bird Show out Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food and service are very good here. The highlight is the bird show out back. While you eat your lunch or delicious baked goods, you get to watch so many kinds of birds eating banana out back. What a great experience. Try the ceviche,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    50
    13
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Really great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I ate here twice. The first time I was in a hurry and just bought a savory pastry to go. After walking in, I knew I needed to go back for a real meal, so came back the next day with some friends for a sit-down lunch. The people are friendly, and the food is delicious! I wish I'd found it sooner.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“birding and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

February 13, 2013 @ about 3pm... We stopped in at Stella´s Babery to ask about a tour for bird watching that started there (as described in Lonely Planet) The owner, Glenda, was so kind and answered all our questions and then suggested we sit out back and enjoy the birds. WOW! They have a feeder and we saw, and got pictures of, blue, green, yellow, and orange birds. Woodpecker, tananger, oriole, warblers, toucanet and mot mot (spelling) and this was not early morning, which is usually prime time for birding.
So we stayed and tried the coffee (free refills) and strawberry-pineapple pie. That did not disappoint either!
A $3 bus ride from your Monteverde hotel to Stella´s Bakery! Very recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best birding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We saw more birds on our walk to Stella's and at Stella's than anywhere around the area. The view of the feeders and the birds from our table was awsome. We had a great sandwhich on fresh bread. Then a passion fruit cheese cake that was to die for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly, fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We popped into Stella's one evening and were blown away by the high quality of the food and the warmth of the welcome. It was hard to choose between the tasty offerings as everything looked so good. Place is clean, bright and attractive. Owner Glenda and her staff are all super welcoming, and we enjoyed hearing of her endeavors to serve all natural organic food wherever possible, much of it produced locally or even right there, salads grown themselves. The results are delicious! It is clearly a labor of love. Standards are high, prices fair for Costa Rica. We returned early the next morning to buy snacks for our road trip and sandwiches for the plane -- wanted to treat ourselves and give the business to this deserving, unexpectedly wonderful little place.
Mushroom Quiche - yummy! Squash soup - creamy and tasty. Pie - real fruit and good pastry. Passionfruit cheesecake - oh wow. Best sticky bun (cinnamon roll) we have ever tasted. Carrot cake excellent. Sandwiches stayed fresh and good even hours later, too.

Wish we could have stayed to watch the birds more! Don't miss Stella's if you are coming or going or staying in Monteverde or Santa Elena. Last word from my better half: "You're reviewing Stella's? That place was amazing!"

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Bakery also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Stella's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.