We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality - Lovely setting - Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Bay Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des Cocotiers, La Preneuse, Black River, Riviere Noire, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Riviere Noire
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hospitality - Lovely setting - Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at The Bay for 4 nights at the start of Oct 2013. The pre-arrival communication was attentive with prompt replies, hotel-arranged transfer worked well, rooms are well appointed, clean with fairly new amenities. The location is good, within walking distance of the supermarket and short drive to restaurants/bars, situated right on the beach, it is a lovely quiet location. The staff are the real asset to the hotel - so friendly, attentive (but not intrusive), smiling and willing to help with anything, from directions to booking activities. The restaurant is also very good; being vegetarian, I sometimes suffer from lack of choice, but the creative chef came up with amazing dishes for me each night-ended up eating in the restaurant every night and my expectations were exceeded each time. I had plenty of hot water and no issue with children as it was not the school holidays. I would highly recommend a stay at the Bay.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    120
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
218
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in The Bay Hotel in Sept 2013. We enjoyed our stay. Everything was awesome: stuff is helpful, friendly and always smiling :)
2nd floor rooms have amazing sunset view from your own terrace! If you'll have an option - choose superior or suits. They really make THE difference!
Dinner is very good, and they vary it a lot. However breakfast is nice, but always the same and becomes very boring after 3-4 days, especially if you stay for 2 weeks.

But overall it's a very good place and we definitely will come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but we had a most enjoyable lunch at the hotel restaurant. We were six adults and two small children. The location is great, outdoors under cover and right on the beach with a view on to the Indian Ocean. Service was prompt and attentive. The food was very well-presented and very tasty. A good selection of cocktails, beers, wines. A relaxed venue with a good ambience. Good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I have recently moved to live in Mauritius for 3 years. We found The Bay and love it. It is a beautiful setting which is so relaxing and quiet. We have been a few times for drinks. The brushetta's from the bar snack menu are great, especially the marlin and eggplant ones! We went for lunch for our anniversary and the food was excellent. We all enjoyed our meal and all ordered differently. Reasonably priced and great service. Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Bay hotel very much... We decided to stay there as we didn't want one of the big hotels and The Bay was nearly perfect. The location isn't touristy and you can walk down the beach and see hardly anyone. There are a few places to eat in the area, although you do really need a car / scooter if you are going out at night. This might not be the same in the summer months. This meant we ended up eating in the hotel more than we planned. However, the food was good, although it would have been good to see more fish on the menu. We were there for two weeks and it did feel that the same meals were rolled out week after week...
We went for a standard room and we had no view at all. However, it was very comfortable and clean. The major downside however was the lack of hot water! Nearly everyday we had to complain about the lack of hot water. This isn't something you want on holiday. This seems to be more of a problem at peak times so we ended up showering after breakfast to make sure it was at least warm!
Another complaint would be that there aren't many sun beds around the pool - which you don't need in a 17 room hotel. However, people would come to lunch and they stay and use the pool / sun beds. This sometimes meant that there wasn't room for guests.
Positives would be that the location of the restaurant is amazing and having breakfast each morning right next to the beach was a joy. It is also very good value compared to other hotels we looked at. The food and drinks weren't over priced either. Staff were very friendly, although there was sometimes an issue with English. We had a few problems with this, but nothing major.
If you are there on a Friday make sure you do dinner on the beach. We weren't told about this by the hotel which was a shame and we nearly didn't get a table, Make sure you ask.
On the whole this hotel was great value. It does feel like 3 star hotel and don't go there if you want 5 star luxury. It is great value though and the location is its trump card. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here based on the reviews as we wanted a boutique hotel away from the hustle and bustle of tourist hotels. What we got was the perfect hotel in the perfect setting but there were a few negatives. We had one of the two suites and had plenty of space in the room and the balcony overlooking the sea. However, the bathroom was a bit tired and it was a struggle to open the shower door at times. We spent five days having warm showers as the hot water never seemed to get through to us. The restaurant setting was excellent and on the whole the food was good, although I feel the chef was being a bit too experimental and 50% of the dishes were a bit hit and miss.The location was good, although if you are not half board there is a very limited local selection of restaurants, even if you have a car. I really want to give this hotel a glowing report, but my final disappointment was the number of children at the hotel. At one stage it seemed as if just about every room had at least one child. I have grown up children myself and accept that they have to go somewhere on holiday, but a small, remote, boutique hotel is probably not the best place for them, especially the ones that can't sit still at meal times.

Room Tip: Suite 15 is probably the best room there, although you do hear the kitchen noises late into the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Strongly recommend this hotel to those who prefer to avoid the large luxury complex, yet want to enjoy a piece of tropical paradise with fantastic food and beautiful beach location.

The rooms are simple but comfortable, but the staff very pleasant and the restaurant part absolutely wonderful! One of the best parts with our stay here was having breakfast on the terrace right next to the tranquil beach overlooking the crystal waters of the Indian Ocean. On Fridays the hotel organizes a BBQ and sitting on the beach next to candle-lit tables was the perfect setting for a romantic honeymoon-dinner.

Room Tip: Pick a room with beach-view balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: Avenue des Cocotiers, La Preneuse, Black River, Riviere Noire, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Riviere Noire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Riviere Noire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the delights of a beachfront holiday and discover the mauritian rhythm of life. situated on the west coast, famous for its romantic sunsets and all-year round sunshine. the ambient harmony is ideal for those in search of authenticity & conviviality and the delicate & friendly welcome + the personalised service will make you feel at home. our perfect location will give you access to a large choice of activities and renowned mauritian cultural sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Sirandanes Riviere Noire
The Bay Hotel Mauritius/Riviere Noire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.