We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely private hotel with a family like atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Bay Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des Cocotiers, La Preneuse, Black River, Riviere Noire, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Riviere Noire
Zilina, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely private hotel with a family like atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have chosen this hotel as it was for a reasonable price and close enough to the famous Flick and Flack beach. It was also very convenient location when exploring the southern part of the island (Black river Gorges).

We stayed in a suite with see view for 5 days on a half board. The half board included breakfast and dinner. No drinks were included except during breakfast. The breakfast was buffet style and we found it rather modest. For dinner there was always a daily menu. If you wanted to have something else than this, you had pay extra. We were more than happy with the daily menu as the food was always delicious and offered enough variety. Even when looking back, we would not choose anything different.

The staff is VERY friendly, thoughtful and helpful.

We had some extras and we did not find then too expensive.

There is a small beach in front of the hotel but there are too many boats "parked" there. For swimming you cold go to a public beach in walking distance (250m).

There is supermarket in walking distance from the hotel where you can get anything you need.

If you want to do and see more we would recommend you renting a car rather than paying for a taxi.

We enjoyed our stay there and we found this hotel a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    120
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
218
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a really good time at The Bay where we stayed for three nights. Small and boutique the staff were happy to help, there were a few issues with language (as we don't speak much french) but that was all fun! They arranged dives and taxis for us without problem. Food was good, if not a little complicated with included set menus and other options too. They make a very good mojito!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a sea view. We booked a superior room but got upgraded to a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the Bay Hotel for 4 nights (April 2013). Overall, we felt the Bay was a lovely, relaxing place to spend a holiday, but there were a few minor things which let it down slightly. When we arrived, we were tired and really just wanted to get to our room, but the staff had us sit in the bar instead and spent about 25 minutes going through the "formalities". Having stayed elsewhere in Mauritius, I know this is quite standard, but really we just wanted to get into our room! However, once we were in, the rooms were lovely, very nicely decorated and comfortable (although the bathroom could use an update). Having direct access to the beach from the hotel was lovely, and the view from the dining room was splendid. We loved the balcony in our room as well (16). Overall, the staff were good but not the best, perhaps this is due to the language barrier as my husband and I do not speak french. The reception team was very helpful in arranging outings for us, including a tour around the Morne peninsula and Charamel, as well as the dolphin swim which was incredible. The food was very well prepared, but we felt limited / confused by the half-board menu and weren't told until midway through our stay that we could order from the usual menu as well. We were also a bit confused by some of the meals - one main we were served was a huge quantity of pork (which was very nicely cooked) with a few peppers. And no carbohydrate at all, no rice, no potato. Maybe it was Atkin's diet night? However, there were a few dishes that we thought were amazing, including a coconut cake that was out of this world. Overall, a lovely place that I would recommend, but a few small changes here and there wouldn't go amiss.

Room Tip: Room 16 was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We(family oif 5 adults)were offered the hotel guest house as it wasn't possible to put an extra bed in the standard room. The guesthouse is across the road and it was the perfect solution for us. Nicely decorated, spacious bedrooms (4), bathroom and extra separate toilet and shower and fully equipped kitchen. The garden and outside lounge and dining are completely private and it was the perfect area for our family to 'chill'. With the hotel facilities just across the road it made it a perfect arrangement. The hotel is small and apart from a (small) pool and (small) beach there isn't much to do which was perfectly alright for us as we all just wanted to relax. However if all guests wanted to do that there wouldn;t be enough sun loungers to accommodate everybody. The view over the sea and especially the sunset moments were stunning. This was also enjoyed from the outdoor dining area. We thoroughly enjoyed every meal and have to mention we probably had the best burger ever! Although quite remote it wasn't difficult to get taxi's organised or rent a car. The hotel itself has bicycles for rent and they are very useful to cycle to the nearby supermarket. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Every little problem was dealt with immediately. The owners of the hotel are around all day long and are happy to try to make your holiday a great success. I would definitely like to go back one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the bay hotel with my family for 10 days. We used the 3 bed guest house which is a stone's throw from the hotel. We were incredibly happy with house and facilities. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. If you like big chain hotels and all that comes with it then this isn't the place for you. However, if you like a small more individual service then please try the bay hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As I was staying for three weeks I researched this hotel and others in the area. It lived up to all of my expectations. The staff were well informed when I asked about the activities on offer. The restaurant staff were happy to prepare simple quick meals when I only wished for a light snack. The management and office staff were available to answer any queries.
I was able to snorkel every day from the front of the hotel, and if I wanted a longer swim away from the coral, the public beach is only a couple of hundred metres to the south.
The taxi drivers aligned with the hotel were polite provided advice when asked. The location is great, only a short walk to a well serviced supermarket and coffee shop. A few extra minutes and there is a much larger shopping area for an assortment of clothing shops, fine wines etc.

Room Tip: Try for a superior or a suite, for a short stay the other rooms may be okay but they are rather smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose the hotel for a long time, focusing on different reviews. Sincerely confirm that we made the choice and The Bay Hotel gave us even more than we expected: delicious lunch & dinner, great view from the balcony of our room, romantic sunsets. Also staff was very helpful and always smiling :) Thanks for good mood!

The most beautiful mountains surrounding The Bay Hotel. It's great view!
We rent the car and traveled all over the Black River region, but we always came back to The Bay Hotel with the feeling that we're going home.

If we will go Mauritius again, we will choose The Bay Hotel again. It's our place, indeed! BTW, we have seen many big hotels too, and they look nice... but, from my point of view, big hotels can't be so cozy like small friendly hotel. Also price of rooms are very reasonable, and The Bay Hotel saved our money, making our trip not too expensive.

Room Tip: We strongly recommend to choose sea view suite, because all rooms at ground floor have no balcony. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: Avenue des Cocotiers, La Preneuse, Black River, Riviere Noire, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Riviere Noire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Riviere Noire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the delights of a beachfront holiday and discover the mauritian rhythm of life. situated on the west coast, famous for its romantic sunsets and all-year round sunshine. the ambient harmony is ideal for those in search of authenticity & conviviality and the delicate & friendly welcome + the personalised service will make you feel at home. our perfect location will give you access to a large choice of activities and renowned mauritian cultural sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Sirandanes Riviere Noire
The Bay Hotel Mauritius/Riviere Noire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.