We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem on the West Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ousaporn Thai Food

Ousaporn Thai Food
La Preneuse Road, Riviere Noire, Mauritius
4837061
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hidden gem on the West Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We live in Mauritius for 5 months each year so we have plenty of opportunity to eat out regularly.

I can say without doubt (providing your enjoy Thai food) that this is the best Thai restaurant i have ever had the pleasure to eat in.

It is primarily a take-away but do not be put off as it has seating for a maximum of about 16 people maximum in the most enchanting garden you will ever get the chance to sit in.

Run by a South African Guy and his Thai partner this tiny restaurant (close to the Bay Hotel in Black River).

They grow all their own herbs in a small garden you are welcome to visit.

The place is not licensed for alcohol but providing your are discreet you are welcome to bring your own.

Don't give up trying to find it - it will be well worth the effort. We have returned many times in the last 5 months - fabulous!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good take away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Recently moved to the area and found Ousaporn near The Bay Hotel. Spicy salads, great spring rolls and the best Tom Yum soup. Mains are sometimes a little watery but good taste. Recommend a visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
“Best in Mauritius!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Food is amazing and pricing very reasonable compared to other restaurants in the area. Service always great. They also do take-away.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best thai food I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I discovered this lovely restaurant by accident while I was walking around la Preneuse in the afternoon. I knocked at the door and an extremely kind thai girl, Ousaporn, invited me inside her amazing magical garden. She showed me around, as I was interested in booking for one of the following evenings, and she also let me visit her aromatic plants garden, where she grows all the spices and herbs that she uses to prepare her authentic thai dishes, which are the best I've ever had, even better than in Thailand! I've been there 3 times already and I'm planning to go again and again and again! Try her red curry coconut with tofu and veggies or her vegan rice noodles, they're just amazing. P.S. Booking in advance is advisable, as I've noticed it's getting busier and busier. It's also possible to order to take away, but I definitely prefer to eat in her lovely garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best food I have ever tasted.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant while walking from the beach in black river/tamarin.
We first expected the place to be closed, because it looked so quiet.
What a surprise! We opened the gate and stepped into paradise! A perfect garden and smiling owners met us inside.
From there on we had the food experience of our lives. We had the yum neua yang and satay chicken for starters. Really delicious. And for main course we had the green curry and the red curry. Cross my heart - it's the best food I have ever had.

We eat a lot of Thai food, but this is the definitive best!

We went back the next day! Loved it again :)

Wish we could have stayed longer in Maurituis... Then I would have eaten there every day! ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ousaporn Thai Food also viewed

Riviere Noire, Riviere Noire District
Riviere Noire, Riviere Noire District
 
Riviere Noire, Riviere Noire District
Riviere Noire, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Ousaporn Thai Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ousaporn Thai Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.