We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alte Stadtmauer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colditz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alte Stadtmauer
Am Graben 5, 04680 Colditz, Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Colditz
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A top place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We picked up a leaflet in Colditz Castle for the guest house rang up and spoke to Ralph who speaks perfect english. He gave us directions and as we came down to the market square he was in the street waiting for us. There was 5 of us travelling on motorcycles we got 2 double rooms and a single for 165 euros. Good rooms comfy beds a smoking balcony and a very generous breakfast. A very pleasant stay and highly recommended. The leaflet says it is worth the stay for the breakfast alone. I would say it is worth the stay just to meet Ralph a very nice man who makes you feel very much at home. A note for any bikers reading this, an ideal place to stay plenty of parking and a garage for secure parking for a few euros more if you want it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

This really is a horrible, dirty, squalid little B&B. No frills. Whoever wrote the reviews praising the breakfasts can not have spent much time travelling in Europe, the breakfast is pretty standard European fare, rolls, cheese, ham a boiled egg, cereal, all served in one of 2 dingey little breakfast rooms. The bedrooms are so small you have to step outside to make a decision. The single rooms offer tiny wooden beds 3ft across, not long enough for someone 5'10", no mattress protector and sheets so thin the mattress ticking is clearly visible. Dirty institutional carpets, miniscule bathroom with torn lino, nasty nylon drapes and 80s style woolworth furniture sums it up. BUT this is the ONLY HOTEL in Colditz. A town that is dying on its feet. There is one alternative, the youth hostel at Colditz Castle. Equally as basic. The limited plus points are the fact the host, Ralph, speaks excellent English and is helpful, (his partner, David (John?), from Bradford stays silent pretending not to speak english so he can avoid discourse with the guests), and the location. The Gasthaus is very close to the castle, 5 mins walks just off the main square, also close to a good restaurant at the end of the street called The Post. I would recommend the Post above the 'old wehrmacht watering hole' that is touted by some people as the only place to eat as the food in the latter is dreadful, really soviet era rubbish and whilst the service is friendly enough they cannot cater to groups over 10. But the Post is OK menu includes schnitzel, goulash etc. Also one or two little cafes in town offer decent coffee and cake. I think if comfort is important and you are only travelling to visit Schloss Colditz it would be better to find somewhere in Grimma (10km) or better still Leipzig and just do a day trip unless knotting your bedsheets together for midnight escapes over the walls is on the agenda......
(By the way, the photo at the top of this page is of Colditz Castle Kommandatur building and not of the Gasthaus Alte Stadmauer).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brotherton, yorkshire uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife and I are old hands having been to colditz many times,the first time being just after the berlin wall came down. At that time John Smith did not run the Alte stadtmaur and the town was as it was tn1945 complete with shell damage. Since then we have returned a number of times and stayed with John and Ralf.
We have always been welcomed and the ginormous breakfast is something to look forward to.It is a friendly and comfortable place and John and Ralf are experts on the recent history of Colditz Castle.They have a friend in the nearby village of Poldelwitz who owns a private museum filled with all the memorabilia of the war'well worth a visit.Colin

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

we visited and stayed in colditz casle overnight, in the morning we took the tour and what an eye opener that was, if you get a chance to go just do it, you wont be disapointed, we went as a motorcycle club and found plenty of parking for the eight bikes inside the grounds.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

I had no idea what my surprise birthday present was, it turned out to include a trip to Colditz. The castle was magnificent, although the beautiful the town is a little quiet in the evenings. That said the accomodation was great. Rolf speaks excellent english, he was very informative on the surrounding area. We both thought it was very good value for money and very well situated, with its own parking. I would recomend the hotel to anyone visiting the castle or the surrounding area for that matter.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights at Pension. Nice friendly staff especially John a English bloke who has lived in Germany for years.
I think was 40 euro a night for a single room.
John was really helpful in telling us about Colditz history and places we should visit.
It is close to everything but then again Colditz is a small place.
Make sure you visit Adam's Bar which is very close to Pension, just ask John or Ralf for directions. Say Troy and Lynton from Adelaide, South Australia told you about them!!! John thought I was a little brat cause I was always drinking.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — lack of internet, but had internet at local libary (Kindy)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pocono, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

As a kid I read EVERY World War II escape book written. I was particularly fascinated by the tales of the multi-national prisoner-of-war camp at Colditz Castle. Here the Germans closeley guarded all the "bad boys" who particularly irritated the Krauts with their relentless pursuit of getting back home. The worst offenders were herded together in the same locale which only led to more and more frequent and ingenious plots to escape. After reading ex-prisoner Pat Reid's various books about Colditz I knew the personnel interred at Oflag IVc better than their German guards,

I always dreamt of visiting Colditz but as it was situated in the old East Germany I never had the chance until now. Other than the town's link to WW II fame, there is very little reason anyone would want to visit. Knowing that, proprietor Ralf Gorny plays up the whole POW angle when visitors stay at his charming Hotel Garni. His breakfast room is adorned with drawings of the many characters and incidents associated with the prison castle. He also has a nice library of escape material which he is quite eager to share with the interested visitor. The guys is a charming, helpful and friendly host. His English is excellent.

The hotel has a quaint old house with modern bathroom plumbing. The ever present eiderdown comforters are found on the comfortable beds. There are TVs in each room and the rooms are warm as well as clean.

There is no hotel restaurant but Ralf directed us to the fabulous "Sophienklause" just up the street. We had a memorable dinner featuring huge portions of delicious German food washed-down with liters of inexpensive local beer.

The Alte Stadtmaurer does offer a very full breakfast buffet in the cozy "Colditz Room". We stuffed ourselves with the delicious hard rolls, cold cuts, cheese, soft-boiled eggs, cereals and fruits laid-out for us. Just when we started to feel guilty for eating Ralf out of house and home, he came back into the room with a fresh supply of hard rolls, preserves and eggs. In this tiny little pension we were given a choice of 5 different fruit/vegetable juices!

When it came time to check-out Ralf helped us with our bags then posed for pictures. He even donned a Cold War era Commie helmet and overcoat.

This was one of the best deals and experiences of our entire Eastern European jaunt. We are already planning a return visit next year after I've had a chance to re-read all the old Colditz tales.

  • Liked — Wonderful host. Sumptuous breakfast, clean rooms, fascinating locale
  • Disliked — Roads through this part of Germany are a bit narrow and bumpy
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alte Stadtmauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Stadtmauer

Address: Am Graben 5, 04680 Colditz, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Colditz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Colditz
Also Known As:
Alte Stadtmauer Hotel Colditz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alte Stadtmauer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alte Stadtmauer to your Saves list