We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure genius, plain and simple.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilario Vinciguerra Restaurant

Ilario Vinciguerra Restaurant
Via Roma, 1 | Ingresso Auto Via Tenconi, 3, 21013 Gallarate, Italy
+39 0331 791597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 135 Restaurants in Gallarate
Price range: $84 - $134
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: New challenge for the young Neapolitan chef who moves from Galliate Lombardo Gallarate, cultural capital of the province of Varese.Gallarate, March 15, 2011 - Ilario Vinciguerra, opened his new restaurant in the heart of Gallarate, built in a charming Art Nouveau villa from the 900 surrounded by a beautiful park.Once through the gate, you leave the city behind and immerse yourself in an atmosphere of chic decor. At the entrance, the wonderful collection of brandies Romano Levi, "the grappa angelicofa proudly displayed and leads to the cellar in sight.On the ground floor seats 35 arranged in several rooms create the ideal environment to relax and enjoy the rich cuisine of chef patron suggestions, enhanced by the impeccable hospitality in the hall of his wife Marika. Upstairs large spaces reserved for events, with a capacity of 80 seats. The challenge of Ilario is to combine research and development with tradition, in the garden, next to the beautiful gazebo, an outdoor laboratory where they will be built rediscovered some old techniques (bread baked in a wood and coal firing) Hilary has a multifaceted personality, he was trained in Italy at the school of Don Alfonso Iaccarino, then in France and abroad in prestigious restaurants. Ten years ago has finally landed in the local Galliate, laboratory of ideas and culinary creations, where, between research and innovation, creativity and rigor Mediterranean, has come up with a kitchen that has brought into habits of tasty gourmet Lombard.<< For us it is an important moment - says Hilary - a step-awaited time, the possibility of a large space in which my wife Marika, my staff and I can speak the best and to continue our challenge: the dialogue between the Mediterranean cuisine and eating habits Lombard rigorous and well-established.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Pure genius, plain and simple.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Very few restaurants manage to get it all right, but Ilario Vinciguerra shows that it can be done. From the moment you walk in the door, it is obvious you are in capable hands and will have an amazing evening.

The decor is starkly modern, yet not uncomfortable, somewhat at odds with what you'd expect in this beautiful old villa. Cuisine is a modern take on traditional Neapolitan fare, with a slight twist of molecular gastronomy. But unlike the offerings of Thomas Keller or Ferran Adria, Ilario gives you an actual meal, and not just some simmering fluff on a pretty plate.

Service is attentive, and they are happy to walk you through the menu and wine list. Particularly impressive is their wine list, with an eclectic range suitable for any budget. (Some real finds here if you have the wallet for it.) We tried several items from the menu, all delicious. The foie gras torchon and steak tartare were amazing starters, and the main courses of suckling pig and braised veal cheek were both fantastic. In between all this decadent good eating, little surprises will come to the table from the kitchen. Be prepared to leave very full, and very happy.

Definitely makes the list of my Top 10 restaurants in the world.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilariovinciguerra, Proprietario at Ilario Vinciguerra Restaurant, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Google Translation
gentile michhael c,
la ringrazio per le belle parole e quando verrai di nuovo nel nostro fantastico paese l'aspettiamo a braccia aperte .
cordialmente
ilario vinciguerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    42
    28
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Givrins, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An off-night?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

My wife and I made a detour from a long weekend in Varese to try out this restaurant, rated the best in the area by the Gambero Rosso guide. It is certainly fancy, evidently striving to become an industry à la Paul Bocuse. The decor is opulent, teetering on the edge of being over-the-top. The food, while good, is not exceptional. Not one of the dishes we tried was truly memorable. And there is too much artifice - dishes served in plastic balls or in a gushing volcano of dry ice. Frankly, it gave the impression that the chef was depressed or ill. It was by no means a disaster, but it is not a place to which I will return, especially as it is located in a fairly bleak suburb of Milan.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilariovinciguerra, Proprietario at Ilario Vinciguerra Restaurant, responded to this review, December 24, 2014
Google Translation
gentile mgs,
la ringrazio per la recensione ma ancora di più che mi paragona "all'industria do paul bocuse" ne sono onorato e mi creda sarebbe un grande sogno professionale .per quanto riguarda depresso o ammalato mi spiace ma non sono io .
cordialmente
ilario vinciguerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Deserves 2 Michelin Stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

They say first impressions count and this has never been more true then our exceptional evening at Ilario Vinciguerra. Located in a stunning villa and tasefully decorated. The service is better then any other restaurant we've eaten at. The food...well, what an amazing culinary experience. We chose the Chef's 'surprise' menu and boy were we happy we did! Every course was a delightful surprise with clever theatrics and fine-dining twerks to keep you full of anticipation and excitement for the next gastronmic delight. It is Well deserving of its Michelin star (deserves 2 in my opinion). Ticked all my boxes and impressed me in every aspect. I will certainly be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilariovinciguerra, Proprietario at Ilario Vinciguerra Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Google Translation
mr curiousci,
la ringraziamo per gli auguri e quando si troverà di passaggio nel nostro meraviglio paese ,sappi che a Gallarate l'aspettiamo con piacere .
cordialmente
ilario vinciguerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

It was Easter Day and it was the first time we would not be with our family. We spent the day dining at this amazing restaurant. The setting is lovely. The dining room is elegant. The food and service is beyond description. Everything is explained and presented professionally and with care. To describe each dish would take paragraphs. Just know you will not be disappointed and, in fact, be delightfully impressed. This is a dining experience you will not forget. If you are in the area, do not miss this restaurant. Ilario is an amazing chef. Marika makes your dining experience sheer pleasure. The wait staff is friendly and skilled.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeServiceiv, Proprietario at Ilario Vinciguerra Restaurant, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Mrs and Mr Howe,
we thank you very much for you visit .
My wife was very happy to spoke with you and explain our kitchen philosophy.
hoping to receive you soon
best regards
Ilario Vinciguerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Unexpected Positive Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Set in a villa in Gallarate ( not a very nice suburb of Varese), we had an excellent meal. Few clients that day, the hostess and wife of Ilario Vinciguerra was charming doing her best to make our lunch a pleasant experience. Food was excellent, although portions of some plates were way too small, specially at the price paid. Wine selection and sommelier recommendation were excellent. If it was less expensive, it would see me and probably others more often. A deserved star a Michelin.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeServiceiv, Proprietario at Ilario Vinciguerra Restaurant, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Google Translation
cordiale my-ooops
la ringraziamo per la visita in futuro se ci sarà occasione che ci passi a trovare ed un piatto la colpisce positivamente ne può chiedere ancora senza nessun prezzo aggiuntivo per noi è un piacere perchè significa che il cliente ha apprezzato il piatto.
ad majora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilario Vinciguerra Restaurant also viewed

Gallarate, Province of Varese
Gallarate, Province of Varese
 
Gallarate, Province of Varese
Olgiate Olona, Province of Varese
 

Been to Ilario Vinciguerra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilario Vinciguerra Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.