We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Orchid

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Orchid
Thai orchid & Murray Arms | Dalton, Dumfriesshire, DG111DU, Dalton, England
01387 840635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Dalton
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Quirky (previous reviewer) is possibly the best way to describe the Thai Orchid.
This in no way detracts from the many excellent experiences there, from the Outstanding welcome,customer service, authentic food quality/quantity and excellent value for money.
We go for all occasions Birthdays, Anniversary, family get togethers, just about any reason.
If it was possible would give it 11 out of 10!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't be fooled by the outside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This quaint little pub on the SCOTTISH border never fails to disappoint. The food is always delicious and can match any Thai restaurant in the big cities! The staff are welcoming and pleasant and food authentic. For more atmosphere chose the Sunday buffet night but book for that..
I had the shared platter followed by tamarind duck with sticky rice. My friends had the Thai curry. Thai custard is unusual and worth a try. All very reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Thai restaurant ever been too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Love Thai food and have eaten in loads of places but this great little place comes up head and toes above the rest, I had the fish cakes for starter followed by Thai red curry with sticky rice which was lovely and you could tell it had been cooked fresh and the prices were spot on. If you are ever near dalton then I would recommend you go here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good food and welcoming staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ate here twice on our holiday and the food was very good on both occasions. We would recommend the squid and basil leaves and the duck dishes. More than happy to recommend this place, very friendly owner and attentive staff. Another plus point is a very reasonably priced menu. Point of note is that it is in Scotland not England as it appears in Tripadvisors listings. I would also recommend the Thai beer to go with the food, Singhai, if I remember correctly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quirky wee place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Been to this place in Dalton village quite a few times. This time we went for the Sunday buffet. The food is absolutely fine and plentiful if you just want good grub but if you really want super tasty and spicier options then you really need to choose from the a la carte! Dim sum are great. Mussels lovely. Decor a bit eclectic and not always appearing as clean as it should be. Final point would be to take something cosy to wear as not always the warmest place. Staff couldn't be more friendly. Great wee place and worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.