We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Coast Sun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Coast Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Bizana Road , 5, 2 Km south of Port Edward, Port Edward 4295, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a family room which consisted of 2 queen beds with a bathroom. Room rather small but then you only want to sleep there as there's so much to do and experience. Superb ocean views, great restaurants & pubs, casino, the list is just too long. Excellent view to relax. Will definitely be back. Thumbs up to management & staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
18
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Best 5 day holiday I've had in a long time, friendly and helpful staff, awesome place for kids, plenty to do for them, wild waves is a must as iswaterworld, only disappointment was steers,
I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get sea facing on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a perfect destination for a convention. The property is massive and there are plenty of venues and offerings to keep all delegates entertained. All the functions were very well organized. The staff were friendly and the food selection was vast. The rooms have been recently renovated with a ‘beachy’ ‘resorty’ vibe but to be honest I don’t know if I’d come here for an intimate, relaxed vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I visited the resort many years ago and it was not bad, however, on this trip many things concerned me: the hotel seems like it is in dire need of a facelift and on arrival my room was not ready, even though it was long past check-in time. There was no kettle in my room and I was missing teaspoons, coffee etc. I ordered room service, which they got completely wrong. The food ingredients used for breakfast was 'budget' at best and the coffee was stale. No free WiFi.

The room was very cramped, though well appointed and they had a decent number of channels on TV to watch. The rooms need a couch to sit on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed at the Wild Coast Sun for 3 days while attending a conference arranged by the University of South Africa. Has a beautiful 2 room suite, each room with its own balcony looking out at the Indian Ocean - each morning, had the pleasure of seeing a large pod of dolphins cruising past, while the bird life in the trees immediately adjacent to the hotel was fantastic. Watch out for the monkeys - if you leave a door open and turn your back, they will be in your room and will grab anything they think is food! Staff were all very friendly and the guys at reception made it a point to greet you by name any time you went there. As it was a business event, we ate all the meals in the main restaurant - plentiful, tasty and with good service. Plenty to do after hours, ranging from a walk on the beach, a visit to the gym or Waterwolrd, a round of golf or chancing your luck in the casino.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth or fifth floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I took my wife to the hotel for a long weekend, to also show her Port Edward where I had spent many of my childhood holidays. Upon our arrival at reception we were welcomed in a friendly manner. Check-in was completed in a quick and efficient way and we were also assisted with our luggage.
The room was found to be neat and clean, with the décor of a good standard.
We enjoyed good and tasty meals at Squire’s and Chico’s Restaurants, but felt that there was a lack of management presence during our visit. At Chico’s restaurant while having breakfast, the staff were interacting with each other in a rather loud tone of voice without respecting the presence of the guests. Our table was never visited by any member of management, making us felt ignored, while they were having lengthy conversations with local residents.
We also experienced the housekeeping to be below standard, as our room never received a turndown service during our stay, and we had to request for bathroom towels.
We still enjoyed our weekend there, but experienced that the service in particular was not up to the expected Sun International standard.

I first visited the Wild Coast Sun in 1983 and was slightly disappointed that the property showed several signs of ageing since then, despite recent renovations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited wild coast sun after many years, and was surprised to find not much had changed. However I enjoyed the familiar feel of the place, it brought back many pleasant memories of previous visits. The rooms have had a much needed upgrade, and are spacious, light and airy,and comfortable. The suite is a a real treat, with a separate lounge , large double bathroom and bedroom, both the lounge and bedroom had balconies. Though do be careful of the monkeys that roam around...keep the doors closed if they are there. The pool is still well maintained, and the beach is within easy walking distance. Beautiful and unspoiled. You can see whales and sometimes dolphins in the distance. There is plenty of entertainment, from the golf course,water park, games room, ten pin bowling, squash , tennis etc, and lots of places to eat.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms ...the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Coast Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Coast Sun Hotel

Address: Main Bizana Road , 5, 2 Km south of Port Edward, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Coast Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Coast Sun and Country Club in South Africa is set on an unspoiled beach in the Cape and attracts visitors with its beguiling beauty and activities on offer. The resort is set on 750 hectares of natural bush between two rivers overlooking the Indian Ocean. The area offers tourists and conference delegates a variety of attractions and activities – from walks along our unspoilt beaches to deep sea fishing and scuba diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Wild Coast Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Coast Sun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Coast Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.