We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Estuary Hotel & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Edward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
Save
You added The Estuary Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R61 National Road, Port Edward 4295, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Estuary for a friend's wedding and it was beautiful!! Many people always complain to go so far South the KZN coast but this hotel definitely makes it worth your while. The scenary, the beaches, the accommodation, all are beautiful! We stayed in the hotel and the rooms were clean and staff very friendly. We also enjoyed the food from the hotel. Our friends stayed in the Villa's and they are perfect for large groups, the one we saw had 4 bedrooms and each bedroom had its' own bathroom which is great!! Excellent place, great staff and most of all, great scenary!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Such a pity this review - the Hotel is situated in as perfect a place as one could ever dream. The view is 7 star, but the rest was sadly 3 star.

The rooms are lacking upkeep. They have the R20 shower head, the mould on the ceiling above the shower is not pretty. The water stain down the wall below the aircon is annoying but worst of all are the dirty sports on the carpet. All they need to do is spend about R1000and the room will look and feel great.
The breakfast was good but cold on the first day. Same choices every morning. Butter was a problem, one should not have to ask for butter three mornings in a row. The orange juice pitcher was jammed from cells. We had to stop the coffee filter machine from overflowing.
The prices are steep for what you are getting. The Estuary have definitely got their charging at a 5 star level.
The room is also very loud, if anyone sneezes or showers in a nearby room, good luck sleeping.
Once again I have to say that this review could have been brilliant, but it seems someone has forgotten to focus on the simple things.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: You must stay in a sea facing room. Take a walk down to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 hours prior to arrival with no expectations and were very pleasantly surprised. A super place to spend the night. Big airy room. Lovely food for supper and breakfast. There was a small problem with the hot water which was very quickly resolved after a call to reception. What a lovely setting, we certainly would like to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were attracted here by a wedding and stayed in room 208 for two nights in May 2013. The views are great. The hotel is a bit old, with older style bathrooms and self catering kitchenettes. Otherwise comfortable features in the rooms with the basics supplied. Room 208 was extremely damp, and they were fully booked so no chance of changing rooms. The damp left a sharp smell and a cold room so we had to leave the heater on for a while before hitting the sack. We also saw a disturbing sight of a cleaning staff member throwing a plastic Coke bottle from the balcony of the room she was busy cleaning, into the lagoon below! We later saw her and she openly admitted it to littering. We also reported it to the reception. This left us in awe.

Overall a good weekend.

Room Tip: Do not choose basement or ground level floors due to damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We needed a place to stay over for one night. After spending that night at the Estuary Hotel, I wished we could've stayed a few more! We found that they paid attention to the small things, which added up and made a big difference. Really enjoyed the supper and breakfast which were included in the rates. Lovely lawn, pool and jungle gym for the kids. Stunning view for the parents...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in April. The setting is beautiful and we enjoyed sitting looking out to sea. The place really needs updating, it smells damp in the rooms and all felt quite tired. The service was very hit and miss, we weren't impressed in the bar area but had lovely staff in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked in at the hotel for the weekend, as we were attending a wedding at the venue.
The venue really is breathtaking, especially when the weather is sunny. Breakfast is also worth whatever you end up paying for accommodation.
The combination of the breakfast with that view, though, is something that'll make you wish you booked an extra night.

The staff on the other hand, really do leave a very bitter taste in your mouth.

On arrival there was a lady sitting at reception clearly drowning her boredom in Facebook or Youtube, & couldn't be bothered to greet guests with a smile. She eventually called someone else to book us in.

The waiters, bar ladies & breakfast staff were also very grumpy, unhelpful & at times just plain rude. A smile is free.

The only staff members I can really commend, though, is Anton & the Exec chef (whose name I have forgotten - apologies). Anton went above & beyond, always had a smile on his face & never lost his cool, even when the wedding procedures got disrupted by rain & the guests starting getting difficult.

The Exec chef also really performed when all the proceeding were moved close to an hour forward due to rain. All the food was prepared perfectly & on time.

The wedding coordinator on the other hand, could not handle the pressure & just gave up when things started getting difficult & started feeling sorry for herself. We kept having to calm her down & throwing her a pity party. I really do feel sorry for brides having to deal with her.

So to sum it up:
- Great venue;
- Breathtaking view;
- Breakfast worth staying an extra night for;
- But most of the staff really do let the whole venue down.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms. Definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Estuary Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estuary Hotel & Spa

Address: R61 National Road, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Estuary Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic location with breathtaking views of the estuary, sea, beach and breakers. A picturesque walk through the estate affords direct access onto Silver Beach, the main Port Edward bathing beach. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, family holiday, conference, wedding or special occasion. Brides are spoilt for choice with a traditional wedding in our chapel, a relaxed ceremony on the beautiful garden terrace or an informal affair on the beach. A nursery, play area and games room provide activities that the whole family can enjoy. Wild Waves Water Park at the Wild Coast Sun is a mere 5 minutes away by car and is a popular attraction. The hotel is a golfer's jewel with several prestigious golf courses nearby. There's lots to do or you may want to simply chill at the pool, hang out at the beach or indulge your senses and be pampered at the spa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Estuary Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.