We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Port Edward Holiday Resort

Port Edward Holiday Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Edward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Edward Holiday Resort
Main Street | PO Box 22, Port Edward 4295, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Port Edward
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently visited the resort for the first time with a few friends, all was well and I found it quite enjoyable, until one of the managers (An elderly white lady) approached me after receiving a complaint against me by one of her regulars. Her aprroach was very aggressive, unprofessional and rude, she was very disrespectful and addressed me as if i were her son. being a regular or not does not change the fact that i am a paying customer, and if this is how they treat customers i would not recomend this resort to anybody. Their way of resolving issues and approaching others was nothing short of pathetic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uitenhage
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at the Port Edward Holiday Resort and found it to be very nice and comfortable. Was a stone's throw away from the sea. Lying in bed and listening to the rolling sea was one of an inner calm. Waking up to the breath-taking views and sunrises was just heavenly!! There are also shops, bars and restuarants at a mere walking distance. For those people that love to fish, there is a rock named Splash Rock where all the local fishermann catch fish daily. Everything is within reach and a pleasure to come to this resort and just relax !! Well worth taking a trip !!

Room Tip: Choose a chalet to the quantity of people that would be staying there. More people, the bigger the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Location is fantastic. It's just a short walk to Silver Beach, Port Edward's main beach. The beach is one of the best I have been to with young children. There is a sand bank which guarantees easy swims in the surf and loads of space for exploring when the tide is out.

It seems there are two types of accommodation within the resort. The newer face brick and the older orange painted chalets which we stayed in. Our chalet was basic but had all the usual amenities. Overall it was a bit run down. Ants swarmed over any leftover food but that is pretty standard for the South Coast.There is no air conditioning and the units are not serviced. You can make a private arrangement with the resort cleaners to have your unit serviced. There is no standard fee so the cleaners start high but can be negotiated downwards. We found negotiating employment on holiday frustrating. Our bedding was changed every few days without extra cost.

There is a jungle gym for the kids and during peak periods a jumping castle was put up. The pool is well kept and secure behind a locked gate. The resort is on a large property and there is space for the kids to ride bikes safety.

We experienced a serious problem with the location of our chalet. A public road runs down the front of the resort to the main beach. There is also a small rest area further up from the beach which was directly opposite our chalet. This area attracted a large number of people every day who liked to park their cars and turn up the music. One evening when the glasses were rattling in the cupboards I felt compelled to ask the resort management to move us. They were friendly but couldn't assist because they were full. I was advised to phone the local police station for assistance. I didn't do that but the following evening (and for the rest of our holiday) a police van was parked in the trouble area and the noise subsided.

If we had stayed in a newer chalet away from the main road I probably would have had a more relaxing enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Edward
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Had a break there, WOW was always good, but now the improvement is massive. stayed in one of the "budget" chalets and gor so much more than expected. very impressed.
Also the kids loved the space and freedom to be kids at the resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Edward Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Edward Holiday Resort

Address: Main Street | PO Box 22, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Port Edward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Edward Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Port Edward Holiday Resort to your Saves list