We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vuna Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vuna Valley to your Saves list
Vuna Valley
PO Box 52 | Banners Rest, Port Edward 4295, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rather disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We arrived to find that what was advertised as a lodge, was in fact a backpackers sleepover with lodge prices. We were given the purple room which was at the back of the property and a torch was needed to find our way to it in the dark. We arrived late after a long drive to find that it was self catering and we had to drive in to town to find a KFC just so that we could eat, the second day we went out for the day and told the owner that we would only be back after dark and could he charge our torch for us, he told us he would leave a red torch for us on the bar, and needless to say we had to feel our way back to our room at the back of the property as no torch was left. The room itself was clean but the bathroom was abysmal. Little did we know that Mother Nature would actually be joining us in the bathroom. There was only netting which was not secure to keep the wildlife out but I had to sleep with 1 eye open to make sure mr spider didn't join us in the room as were were in the heart of Banana Trees. Over all we were disappointed sorry to say.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We attended a wedding in Port Edward and needed accommodation nearby. This place was ideal, great facilities and the service was great.. Four of us shared a room and it was spacious and comfy. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente del Tuyu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I just went to a friends wedding in Port Edward and stayed at Vuna Valley Backpackers, it was fantastic! The rooms are clean and beds VERY comfortable.

Staff are welcoming (including the cat), wonderful relaxing place to stay, highly recommended.

Great place for a great price!

Bee Durban

Room Tip: Orange Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I must firstly indicate that we hav.e only ourselves to blame for believing that a backpackers place could ever be equated to a lodge.. As far as backpackers go, it is adequate. It is neat and clean and will deliver more than most backpacking facilities do. But, as a family vacation place, it is far too basic and 'rustic'. Our main complaint would be the quality of the beds, which were so uncomfortable and noisy and we did not have a single good nights sleep. We slept Ina different bed each night in the hope that it would be better than the last. The promise of canoeing on the river did not materialize because we we told the canoes were washed away in a flood - but no alternative was offered. The entrance to the reserve was also privately owned by other resorts, so that was false advertising. I would strictly recommend this Asa backpackers only. It is not a lodge even though the price for a 6 sleeper was priced at a lodge price. Did not enjoy our stay there at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The guys at Vuna Valley always make us feel so comfortable, we love staying there when we are in Port Edward - their service is outstanding, they are great people and willing to accommodate our every need! The rooms are beautiful and well kept, the setting is tranquil and truly relaxing!


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We only stayed at Vuna Valley for one night after a long drive en route to elsewhere so did not get to check out the surroundings as we arrived in the dark and left quite early. The accommodation can best be described as basic without many frills at all. The four person room we stayed in would have been pretty cosy if we had actually had four people in there with very little privacy between the beds. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stay at vuna valley for two weeks and in general it was ok.
The place is poorly maintained it makes the world of difference if it had better maintenance done.
On the good side the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to cook a meal, outside the kitchen however there is rubbish or what looks like left over from a renovations.
All the hot water in the rooms and kitchen run on gas, and 31st Dec we run out of gas for cooking and hot water for two days. In a place where you pay for a service and you run out, unacceptable whatever the reason. If the place runs on gas there should be spare bottles.
Let me finish off by saying that it would make the world of difference if attention was paid to small details.
Vicky was great but, personally I will not return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vixen27, Manager at Vuna Valley, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sergio

Thank you for the review, it is beneficial for us to know where we can improve and where the problems lie. I would like to clarify a couple of things which may shed some light on some of the problems you experienced.

The 'rubbish' outside the kitchen is in fact recycling (plastic and glass bottles, cardboard and tin) which has been washed and stored out of view for collection. Unfortunately the pickup which is run by a local in Port Edward had not been done before your arrival due to a broken truck. We try to do our best at Vuna Valley to conserve the beautiful environment around us and recycling is at the core. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

The leftover renovation materials which you saw were in fact materials that I use to create crafts for my curio shop. This is another way in which we recycle. I had packed it all neatly but perhaps I should have removed this from view, I will remember to next time.

I agree that running out of gas is unacceptable. We always keep spare bottles and this is something which my domestic usually checks but obviously forgot about. While it is a problem which can be sorted out in a matter of minutes, it was just plain unlucky that we ran out on a public holiday when the suppliers were closed. My sincerest apologies for this.

As for maintenance, just prior to your arrival we had the most incredible storms and rain for weeks without end. This lead to a number of maintenance problems which we tried our best to sort out before season. If you would be so kind as to email me a list of these maintenance problems and other details which need attention I will be able to attend to them immediately.

Again, my deepest apologies. Kind regards Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vuna Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuna Valley

Address: PO Box 52 | Banners Rest, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Port Edward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vuna Valley is a magical place where comfort and nature meet on the banks of the majestic Umtamvuna River, on the border of Kwazulu Natal and Eastern Cape (Transkei). Here you will be forgiven for thinking (and acting) like you're at home. 5 minutes from the quaint town of Port Edward, the Wild Coast Sun casino, Wild waves waterpark and Silver beach, Vuna Valley is far enough to feel like you've escaped, yet close enough to keep your finger on the pulse. Our rooms are simple but clean and comfortable, with airconditioners and private patios with views of the gorge or the gardens. Our large entertainment area is perfect for small rustic functions or romantic dinners for two. We offer self catering, B&B or full catering options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vuna Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vuna Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.