We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vuna Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vuna Valley to your Saves list
Vuna Valley
PO Box 52 | Banners Rest, Port Edward 4295, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I will not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stay at vuna valley for two weeks and in general it was ok.
The place is poorly maintained it makes the world of difference if it had better maintenance done.
On the good side the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to cook a meal, outside the kitchen however there is rubbish or what looks like left over from a renovations.
All the hot water in the rooms and kitchen run on gas, and 31st Dec we run out of gas for cooking and hot water for two days. In a place where you pay for a service and you run out, unacceptable whatever the reason. If the place runs on gas there should be spare bottles.
Let me finish off by saying that it would make the world of difference if attention was paid to small details.
Vicky was great but, personally I will not return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vixen27, Manager at Vuna Valley, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sergio

Thank you for the review, it is beneficial for us to know where we can improve and where the problems lie. I would like to clarify a couple of things which may shed some light on some of the problems you experienced.

The 'rubbish' outside the kitchen is in fact recycling (plastic and glass bottles, cardboard and tin) which has been washed and stored out of view for collection. Unfortunately the pickup which is run by a local in Port Edward had not been done before your arrival due to a broken truck. We try to do our best at Vuna Valley to conserve the beautiful environment around us and recycling is at the core. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

The leftover renovation materials which you saw were in fact materials that I use to create crafts for my curio shop. This is another way in which we recycle. I had packed it all neatly but perhaps I should have removed this from view, I will remember to next time.

I agree that running out of gas is unacceptable. We always keep spare bottles and this is something which my domestic usually checks but obviously forgot about. While it is a problem which can be sorted out in a matter of minutes, it was just plain unlucky that we ran out on a public holiday when the suppliers were closed. My sincerest apologies for this.

As for maintenance, just prior to your arrival we had the most incredible storms and rain for weeks without end. This lead to a number of maintenance problems which we tried our best to sort out before season. If you would be so kind as to email me a list of these maintenance problems and other details which need attention I will be able to attend to them immediately.

Again, my deepest apologies. Kind regards Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

After a long days drive and a very quick decision to give Vuna Valley a call, we arrived in the dark to find Vicky, absolute star of a host who made us feel really welcome. A couple of cold beers and a great nights rest later, we woke up in Paradise. Absolutely beautiful. Will definitely return and recommend guests to make a stop here. Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What an amazing place, tucked away in absolute heaven. The hosts were absolutely divine and very helpful. Our room was fantastic with the most amazing view-everything was just so beautiful and green. Our shower was indoors but with a view-absolutely exquisite! Everything was incredibly comfortable especially the beds. Tea, coffee etc in the room. Couches outside your room. Lovely swing at the bottom of the garden as well as a pool. What an amazing stay, thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Dave & Terry spare no effort or trouble to ensure your stay with them is exactly like being at home - they're both relaxed & easygoing that it makes it impossible not to enjoy everything about their breathtaking setting! Rooms are clean, comfortable and all air conditioned, so staying there for the hot months is just a pleasure. They're a stones through away from the river & kayaking is easily arranged. There's a great swimming pool & both are keen on protecting their environment & getting you out there and enjoying their area! Terry's cooking is DELICIOIUS & Dave enoys braaing. The veranda is a great spot to spend an afternoon dozing or reading, especially with the uninterrupted view of the trees, mountain across the river & you're bound to hear a monkey or two scurry across the roof! Cooking in a communal area may be a little "strange" for South Africans, but Terry & Dave have arranged the kitchen in such a way that if you end up there at the same time as another family or other visitors preparing meals, the party begins in the kitchen! All in all, you'll want to stay a night longer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druyaden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Vuna Valley is one of the best decisions we made as a group. Dave and Terry are top notch hosts and will arrange any experiences you want, you know, whatever blows your hair back. Terry makes 5 star dinners (make sure you ask her to make the mussel pot) and both are always there with a smile or a great bit of conversation. The accommodations are comfortable and more than reasonable priced. Best priced rooms in the Kwazulu-Natal.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vuna Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuna Valley

Address: PO Box 52 | Banners Rest, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Port Edward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vuna Valley is a magical place where comfort and nature meet on the banks of the majestic Umtamvuna River, on the border of Kwazulu Natal and Eastern Cape (Transkei). Here you will be forgiven for thinking (and acting) like you're at home. 5 minutes from the quaint town of Port Edward, the Wild Coast Sun casino, Wild waves waterpark and Silver beach, Vuna Valley is far enough to feel like you've escaped, yet close enough to keep your finger on the pulse. Our rooms are simple but clean and comfortable, with airconditioners and private patios with views of the gorge or the gardens. Our large entertainment area is perfect for small rustic functions or romantic dinners for two. We offer self catering, B&B or full catering options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vuna Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vuna Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.