We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory Wiltshire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Wiltshire
Save
You added The Old Rectory Wiltshire to your Saves list
Church Lane, Coulston, Westbury BA13 4NY, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Coulston)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Westbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A wonderful 2 night stay at The Old Rectory in March. We really enjoyed it. Helle and David are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble at all. Teddy the canine superstar is so sweet! The room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room with open fire. Very cosy as we watched the snow start to fall. Very helpful with tips on where to go and what to do and the best places to eat and park. So enjoyed our weekend that we are going back in June for another long weekend and rural recharge!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your very kind words, we are really looking forward to seeing you again soon and will have our fingers firmly crossed for a weekend full of sunshine for you!
Very best wishes for a lovely day.
Helle and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
79
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were so lucky to have booked this B&B as David,Helle and William are such a delightful family.The rooms were light and spacious, the breakfast was hearty and healthy. We stayed at the Old Rectory as we had a friend's wedding on the Saturday night. David and Helle were so helpful in booking taxis and recommending pubs to eat at.
I can't recommend this B and B highly enough, and think Tripadvisor should create a sixth star for those really special places. The Old Rectory would certainly earn it.

Thank you for such lovely memories and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi there all,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was super having you all here - and on top of that your amazing car gave us a lot of street credit in the village!
We hope to see you again - in the meantime have a lovely Spring (if ever it gets here).
Very best wishes from us all.
Helle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a fantastic stay. Bed was large and very comfy, breakfast very filling. The owners are extremely lovely and will go out of their way to help you. Do yourself a favour and be sure to book in for a few nights as one was not enough!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi there all,
Thank you so much for your very kind review, it was really super having you - our first Australians since we started last June! We hope you are having a fantastic trip round the UK - it certainly sounded like you were going to enjoy yourself!
Very best wishes and have an amazing time.
Helle and David (and Teddy)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our second visit to The Old Rectory. We don't normally go to places more than once as we prefer to sample different venues, however we made an exception here as our last visit was so good. What a great choice we made! As before, everything was just perfection. Helle and David are such lovely people and they cannot do enough for you. The garden is brilliant for the dogs and it is so nice to find a place where the owners are relaxed about dogs being there and they are made truly welcome (including a lovely welcome from Teddy who followed us around everywhere!). It is such a treat to stay here, everything (furnishings, food, etc, etc.) is provided for quality rather than cost. We highly recommend that if you want to treat yourself you cannot do better than to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you first of all for visiting us for the second time. As you usually choose different places, we were very honoured to have you with us again! It was lovely having you and your extremely well behaved hounds back here, I will be putting the photo of them on our blog in the near future.
We hope you are enjoying what finally looks like the onset of spring and please, do pop in for a cup of coffee or tea if you are in the area.
Very best wishes from us all.
Helle, David, William and Teddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have to add another excellent review of The Old Rectory to the many posted here. I stayed two nights and could not have felt more welcome. David and Helle and, of course, the adorable border terrier Teddy, treated me like a dear friend. The house was cozy, clean, and beautifully decorated. I absolutely loved having a perfect English breakfast by a crackling fireplace. Don't miss the breakfast smoothie! I would not hesitate to return and hope to bring my children next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking time out to write us such a lovely review. It was great having you and I trust that you had a good and safe trip back to the family in Hong Kong. I am sure the girls were very pleased to see you and hope that we will meet them if you decide to come back to Wiltshire again.
Very best wishes
Helle and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at "The Old Rectory". Helle and David and their son William are so friendly, cordial and helpful. Very nice and cosy rooms, opulent and tasty breakfast. Besides we all loved Teddy. Our dog played with him all day long in the beautiful garden. We'd love to visit "The Old Rectory" again!! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear all,
Thank you so much for your lovely review which is very much appreciated. The house felt empty when you had left after five great days here. It was lovely having you all here and seeing you enjoy yourselves playing board games in the dining room. Teddy has been missing his new best friend although he did catch up on some sleep.
We hope to see you back here at The Old Rectory Wiltshire at some stage.
Very best wishes to you all including Granny.
Helle, David, William - and Teddy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We could not fault out stay at the Old Rectory. From the moment we were greeted by David as we parked the car to the time we left feeling like we were old friends and our children requesting another booking to be made!
David, Helle and William (not forgetting Teddy the dog) made us feel like part of the family and were very attentive .Standard of cleanliness was excellent in the rooms and the little touches here and there made the trip extra special....homemade flapjacks in the room and toffees made it difficult to leave . A wonderful organic breakfast including homemade granola by Helle proved a wonderful start to the day, log fires and our hosts booking two wonderful pubs for our evening meals then on the final day pony tekking for our children. A perfect stay.

The Henry family

Room Tip: if you have mobility difficulties, there are steep stairs to the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sarah-Jane,
Thank you for your absolutely lovely review. It was great having you all here and we are so glad you enjoyed it so much. You certainly managed to cram a lot in: A day in beautiful Bath and then some successful pony trekking the following morning.
We hope we will see you back here at The Old Rectory Wiltshire before too long. I am sure Teddy will be as delighted as we.
Very best wishes for a sunny weekend.
Helle, David, William and - Teddy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory Wiltshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Wiltshire

Address: Church Lane, Coulston, Westbury BA13 4NY, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Coulston)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will get a warm welcome at The Old Rectory, a charming Georgian house situated in a quiet village in stunning countryside in rural Wiltshire, only one and a half hours train ride from London. Sightseeing include Stonehenge, Avebury, Bath, Salisbury, Wells. Houses/gardens: Longleat, Stourhead, Bowood. The Old Rectory is light, airy, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable - our aim is to make you feel at home here. The almost 2 acre garden is safely fenced in and has wisterias, old fashioned roses and a big sunny lavender lined patio to enjoy. We source the best local produce for our delicious organic breakfasts. Wonderful walking, cycling and golf on the doorstep. We welcome single travellers, groups of friends, families and well behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Wiltshire Westbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory Wiltshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.