We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal. comfy bed, hearty breakfast, friendly owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Pottery

The Old Pottery
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Pottery
18 Church Street, Westbury BA13 3BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Westbury B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ideal. comfy bed, hearty breakfast, friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I needed accomodation for one night. My only regret was that I didnt stay there the whole week. I havent slept that well in ages! Breakfast was beaut as well. I wish my house was that clean! lovely dog

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gadams20, Owner at The Old Pottery, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B.
We are pleased you had a comfortable stay,
And hopefully see you again in the near future.
Halina & Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
37
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I'm pleased I stayed here for one night in December, the weather was wet and cold but the welcome very warm. A lovely room at the front of the property and a very tasty and well cooked breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wem, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We enjoyed a one night stay at this delightful B&B, and were made to feel very welcome, in every respect. We have no hesitation in recommending the Old Pottery, and will certainly be returning ourselves, hopefully for a longer period! The owners could not have been more helpful, the room and service was excellent, and our breakfast was freshly cooked. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halinaadams, Owner at The Old Pottery, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Meanwhile have a nice Christmas.
Regards Halina and Glenn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only stopped at this delightful Westbury B&B for a quick overnighter, but would not hesitate to stay there again if in the area. The owners have put a lot of time and effort into making this former house and pottery into a lovely, comfortable and welcoming place, and made us feel welcome by showing us around.
Parking is safe and secure, the room was clean and well fitted out, (the bed was wonderfully comfortable) and breakfast was excellent with fresh, home-reared eggs.
Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: 6 stars for the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halinaadams, Owner at The Old Pottery, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for giving us such a lovely review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again when you next visit this area.
Best Regards Halina and Glenn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Springs, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Helena and Glenn opened their hearts and comfortable home to us while vacationing with close friends. They made our visit to Westbury a very special experience. Loved the service,and the meals were fantastic! Dick and Laura Schiel, Palm Springs, calif.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halinaadams, Owner at The Old Pottery, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a good time for the remainder of your holiday in the UK.
Kind regards Halina and Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed in The Old Pottery for my AOSB briefing in September and noted the following:
1. Location - Perfect location, close to the train station and short walk to Leighton House. Couple of pubs also in walking distance, Aldi, Indian, Chinese and petrol station.
2. Service - Outstanding. On hand to recommend places to eat, shop etc. Even offered to look after my revision notes for me the night after I stayed! Delightful full english in the morning, cooked to my liking at a time I requested. The owners were very friendly and helpful.
3. Clean & Comfortable - Very comfy bed, beautiful shower room, very clean room with good facilities. Comfortable guest lounge downstairs - Perfect for cramming in some last minute revision.

For those also attending the Army AOSB briefing or main board you can guarantee there will be atleast one other person there also attending which is nice to have a chat and calm eachothers nerves. I'll definitely be going back for main board.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent four nights in early July at the Old Pottery B&B. We attended a friend's wedding at All Saints Church and stayed to enjoy the surrounding countryside. The private parking out back and a great room made this spot the best choice possible. Our hosts could not have been more friendly and hospitable. The room was clean, the bathroom was spotless, and the breakfasts were delicious. Whenever we had to go out, Glenn arranged for Clive's Taxi to take us around town. The garden provided a peaceful spot to unwind and plan the next day. Halena and Glenn travel often so, they know what travellers need and expect. They are the perfect hosts.
Cheers!
Casey & Sylvia Kojima
Kingsville, Canada

Room Tip: At the time of our visit, we did not hear a negative comment from any other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Pottery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Pottery

Address: 18 Church Street, Westbury BA13 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run luxury bed and breakfast. within easy walking distance to many eating and drinking establishments.10 minute stroll to The Amy Officer selection Board.Popular with many local businesses.Just 9 miles from Longleat. Private secure car park. All rooms en-suite with flat screen TV . Tea /Coffee facilities.Hair dryers, Free WIFI . Iron available . Guest are most welcome to sit in our peaceful cottage garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Pottery Westbury, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Pottery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Pottery to your Saves list