We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Gardens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BV Borgo del Principe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BV Borgo del Principe to your Saves list
BV Borgo del Principe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Mare, 40 | Marina di Zambrone, 89868 Zambrone, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Zambrone
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The gardens were lovely and very well tended. Proximity to the sea, and private beach were excellent. Food was average with quite a limited choice. Rudimentary train service, and the train station was about a 12 minute walk fro the hotel. Would recommend the cruise to Stromboli and Lipari. Travelled in October 2014.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    40
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
73
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I stayed here in October ,& frankly wasn't expecting much, as the hotel seemed far from anywhere and 'all in' inc. wine & beer, which is rarely a good thing. we were v.pleasantly surprised;the rooms were good with good sized & secluded terraces; the surrounding gardens were lush, flower full & well maintained. the restaurant & food were v good & fresh with v. friendly staff. also good & endless wine & beer!The weather helped ,of course, and the crystal sea, & the beach massages, & the infinity pool etc etc. all in, an absolute gem. quite a few of the guests were on their second or third return visits, some as couples, some with small children (ideal for them). says it all really!..........

Room Tip: ground floor room or villa..best terraces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

My friend and I stayed here in mid September. After translating some reviews we were not expecting much but we were happily surprised. The rooms are spacious, and always well cleaned, the gardens well kept. The resort layout is such that the rooms are quiet and secluded, each with an outdoor seating area. Bathrooms nice and well stocked and towels nice and white and fluffy, almost like new every time.
The restaurant felt like hard work on the first morning but once used to it we didn't find it a problem. Breakfast was nothing special but lunch and dinner always had an excellent variety of tasty food. The staff were all very helpful and there was a good easy going atmosphere amongst them. Nico deserves a special mention as he is so loyal and wants to see the hotel do well, so puts in extra effort looking after the guests, making sure they have everything they want.
The pool was lovely and clean with ample beach loungers for everyone, and no too crowded. The sea was lovely when I ventured in and although a bit of a shelf it wasn't too bad depending on the tide.
We were on the Soft AI option which was perfect as we are not big drinkers. Transfers were well organised and comfortable. We did visit Tropea and take the island trip which we enjoyed.
Don't expect everyone to speak English - some have a limited understanding and we got by. Good wifi but only in reception. There wasn't much going on in the evenings but we didn't mind as we were there for RnR.
All I can say is - Don't be put off by the negative reviews, it is 3/4 star and more than adequate.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We loved it here. As others have mentioned, when you arrive late, there is a cold buffet meal and bottle of wine to welcome you in your room. The staff are absolutely brilliant, so friendly and accommodating. It is quite a small and intimate hotel, and you really feel made welcome by the staff, and also the other guests were really friendly. We met some very nice people.
The area is very unspoilt and peaceful. The gardens in the hotel are absolutely beautiful. We went to Tropea and Pizzo, and also went on the 3 Islands tour trip, which were all very good. All the locals we met were also really friendly and helpful.
One thing the hotel could possibly do with is a communal lounge of some sort, but as the weather was so good, this didn't matter, but if it was raining, I imagine you could feel a little trapped in your room. The trains are very intermittent, but taxis were not expensive if you team up with other guests, which several of us did. If you would like to really explore the area, you would need a car, but if you are happy to just chill on the beach and venture out occasionally, taxis/trains are fine. I would recommend bringing a pair of beach shoes, as the beach is stony near the waters edge.
The food is generally very good, although sometimes it could be luke warm if it had been out for a while. We particularly liked the pasta dishes which were really nice.
The 'soft' all inclusive works really well, we always had enough beer and wine to drink, and both were very drinkable :-)

Special thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so wonderful, especially Nico, Thomas and Mauro, and of course Chef!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offenham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from holidaying here and it was one of the best weeks we have had in Europe. The transfer from Lamezia Terme airport was around 40 minutes and we arrived at the hotel around 10.30pm. We were greeted cordially and immediately shown to our room which was a superb large family room. Two plates of cold meats, cheese, tomato bread and a bottle of wine with water and a selection of fruit were waiting for us. The location is lovely with villas in gardens running down to the dining room. pool. bar and a lovely sandy beach. The water is crystal clear, the only slight problem being that the beach becomes stoney at the waters edge so it's a good idea to have beach shoes. We were on a soft all inclusive deal which include beer and local wine - all excellent. The food was excellent using local produce and was to our liking being typically Italian.
It has only been run by the new company BV for about a year. All the staff were fantastically helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble particularly Mauro on reception and Nico in the restaurant . It's a great centre for exploring some lovely old towns and the offshore islands. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Have just returned from Borgo del Principe. We stayed at the resort in 2013 and despite some problems returned in 2014 to find it now operated by a new company BV. We returned because the hotel is located in such a beautiful part of Italy.

The location is wonderful with villas in gardens running down to the sea. In the evening the sun sets over the island of Stromboli.

Close by the towns of Tropea and Pizzo are worth a visit, but try exploring further afield to places such as Nicotera, Capo Vaticano and Serra San Bruno.

The new company has made major improvements in the restaurant with its range of food and its service, have to mention Nico, Thomas, and Francesco who were all excellent during our stay.

In addition Mauro and his team on reception were always helpful and sorted things out quickly and efficiently.

Great holiday, now the decision is whether to go back for a third time?

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I never normlly get round to writing a review but felt compelled to do so as we had such a great holiday,.On arrival there was a bottle of wine and food in our room awaiting us , a great start, especially on a late arrival. The staff went out of their way to help, nothing was too much trouble, special thanks to Nico, Thomas, Francesco, Mauro, Antoinetta and Mauro, The food was great with lots of choice , the rooms kept very clean. Hotel was modern and a great location
We will be back !!,
Nikki and Jean

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BV Borgo del Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BV Borgo del Principe

Address: Via del Mare, 40 | Marina di Zambrone, 89868 Zambrone, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Zambrone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zambrone
#3 Family Hotel in Zambrone
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Zambrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BV Borgo del Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BV Borgo del Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Del Principe Zambrone
BV Borgo Del Principe Zambrone, Italy - Calabria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BV Borgo del Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.