We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay in Brussels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Housing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Housing to your Saves list
Hotel Housing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Louis Scutenaire, Schaerbeek, Brussels 1030, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Schaerbeek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place to stay in Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. It was a great place - nice room, nice bathroom, staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good.

It can be a little difficult to find, and it's about 20 minutes or so from the main areas in Brussels. But, the price was good, and everything else was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    32
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
45
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BUCHAREST
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in Housing Brussels, and got very mixed feelings about this place....

First of all, even if i booked a double room in the hotel, i got an apartment in a nearby block of flats, managed by the same people..So be aware, the hotel has other 3 locations in the neighbourhood, except of the main building..
Managed locally, more like a family property, you get nice food for the breakfast..They also have a very nice garden where you can start your mornings...Another plus was the fact that they offer you free intl telephone for up to 10 eur/day which was good, plus fruits, soft drinks and beer from the main fridge in the kitchen during the day...
But this is where all things stops...and you have to decide what's better for you..as the place is out of the city center, you can only travel by bus from the area of the hotel...
All in all it worked for me this time, but i dont think i will stay here next time....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

During our short visit in Brussels we stayed overnight in this hotel in Schaerbeek. The experience was much beyond our expectations: the apartment was really spacious, well equipped and in all respects in impeccable order. The service was very courteous and helpful. There is a bit of a travel to the centre, but we found the location quite tranquil, pleasant and easy to cope with. We really had a good night's sleep and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am somewhat hesitant to give a positive review as I am afraid the place will be more difficult to book for me in the future :o).
As a frequent Brussels traveller I think Housing tops my list of favourite places to rest. Location for sightseeing may not be the best in class esp. if you consider the Metro being essential but if you do not mind a little walk to the big M or are not hesitant to take the bus no issue at all. Anyway, the bikes you can borrough for free at the reception will take you faster anywhere within a 3-4 km radius in Brussels traffic.
The hotel is not a classic grand hotel but appartments currently used as a hotel. Nice benefit: there is a large living space area which you share with max 3-4 other people (which you rarely see) incl a small kitchen and public PC.
The guys at the reception are great and really helpful, the free snacks and drinks should be introduced everywhere, esp in such "cheap" food cities like Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

we had a night's stay in Housing brussels .We were a group of 4 adults and 2 kids., our choice of room was Deluxe Suite - 3 bedrooms with in built wardrobes , a large bathroom with a seperate shower area , a large living area with a sofa , dining area , tv.... and fully equipped kitchen , a laundry room with washing machine and ironing facilities..and a balcony .

We would surely visit this hotel again., for its neat and clean atmosphere. On my next visit , i prefer to stay for long.... thanxs to the housing brussels team .

The Positives ;-
1. neat and clean rooms , spotless sheets , lovely bathroom with sufficient bath towels ,shower gels , shampoos ,toilet rolls.
2. excellent breakfast with free supply of soft drinks , beer ,chocolates & fruits all through the day.
3.Free Wi-Fi , secured parking .
4.thanxs to the GPS , we didn't have problem locating the Hotel.

NEGATIVES :-
1. there is just 1 small WC , for a 3 BR suite...
2. none of the bedroom doors had lock facility .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If this was a one word review then it would be: Fantastic! I arrived in Brussels late at night, found the hotel (due to the excellent instructions previously sent by hotel staff) and immediately felt at home. A hotel with a distinctive, relaxed style, great rooms, chill-out lounges, free wifi and................even free beer!!!!!!

I had a great breakfast the next morning, embraced a warm welcome from the hotel receptionists and set off to the conference I was speaking at - with a smile!

After the conference, I found one of the other speakers was staying at the hotel too, so we shared a cab back. We both agreed it was a terrific place to stay and decided to meet up in the kitchen area to take advantage of the free drinks, nibbles and snacks, before deciding where to go for a meal. My new friend had tentatively arranged to see some other friends for dinner, so she made a couple of calls to confirm, directing them to our hotel to meet up. When they arrived, the guy on reception told them to help themselves to anything they wanted too! So there we were, drinking several cans of free beer, helping ourselves to a variety of free food and having a ball. Where else would that happen? We asked each time we wanted another beer - out of politeness, but the guy at reception just said "Please, have as many as you want - we just want you to enjoy your stay here"! So in conclusion, my room was great, large, spotlessly clean, comfy bed, lovely bathroom with free wifi. The hospitality was second to none, very friendly, relaxed and it really felt homely. Oh......& did I mention free beer?!!!!!! :) I'm actually looking for an excuse to go back to Brussels - just to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The apartment is not in the main building.Is in the second floor without elevator!!!!
They didn't tell us anything about it. The breakfast was very poor and the staff was typically friendly.
I am not sure what I should write about the cleaning......
I think that 170€ per day for this apartment was toooooo much.
You can only go the the centre by bus .(line 29)
I don' t suggest this hotel if someone wants to walk in Brussels . Only if someone wants to use Brussels as a base to travel around ( Amsterdam , Luxembourg, Walibi) but not for 170€...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Housing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Housing

Address: 3 Rue Louis Scutenaire, Schaerbeek, Brussels 1030, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Schaerbeek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Schaerbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Housing 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Housing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housing Hotel Brussels
Hotel Housing Brussels, Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Housing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.