We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dame de Carreau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koekelberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dame de Carreau
Save
You added Dame de Carreau to your Saves list
Rue de l'Armistice 29, Koekelberg, Brussels 1081, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Koekelberg B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was my first stay and won't be my last . The B&B was within easy reach of the city center and Laurent and Philip made me most welcome and my stay was very relaxed. I couldn't as for a cleaner , friendly and welcoming atmosphere . Breakfast was excellent and I have learnt a little bit more about the real Brussels.Thanks for all the advice and I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After traveling for a week, I was pleasantly surprised by this B&B! I was only there for 2 nights and had little contact with the owners as I was frequently gone, but the room was AMAZING: large, comfortable, clean and was decorated with style and taste. It's very close to the subway station (might here a few trains because of this, but it's nothing too loud or annoying - just city sounds) and easy to get to. They had a nice selection of breakfast foods and coffee etc. and left fresh bread and pastries every morning! This is really a GEM of a place, especially for the money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for a week in July. In advance of our arrival, our wonderful hosts made sure we were aware that we were arriving on an important, special holiday and gave us information about how to make the most of their Independence Day festivities. Throughout our stay, they patiently answered our many questions regarding recommendations of places to go. Phillipe and Laurent were always smiling and happy to help wherever and whenever they could to make our visit to Belgium pleasant. They even called a nearby Pizzaria (La Luna's) to order for us in French! We made a day trip to Paris, and Laurent took the time to help us research and plan our itinerary. We truly were successful in seeing and enjoying Paris in a day! As the others state in their reviews, we awoke to fresh bread and pastries daily. The refrigerator was regularly stocked with meat, cheese, OJ, milk, beer, and filtered water. The rooms were comfortable, cozy, and decorated such that we felt like we were welcomed guests in a family member's home. As another example of their thoughtfulness, Phillipe printed out maps for us to find our way back to the airport, and gave us tips on how to save time with alternate routes. They are conveniently located nearby two metro stations, so we never had a need for a car. We felt truly cared for and at home here. The four of us have no question in our minds that should we be fortunate enough to visit Brussels again, we will definitely plan to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here. The info in emails provided was excellent. Not too far on the metro and easy walk from the metro station. Maps provided were very handy. Breakfast was good and the room comfy and well appointed. The pink room was great with a sitting room and toilet.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I immediately felt like home here. The rooms are so comfortable and welcoming that it took me a quite a while to get out of bed and check out the city. Laurent and Philippe are very helpful. They looked up train departure times and times of entry of museums and spas for me. Thank you so much.

Everything is thought of: there is a heater in the (rather chilling) bathroom, a private kitchen and a living room with a DVD collection. So i skipped freezing Bruxelles at night and went for "Casablanca" instead.
The hostel is perfect when you are traveling alone.

I hope to be back one day..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently and were wowed by the hospitable hosts we had, the charming decor of the rooms (Bedroom, adjoining TV room as well as the kitchen), and the close proximity to our favourite attraction - Grand Place. Dame de Carreau is only 4 metro stops away from Grand Place and is also located in a nice family-ish suburb. Our bedroom was the 'Hearts' bedroom, which was cosy and spacious, decorated in a quirky boutique hotel style. We were even welcomed with yummy Belgian truffles at our bedside upon our arrival. Our hosts, Phillip and Laurent were the most accommodating people ever. They recommended places to go to and we went to a great beer place Laurent suggested, as well as a majestic basilica that is close to Dame de Carreau. When the Eurostar was delayed due to the recent national public sector strikes, Laurent kindly arranged for us to stay one more day until the strikes were over, arranged for a cab to take us to Brussels Midi and most importantly, helped calm our frazzled nerves. There was always plenty of food in the fridge, beers and a wonderful breakfast of freshly baked breads waiting for us everyday. I'd recommend this to families, couples and people who don't speak French or Dutch because Phillip and Laurent speak perfect English and will make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This charming and comfortable B & B is the sort of place that causes major conflict: on the one hand, it is so great that you just want to sing it from the mountaintops, but on the other hand, you want it to be a secret so you'll always be able to book! Such a problem!

La Dame de Carreau is a 2 and 1/2 room B & B in the Koekelberg section of Brussels, definitely a neighborhood-in-transition, only 10 minutes from the city center, served by Brussels's excellent mass transit. We--my 16-yr. old son & me--stayed in the Pink Room with the connecting Clover Salon over the Thanksgiving holiday. This mini-suite has its own little WC, possibly the only bathroom smaller than on an airplane. I have small hands, and I could not fit both into the sink simultaneously! It is so perfect, so comfortable, and so cosy.

You will never find hosts as charming and helpful as Phillippe & Laurent. They have perfected the art of hospitality, and the world would be a better place if we could clone them. From the lovely touches like the open-kitchen policy (essential with an adolescent!), the delicious fresh pastry and breads daily, clean linens after 3 days, free WiFi, restaurant & sightseeing recommendations: the list just goes on and on.

I guess I am opting for the "sing it from the mountaintops" approach. La Dame de Carreau is a wonderful find, the kind of place you pat yourself on the back for discovering, all the while saying "ain't I the clever one.". But it's all about these two remarkable men and their wonderful house.

If only they could make it a chain..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koekelberg
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
2.3 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#4 of 196 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Leopold II
Bed and Breakfast Leopold II
#27 of 202 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Welcome To My Place
Welcome To My Place
#1 of 7 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aquarelle B&B
Aquarelle B&B
#1 of 13 in Saint-Gilles
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
3.4 mi away
Living in Brusel, Urban B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dame de Carreau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dame de Carreau

Address: Rue de l'Armistice 29, Koekelberg, Brussels 1081, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Koekelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Koekelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Dame de Carreau" offers two rooms next to the Simonis metro station. Homelike atmosphere and good tips for culture and food. Excellent « value for money » rates with self service breakfast and decreasing rates as from the 3rd night ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dame De Carreau Brussels/Koekelberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dame de Carreau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.