We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dam good Carreau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dame de Carreau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koekelberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dame de Carreau
Save
You added Dame de Carreau to your Saves list
Rue de l'Armistice 29, Koekelberg, Brussels 1081, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Koekelberg B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dam good Carreau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Overall: A really decent B+B to stay on Brussels. Value for money, high standards of quality in both facilities and management.

Rooms: Room one was well presented and clean. You could argue that having the bathroom downstairs woyuld be a problem for some people but it diddnt offend us. Also there was some slight noise from the road and railway out the front on the house - but again nothing that would ruin your stay.

Breakfast: Some fresh breads and pastries, and a help yourself attitude to the kitchen facilties made it relaxing and enjoyable experience to share with other guests.

Location: A little way out of the main centre of town, however close to a tram stop which took 5 minutes.

Management: Laurent was fantastic both during the booking stages and once we arrived, very friendly and organised which made for a pleasent and relaxed stay.

Price: Reasonable in what can be an expensive city, nicely inbeween a hostel and hotel stay price range.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I went twice to Dame de Carreau because I felt like at home. The place is clean, bed are comfortable, and fridge is always full!! Even if the bathroom of one room is outside the room, i htink the privacy is guaranteed.
Once I went with the car, and is so practical for parking and to reach the centrum/ ring road; Once I went without car and the Underground is really beside.
I know Brussels very well, I go suddenly for work, and normally the hotels are very expensive with mediocre services. So I'm really happy because I find a place at good price with all the comforts.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in the blue room and loved it, we didn't want to leave. We came to Brussels with small expectations being that it was simply a midway rest stop in between Paris and Amsterdam but wished we had spent more time there for sure.

Both Laurent and Phillipe were very helpful and friendly. No question was to obscure even where to find cheap towels (it's zeeman!). Skilled artist Laurent even drew up a map for us which we have since sold on EBay! (I Kid... But seriously Laurent has major talent!)

As previous reviewers have said La Dame is a little out of town but absolutely worth the trip and given you've a train station not even 5 minutes walk away for the quick jaunt into town I think this minor issue will become a non issue very quickly!

We stayed in the street front blue Spades room which was a delight! Tastefully decorated from top to bottom and complete with complimentary Belgian choccies upon arrival. From then on the wonderful hospitality on offer never ended until the time came to leave. The downstairs section of the property is devoted nearly entirely to it's lucky guests with a beautiful modern bathroom and breakfast area with complimentary snacks and drinks available 24/7! Just help yourself!! FYI if you happen to feel like a ham and cheese sandwich in the wee small hours.... Have at it folks!!!

Quirky in nature probably not surprising given the city's major attraction is a tiny statue of an incontinent little lad, Brussels has a lot more to offer than frites and mayonnaise so do yourself a favor and maybe spend an extra day in the Belgium capital and while there stay at Dame de Carreau. You won't find a better option for many a mile!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

5 of us stayed here for 2 nights and had a fantastic experience. Phillipe, our host, was extremely friendly and a very valuable source of information. He recommended two great restaurants in the neighborhood, both of which we went to and enjoyed. He even went above & beyond by helping us pay a parking ticket we had gotten in another part of Belgium and letting us use his printer late at night to print our boarding passes - couldn't ask for a nicer guy!

The set up is 3 rooms on one floor with a toilet, and then a full (very new and clean) bathroom downstairs along with a kitchen. Breakfast is provided, including fresh bread and pastries each day along with juice, tea, coffee, cereal, milk, yogurt, and eggs.

All three rooms are stylish and our bed was very comfortable. There were nice touches in the rooms such as Brussels guidebooks (in English!), DVDs and a TV with a DVD player.

We had a rental car and had no trouble finding free parking on the street.

The only negative about this place is that it's not the most central. On the other hand there is a metro stop (Simonis) at the end of the block, less than a 5 minute walk away. You can take the metro into the center of Brussels (Grand Place), which is about a 20 minute trip with a transfer at Gare du Midi. As it is so close to the metro the metro cars do pass by across the street and make some noise, but I am usually sensitive to noise and personally didn't find it disruptive.

This place is a great find - highly recommend it!!!!

Room Tip: Blue room bigger, pink room quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Your stay at Dame de Carreau is what you are looking for while visiting another city. Your two hosts are everything you could ask for. Laurent went out of his way to give some wonderful suggestions of places to visit while in Brussels. The Royal Palace greenhouses were open while I was in Brussels. Plilippe makes the morning visit to the local bakery for your daily fresh pastries and bread.
Their home is a short 100 yards from the metro. While only taking just a few minutes to get to the city center by the metro.
The kitchen is open all day and night, so you can get a snack at any time.
I certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We love Laurent and Philippe's place where we can come and go as we please, especially coming back in the middle of the day to rest for a bit before heading out again. This break allows us to raid their dining area as they have an open kitchen policy with various snacks and drinks abound 24/7. They're in a quieter residential area quite near the center and the metro is just a few steps away from their door. We stayed in the blue room which is pristine and the decors are modernly awesome. This room faces the street so be prepared to hear a few cars come and go at night but it didn't keep us from having a good night's sleep. Would have preferred the pink room though as this is away from the street side of the house which is quieter and has a personal toilet and access to the cozy courtyard.

The hosts are awesome and very very helpful, not to mention sweet as we even gave us bottle of wine as a gift knowing that we are there for our honeymoon. We regret not being able to touch it as my husband is allergic to alcohol (sorry Laurent!) but we really really appreciate it. We love the chocolates in the room though and are still currently enjoying the whole pack as we continue our travel.

Husband Gerald prefers to have a tv in the room but I'm glad they don't have it so I can have more kim-time :)

Definitely go to Brugge for a day trip. Thanks to Laurent for having the insight to recommend it. It definitely became one of our top 3 favorite places amongst our 15 city tour.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for three nights recently and found that it met our needs perfectly. We were welcomed warmly on the evening of the first night by Philippe who showed us around and explained about our room, the wireless internet, kitchen, breakfast, bathroom and so on.

The owners rent out two of their rooms to guests, living themselves in the upper two floors of the house. Our room was the large double room at the front of the house. The room was beautifully decorated and had a big double bed, fireplace, wardrobe, table and chairs and a chest of drawers. Chocolates, mineral water and maps had also been provided for us.

The bathroom on the floor below the guest rooms was a shared facility for the guests in both rooms, was well equipped with a good shower, and always spotlessly clean.

The kitchen is also on the ground floor. Breakfast is self-service which suited us very well. The hosts supplied fresh pastries and bread every morning, and fruit, yogurt, cheese and cold meat was provided. The kitchen was available at all times of day for access to the tea and coffee facilities. We were also able to keep some of our own items in the fridge.

The B&B is in a residential area about 10-15 minutes by metro to the city centre. The metro stop is a very short walk from the house, so very convenient for anyone visiting Brussels and wishing to sight-see in the city centre but not necessarily stay there.

Philippe and Laurent were wonderful hosts; they were both laid back and very thoughtful. We very much enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back if we are in Brussels again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dame de Carreau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dame de Carreau

Address: Rue de l'Armistice 29, Koekelberg, Brussels 1081, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Koekelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Koekelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Dame de Carreau" offers two rooms next to the Simonis metro station. Homelike atmosphere and good tips for culture and food. Excellent « value for money » rates with self service breakfast and decreasing rates as from the 3rd night ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dame De Carreau Brussels/Koekelberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dame de Carreau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.