We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Inviting B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chambres d'hotes Du Bois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vorst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambres d'hotes Du Bois
Square Larousse 22, Vorst, Brussels 1190, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Vorst B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Very Inviting B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stayed here for three nights while I looked for more permanent accommodations in Brussels. The house is lovely, with beautiful sculptures, unique architectural details, and a great selection of books in the room. It was great to come back to the quiet residential neighborhood each evening. There is a tram stop only a short walk away from the house, and the line serves the center of the city. The wifi access was very convenient. The Du Bois are warm and welcoming, and made my stay more comfortable than it would have been in a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We have stayed for 6 days at this wonderful B&B and we would highly recommend it to anyone who prefers the personal touch, character and comfort of a B&B to the bland anonymity of the hotels.

It is located in the Art Nouveau quarter, very quite area , five minutes walk from Albert metro station, from where it is easy to get to other places in the downtown area and to the airport.

The B&B itself is in a 100 year old family mansion, very tastefully decorated.
Our spacious apartment (65m2 / 700 square feet) was just marvelous and gave us so much room to spread out and feel comfortable. There is a very good and vast selection of books to read, piano to play and chairs and couches to relax.
We also enjoyed a wide selection of Belgian beers that were kindly offered to the guests. Breakfast was very nice, with bread and croissants freshly baked in the morning.

The hosts Madame Danielle and Monsieur Paul are the loveliest people. They made us feel so welcome and we felt very much at home.
Madame Du Bois have helped us tremendously when we were trying to resolve a problem we had with the car rental company. It was one of those situations when the tourist in the foreign country feels so helpless and frustrated, and when the help, understanding and care can make all the difference. Thank you!

Truly cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Just came back after 3 nights in the room 1. Actually it's an apartment! There is a large lounge with piano, sofas and 2 armchairs for relaxing, a small kitchenette with fridge (full of cans and beers - pay as you use), microwave, boiler and camp stove (some rice, pasta and so on where there on disposal I suppose, we didn't use it) and wifi internet connection.
From the photos on the website you can notice that the bathroom walls do not arrive till the ceiling, moreover it doesn't have a radiator, this means: warm water vapour goes out up of the walls and the only way to warm up the bathroom is with the radiator in the room ..this was difficult given the outside temperature, but in the summer it shouldn't be a problem. There was no handshower, thus you have 2 choices: have a bath or have a shower handholding the shower by yourself!
There is NO Television.
Breakfast was delivered from Danielle's hausband directly in our lounge, at the time we decided and with what we chose the day before. The appartment was fairly clean, but not meticulously.
It is in the art nuveau quarter, reaching the city centre takes about 30 minutes (500m on foot, 10/15 minutes bus ride Darwin-Royale, then walking to Grand Place takes about 10 minutes).
Finally we have had a good stay at a good price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Returning to the Du Bois' each evening was like coming home to our own private place in Brussels. We felt like residents of the city, not tourists! We would unlock the grand door of their home, step into the mosaic-tiled entry hall, ascend the grand wooden staircase, enter our bright and spacious chamber, sweep open the windows in the kitchen that looked out on their garden, and then gaze in, out, and around; we could listen, watch and revel in what truly seemed to be our "home." Breakfast was brought discreetly and promptly each morning, with the strength of the coffee precisely to our liking (strong)! The Du Bois were available for any and all queries, which they both welcomed and replied to with enthusiasm. They made themselves available to us, and they felt like our local "family," an authentic source of practical and cultural information. All in all, a wonderful and unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

This place is a dream! In Apt 2 (where we stayed), the views from the windows onto the back garden are beautiful. We loved to open the kitchen window in the morning and listen to the birds while we had our delicous breakfast. Sculptures of Paul DuBois decorate the house, and we enjoyed gazing upon the one in our bedroom. The building itself is lovely and has very nice gardens in both front and back. The owners, Paul and Danielle, are very friendly and smart. We hope to return to this place again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Central to Horta House, Hotel Hannon and the lovely art nouveau buildings of Brussels. Accomodation is basic but hosts are friendly and helpful. If you are on a tight budget. love art nouveau, and would like the option to self cater then this accommodation would suit you. If you are into four star hotels then this is definitely not for you.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

This is a great B&B: clean, a lovely room and sitting room (with sculptures and piano!), and incredibly good value! Also good transport links. The best budget accommodation I've yet stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chambres d'hotes Du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'hotes Du Bois

Address: Square Larousse 22, Vorst, Brussels 1190, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Vorst
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Vorst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend an unforgettable stay in one of our two rooms – bed and breakfast accommodation – located 10 minutes by underground to the center of Brussels. Our house is – bird’s eye view – 2,5km far from the city centre (Market Place) and 1,5km far from the station – Gare du Midi (Thalys and Eurostar connections). Danielle DU BOIS will welcome you with a smile in her traditional Bed & Breakfast accommodation as she is doing since 1998. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chambres D'hotes Du Bois Brussels/Vorst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambres d'hotes Du Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chambres d'hotes Du Bois to your Saves list