We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Brussels

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Brussels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Brussels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des Olympiades 6, Evere, Brussels 1140, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Evere
DOheem
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel lies on the outskirts of Brussels. The trip to the center with the bus takes a while due ti narrow roads and traffic jams. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and very clean. The staff is extremely friendly and helpfull, congrats! The internet needs some improvements (reasonable price) and parking is pretty expensive (18€). All in all, a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    138
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
25
64
23
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years, most recently in September 2013. My most recent stay was not quite as pleasant as my past stays. The hotel is very convenient to the airport, and has a paid parking garage on site as well as an area next to the hotel where I normally park for free. The hotel is in the Evere neighborhood and is within easy walking distance to a small park on one side and a neighborhood with shops and restaurants on the other. Some people have complained about the location, but I personally like the location. It is an easy walk to the bus station, which runs directly into downtown Brussels or to the airport. This mode of transport is exceedingly simple, and it is convenient. I personally hate trying to navigate Brussels traffic and then find a parking spot, which can be quite expensive.

The hotel has nice rooms that are large by a European standard. They also have many TV channels in several different languages. The hotel also has a good exercise room with cardio equipment and some weight machines. The hotel restaurant is good but pricey.

I was a bit disappointed on this particular visit, which is why I am only giving it an average rating. The hotel staff gave me some bad information about events being held in Brussels. In addition, the breakfast buffet was very limited, and the staff was not particularly helpful. They had advertised that they had eggs to order, but getting anyone's attention to make an order was difficult. The whole time I was eating breakfast, I was thinking, "How much am I paying? I feel like I am being robbed." Finally, the fire alarm went off at 3:15 AM, and the hotel did not get things sorted out until around 4:00 AM. Being awakened by an ear-splitting tone in the middle of the night was not exactly comforting. I really think the hotel should have done something to compensate their guests for the inconvenience, but they did not do so.

If my business brings me back to Brussels, I would not hesitate to stay here again. I think the positives are greater than the negatives, but the hotel does have some room to improve. Nevertheless, I like the location near the park and the close proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Always stay at this location during our annual northern European visit. Convenient to the airport but not too close,and early check-in is usually available for when you arrive on a transatlantic flight at 8am. Very extensive breakfast which is pricey (22 Euros) but there are enough deals for 50% off or included to make it worthwhile. Stay on the 5th floor or above for the quietest sleep. Also you walk through a park and pick up Bus 66 that takes you right downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfortville, France
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Basic rooms, the nice design is limited to the lobby. Beds are not the regular Marriott bedding: this is much more basic here, although same price range as the Marriott and Renaissance hotels in the center.
Very noisy on the street side. No charm. Just business. Once you there you need a car or a taxi to reach anything else, so you would need to eat at their restaurant which is of acceptable quality, but definitely not cheap.

Room Tip: Avoid street side if you come here to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

stayed in the hotel on my business assignment with local company. The experience was very mixed

Reservation process - so easy and straightforward with Marriott this time failed. It can happen but the way it was handled got something of Fawlty Towers air in it. At first the hotel suggested that my cc limit is not enough to make a payment ... Then that they going to cancel my reservation. After my little investigation with amex it become clear that the hotel attempted some unknown card instead of mine. This continued for a few days. All together booking issue was the subject of the day in my mailbox for over a week.

Reception staff was most welcoming and nice but still provided inaccurate information about shuttle bus pickup location. They say it is level 0 ... yes ... it is if you are lucky to be near the only one elevator which goes there. All others do not go below level 2 and got level 0 marked as staff only. I did try to clarify if I am in the right part of the airport over the phone but it did not work.

Shuttle bus is free but ... only one way, you are expect to pay for return. A driver welcomes you with confused: "It is me!" then starts to question your citizenship, your family situation and travel arrangements. Perhaps I am oversensitive here but it is not a sort of information I am willing to share to every person I see first time in my life. On my refusal to provide such information I was treated with "I am so offended" pose and declaration that I am trouble. I was unsure what to expect after such statement and felt that additional security measures during my stay are in order.

On positive note: restaurant staff was most welcoming and competent. Assigned room was nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

stayed here for an evening on our last night in brussels because the website said there was an airport shuttle---site does not tell you there is an eight euro charge for each person in the van and it only seats seven people so if there is no room you must leave 40 minutes earlier. also on our van trip the driver dropped passengers at two separate places on the way to the airport, not a big deal but another little surprise. Water from their store was 2.50 euros for a small bottle.

room smelled terrible and ac could not be adjusted---shower was super though

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay here vs an airport hotel right at the airport. Much quieter, a short 15 minute drive to Brussels Centrum where we spent the final day before departing home. Very surprised by the lobby and lobby restaurant quality of food and the nice outside bar. The front staff at check in we're phenomenal, we arrived early and it was all looked after. Underground parking. Rooms smallish but that's expected from a Courtyard, and were quiet and comfortable. A nice final stay for our family trip to Europe.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Brussels

Address: Avenue des Olympiades 6, Evere, Brussels 1140, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Evere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Evere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Brussels 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brussels, the capital of Europe, is a stunning destination for business travel. The Courtyard Brussels, one of the finest business hotels in Brussels, is perfectly located in Upper Town, minutes from the airport and downtown. NATO headquarters, Toyota Europe, 3M, SAP, ExxonMobil and other corporations are within 1 mile. As you step into our warm, sophisticated lobby, our knowledgeable personnel are at your service. Wireless high-speed Internet is available in all public areas and our 13 meeting rooms. Our modern business center features computers and a printer. Your guest room, stylishly furnished and bathed in natural light, offers a work desk with wired high-speed Internet, two-line phone and voice mail. Our new luxury bedding enhances your stay, along with satellite TV, mini-fridge and laptop-sized safe. Relax at our elegant Zinc Bar & Brasserie, and keep stress at bay in our 24-hour fitness center with sauna as you enjoy a productive stay in Belgium's premier city at our 4-star Brussels hotel near NATO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Brussels Hotel Evere
Courtyard Brussels
Brussels Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Brussels Belgium

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.