We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in European Quarters of Brussels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Brussels Europe

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Brussels Europe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Brussels Europe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Jourdan 1, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Etterbeek
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in European Quarters of Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

The Sofitel Brussels Europe is located in near the European institutions, 4 stops on the Metro from central station.

We stayed on the 7th floor of the hotel where we enjoyed a large sized modern room with a nice view of the European Parliament. The in room facilities included espresso maker, complimentary water and a decent sized fridge, large flat screen tv and bathrobe and slippers provided.

The bathroom is of a good size with a two person bath. The window between the bedroom and bath is frosted and lets nice light into the bathroom. Nice quality shampoo and shower gel provided. Luxurious fittings and nice natural slate stone floor in the bathroom.

In the basement of the hotel is a decent sized gym with modern equipment as well as a hamman (Turkish bath), both which are free of charge.

We also dined in the restaurant of the hotel, Spuds. A bit of hit and miss, part of the meal very good others courses less memorable. Breakfast can be a bit steep (25 euro/person) unless included in weekend deal.

On Sundays there is a nice market in the square in front of hotel.

The 7th floor of the hotel has a nice roof terrace for sitting out.

Overall a great hotel, we will be staying here next time when we're in Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    690
    272
    40
    15
    11
See reviews for
104
443
107
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

This is walking distance from the Schuman metro stop, which is a few stops distance from Brussels Zuid (Midi) or Central.

There is a Sunday market in front of the hotel, and there was loud music being played in a mini-carnival as well. The noise did not disturb us in our room, it was barely audible. Parking is limited in front of the hotel. There are many restaurants around in the main Europe square. The hotel itself is superb, one of the best I have stayed in, in Europe, even by Sofitel standards. The architecture and the interior design is very modern. We had a standard Sofitel Guestroom. The bathroom was huge, with a range of premium french toiletries and a strong shower with two showerheads (one movable, the other overhead). There was a complimentary coffee/tea, and bottle of water, premium Belgian chocolates from the Neuhaus shop in the hotel every night, and other nice touches which we have never experienced before. The checkin and checkout was amazingly fast. This raised our expectations for the Sofitel in Amsterdam, which unfortunately were not met. We had breakfast at the Ibis Off Grand'Place, which is good value compared to the other options in the city and at the hotel.

I was on a special travel agent rate, but the very high prices for this hotel are probably justified, given the price of similar hotels in Brussels.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

i stayed here for just one night and loved everything about the hotel. Comfortable large rooms, the best shower in the world and a fabulous breakfast.

Staff are helpful too.

Would reccomend for business or personal.

  • Liked — welcoming beds!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, VA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

I frequent this hotel for business. I stay about 4 times a year. The hotel is in a great location and close to the metro and government buildings. The location is close within walking distance of an assortment of restaurants and tourist sites. The rooms are small but very modern and comfortable. The rooms have primarily twin beds with great linens and pillows, and flat screen TV. Room service is ok. Restaurant quite expensive. over 20+ euro.for breakfast. I prefer the lovely store across the street which has everything you could want including warm food, cheeses, bread, fresh fruit and vegetables ready to eat. The hotel has a nice fitness center,, but only one treadmill. Only down side is the shower has a tinted glass wall that faces the sleeping area and you can see through the glass when someone is showering.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — glass showers and expensive breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

Stayed at the excellent Sofitel Europe on a business trip in February.

The hotel is attached to the Albert Borschette Conference Centre which makes it the perfect place to stay if you have a conference to attend.

- Rooms are large, modern and well lit.
- Beds (Sofitel "SoBed") are extremely comfortable with their thick feather under-duvets.
- Large, powerful walk-in shower, decent toiletries (the Jean Marie Farina range by Roger & Gallet) and a thick robe made showering feel almost like spa luxury.
- Staff were very helpful and efficient.

Can't comment on the food as I didn't use the restaurant, howevere I did try a few places in Place Jourdan:

"L'Esprit de Sel Brasserie", 52 Place Jourdan - a classic Belgian brasserie with excellent food and a non-touristy feel to it. Meals about €30.

"Maison Antoine" (Place Jourdan) is probably the most famous french fries stand in Belgium. Frites are twice fried - first blanched at a low temperature and then, when ordered, finish fried to a crisp golden brown, one order at a time. Traditionally they topped with a glob of mayonaise, which works fine, but other sauces are usually available.

You can get some excellent weekend rates at the Sofitel, and I would not hesitate to stay here if I were to return for a tourist trip, despite the location being a litle far from the Grande Place.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

We stayed at the Sofitel for the weekend in early February. The hotel is ultra modern and very comfortable.

We only paid £90 for the room bed and breakfast which was a bargain, but the hotel didn't seem to be full when we were there.

The rooms were exactly as shown on the website. Ask for one overlooking the square. It's a nice view and not much noise comes in if you're high up. Bed was big and the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Room was spacious wih big LCD TV that also showed a selection of UK channels.

Our bathroom had a really powerful shower and a separate bath, but some have shower only.

Nice extras like free Perrier, complimentary box of chocolates from the chocolatier next door.

Breakfast was excellent with wide choice, Ask for the omellettes which are special order.

The hotel is perhaps 20 minute walk from the Grand Place (10 Euro in taxi), but it is at the end of a lovely square full of locals. Here there are some good restaurants and patisseries. However the stand out attraction is Antoinnes, a famous cabin selling the best french fries in Brussels. Depending on the time of day you may need to wait a while as it's so popular, but at only 2 Euro for a massive portion you'll be back there more than once. Just next to it is a really good bar called Chez Bernard. Service was great and it was always full of a good cross selection of locals with a great atmosphere. Best of all, you could take in your fries and enjoy them with some beer!

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

Excellent location for the European district - walkable / metro for elsewhere. Located on a little square with handy shops and restaraunts.

Friendly welcome on late arrival.

Incredibly comfortable and clean and well kept room, enormous flat screen telly, briliant bathroom with 2 showers - but no bath. Most comfy bed EVER. Prompt late room service meal - reasonable but not great food. Then the best night's sleep I had had in a while - I did hear the odd noise from outside as my room was one of those facing the square but nothing disturbing. Breakfast - expensive at 20 euros but a good choice and good coffee - fine if it is on expenses, otherwise plenty of places just outside the door to pick something up. Smooth checkout.

Would definitely visit again, for leisure or for business.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Brussels Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brussels Europe

Address: Place Jourdan 1, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brussels Europe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the European quarter, Sofitel Brussels Europe is a truly elegant Brussels Belgium hotel - just a short walk from the European institutions. Enjoy gracious hospitality within our Brussels hotel accommodations, which sit on the colorful Jourdan Place - at the doorstep of the peaceful Leopold Park, near the museums of Cinquantenaire Park and the exceptional Félix Hap garden. The Grand Place is a few minutes from our Brussels city center hotel via metro or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Brussels Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brussels Europe Hotel Etterbeek
Accor Brussels Europe
Brussels Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Brussels Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.