We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Brussels Europe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Brussels Europe to your Saves list
Sofitel Brussels Europe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Jourdan 1, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
cardiff
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Classy Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

the hotel was a bit out of the way from Brussells city centre & we were there in late March when there was heavy snow. However, there is a lovely square directly outside the hotel, with bars, bakeries & the best 'Frites' in Belguim.

The Tube is about 5/10 minutes away & that will take you into the city centre & beyond. We went to Bruge for the day & it was quite easy to get to the main train station. Unfortunately there was main building work going on & climbing 4 flights of stairs with a pushchair was hard going.

The hotel was lovely & one of the nicest rooms that i have stayed in & the staff were all friendly. They also put a travel cot for our baby & gave a free toy, which was a nice touch. Never had breakfast because it seemed expensive & there are some amazing bakeries nearby. Plus a fantastic market on a Sunday where you can buy all types of bread, cheeses & olives ..... yum yum

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathapongL, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear CardiffBluebird77,

It is a great pleasure to read that you were able to enjoy a nice stay with us especially when you have mentioned

Your wonderful comments will be shared with the department concerned, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you very much for sharing the comments on the Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you again in the heart of Brussels

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    293
    42
    15
    15
See reviews for
114
488
110
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

this 5 night stay was seamless. Smooth and quick check-in and check-out, and very helpful and knowledgeable concierge. Rooms are typically "European" size, not large by comparison to North Aerica or Asia/Australia standards, but well appointed and kept scrupulously clean. The immediate location is great with many bars and local restaurants to choose from. Prices are certainly not in the budget range, but that is to be expected with this standard of property.

The bar area of the hotel is great and the high standards of servcie are in evidence here too.

Whilst the physical property is important, it is the staff that set the great ones apart, and this is the case for this hotel.

Would not hesitate to stay again or to recomend.

Room Tip: Those facing the European Parliament have great views and sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervé D, Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear De_Chook,

It’s always a real pleasure for u to known that you have spent a nice first stay with us. We would like to thank you for your time and your constructive comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Brussels Europe.

We appreciate a lot your comment and it’s pleasant for us to known these details. We would like to inform you that we are working to further improve the quality every day in our hotel.

Your loyalty and encouraging comments are a great motivation and give us even more enthusiasm on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests. It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our satisfied guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of our staff, as we strive continuously to reach excellence.

We guarantee you that your experience in our Hotel is providing us with relevant additional guest comprehension and experience. We remain at your entire disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent and truly unforgettable.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another Sofitel experience.

Sincerely,

Hervé Deniau
Assistant Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stay three nights at the Sofitel with a friend in May. As we wanted shopping and nightlife, we found the hotel to be a bit out of the way - that said the area is nice and a friendly neighboorhood, and easy to get into the center by taxi or metro.

I would highly reccomend the bakery Paul for breakfast - on the way to the metro.

The service was brilliant! Got a free upgrade without asking and had a wonderful room on the top floor. Were good internet connection - free of charge.

On depature, Gulnaz and Kane in the reception did everything they could to help me as I needed to print some documents. They were extremly helpful.

Hope to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervé D, Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Nillisi,

We are happy to see that you have spent a nice first stay with us. We would like to thank you for your time and your constructive comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Brussels Europe.

We would like to thank you very much to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate a lot your comment and it’s pleasant for us to known these details. We would like to inform you that we are working to further improve the quality every day in our hotel.

Your loyalty and encouraging comments are a great motivation and give us even more enthusiasm on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests. It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our satisfied guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of our staff, as we strive continuously to reach excellence. We have to share your thanks to all and especially to our two employees cited : Gulnaz and Kane.

We guarantee you that your experience in our Hotel is providing us with relevant additional guest comprehension and experience. We remain at your entire disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent and truly unforgettable.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another Sofitel experience.

Sincerely,

Hervé Deniau
Assistant Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had not been in Sofitel for a few months and even though i stayed in some fantastic hotels recently my feeling was that i missed the consistency in everything beeing nearly perfect. My recent stay just remind me that it is possible to enter a hotel and feel wecomed as well as feeling you are in aspecial place.
The room had everything you can possible need and feel comfotable to stay in it...the room service prompt...the bar with a great atmosphere and my favorite the breakfast...
I have not found another hotel to be consistently excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathapongL, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Panosksussex,

Thank you for your continued loyalty and once again your wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Brussels Europe.

I totally agree with you that the consistency of the service and room condition is the most challening objective that every single hotel needs to work hard in order to avoid any unexpected circumtances and to make sure that our guests have a most comfortable stay.

We are really happy to hear that our efforts are paid by your compliments. Please rest assured that your comments wil be shared to every hotel staffs, departments concerned and the rest of the management team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future for another Sofitel Experience. Please let me know via nathapong.laorvong@sofitel.com, should I be any of your assistance.

Best regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and wasn't dissapointed.

Location is not in the centre of the city - it's a 5 minute walk to Schuman Metro station which is 4 stops from Grand Place on lines 1 or 5, or it's a 30 minute walk into the centre down one street (Rue Belliard or Rue de la Loi). Metro now costs 2 euros per trip or 13.50 euros for 10 trips.

The location at Place Jourdan however is nice, a few restaurants and bars around the square, La Madonna (Italian), Bois Savanes (Thai, on Rue Froissart) and 13 Degres (wine bar) to mention a few that I'd definitely recommend. Maison Friterie Antoine in the square is also well worth a visit for great chips. There is also a market in Place Jourdan on a Sunday selling fresh food and bric-a-brac type stalls.

The hotel itself is typical of a Sofitel - very smart and modern in all public and private areas. Everywhere was always clean and very nice smelling. Nice touches in the room were L'Occitane toiletries, free bottled water (still and sparkling) and Neuhaus chocolates each evening. The selection of teas was also good. The hotel does have a restaurant and bar area but we didn't use either of those. The rooms themselves were large, with very comfortable beds, large flatscreen TV, and Bose sound system (with iPod doc).The hotel staff were all very friendly, from check in, cleaners, bellboys and concierge.

If the your room rate doesn't include breakfast, good options in the area are Paul Patisserie (on Rue Froissart) and Au Vatel (on Place Jourdan) - both serving very nice baguettes, croissants, cakes, pastries etc. And of course, delicious macaroons.

Would definitely recommend the hotel to all, for both business and pleasure. One tip for travel to/from the International airport, bus number 12 leaves from Schuman station, takes just 30 minutes and costs only 4 euros if the ticket is purchased in advance from the machine (6 euros is bought on the bus).

Another tip - visit neighbouring cities Bruges and Antwerp. Both have direct trains from Gare Central at very reasonable fares, especially at weekends (14.80 euros to Bruges return and 8 euros to Antwerp return) - both great picturesque cities with lots of individual character.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathapongL, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear ItchyFeeet,

We love your username!!!

It seems to me that you have well explored the city and the area where the hotel is located. You've got all the talk-of-the-town area reputation.

To get to the Grand place is very easy and only 2 EUR a metro ticket which is valid an hour. Plenty of the brasseries and restaurant on the Jourdan Square . I hope that you had an opportunity to give a taste the fries at the most famous fries shop in the city especially when you mentioned it

Regarding the room comfort and condition, our Housekeeping team is keeping on working hard in maintaining the most possible comfort and cleanliness as we could in order to make sure our guests have a most comfortable stay. Kindly informed that soon we will place the Hermès Toiletteries in every room categories. Give it a try for your return visit

Since I noticed that you have so many useful information especially how to get to the airport, to visit Bruges and Antwerp. Our conceirge team has also a pelasure to serve you for any queries at any time which you may require.

I thank you once again for sharing your stay experience on the Trip advisor.

Looking forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Sofitel meets the expectations of it as a chain. Rooms are nice sized, as are the bathrooms. Always clean and neat. There are a couple of things, for the price, that earn it an average rating. First is location: it's near most European Union building, so very convenient for business. But it's a little bit distant from the center of Brussels, without a metro particularly close. That brings me to the biggest downside: getting a taxi from here is almost always problematic. They don't queue up like some of the larger hotels in town (e.g., Conrad), and the front desk always seems busy and has difficulty getting taxis to come unless you book far in advance. It's particularly bad whenever it rains, which in Brussels is of course nearly every day during winter and spring. Second problem: Wi-Fi is terrible in many rooms, frequently not working at all. Lower floors seem better than upper, but even after complaining on multiple trips they haven't solved the problem. For 300+ euro, there are better options. Best thing about the hotel: the best frites in the world are sold from a stand in the square out front.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathapongL, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Mr CJMAT,

Thank you for having chosen the Sofitel Brussels Europe.

Your feedback is a real asset which we could look back in order to dig up what we may have been wrong and will allow us to work harder and harder in order to get things back in the right places.

I am sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectation expecially when you mentioned that you have paid pretty high. Kindly be informed that the hotel is situated in the European Commission and Parliament neighbourhood which means when there is the EU summit or activities around the area, the hotel occupancy goes up easily, including the room rate which is related to the hotel occupancy. I may recommend you to contact me via nathapong.laorvong@sofitel.com soon you know when will be your potential return trip in order to guarantee you the best available rate.

Regarding the Taxi service, as we have realized our guest's security and convenience. We have been working with a taxi company where we could trace up in case of there is any unforeseen situation such as the loss of the wallet or cellphone and the taxi's driver's behavior. We hence donot recommend our guests to catch the taxis by themselves and the taxi booking which is provided by our 24-hour conciergerie is always recommended.

Especiallty when there are important activites happening the the city, it would be sometimes very difficult even to catch one in front of the hotel.

Kindly be informed that our Chief engineering and the rest of management team are aware of the internet issue, the action plan has been put in place urgently and we do sincerely hope that all will get sorted in these coming months. I thank you once again for a constructive information.

Shall your business bring you back, please donot hesitate to let me know for any further assistance or the room reservation. We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Brussels Europe again inthe near future

Kind regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip to Brussels and loved this hotel for it's stylish rooms and wonderful views (I was on the 7th floor). The hotel also has a fabulous roof terrace that unfortunately I was too busy to take advantage of.
Rooms were modern without being stark, the bed was super comfortable and the breakfast good. Staff were pleasant and efficient. I am sad it was such a frantic trip and I didn't really have the time to appreciate it all a little more. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Fabulous views from up on the 7th floor (facing outwards).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathapongL, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear HolidayMum63,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Brussels Europe. It's a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay among us especialy once it concerns the room comfort, the services and the breakfast.

I sincerely guarantee you that we will keep on trying out utmost in making sure of every single stays from every guest are treated as it should be, we will work even harder in order to improve our weakness.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Brussels Europe in sooner. Please do not hesitate to let me via nathapong.laorvong@sofitel.com for all kind of arrangement shall your business or leisure plan bring you back to Brussels.

Kind regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Brussels Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brussels Europe

Address: Place Jourdan 1, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brussels Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the European quarter, Sofitel Brussels Europe is a truly elegant Brussels Belgium hotel - just a short walk from the European institutions. Enjoy gracious hospitality within our Brussels hotel accommodations, which sit on the colorful Jourdan Place - at the doorstep of the peaceful Leopold Park, near the museums of Cinquantenaire Park and the exceptional Félix Hap garden. The Grand Place is a few minutes from our Brussels city center hotel via metro or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Brussels Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brussels Europe Hotel Etterbeek
Accor Brussels Europe
Brussels Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Brussels Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.