We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a nice location. Solid 4.5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Brussels Europe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Brussels Europe to your Saves list
Sofitel Brussels Europe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Jourdan 1, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a nice location. Solid 4.5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location near EU buildings. It is about 4 metro stops away from the centre of town. I wouldn't have wanted to stay in the centre anyway as too busy and touristy. Room was nice (standard room). Quite large with a Bose radio and blackout curtains. Turndown service every evening with chocolates on the pillow! The bed and pillows were very comfortable and I slept very well. Nice tea selection in the room but no black tea for some reason.

The Shower was weak and water temperature variable so that was disappointing. But bathroom is good size and you get Hermes toiletries.

One of the nicer hotels I have stayed in but I am not sure i would call it a "luxury" hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mrs Simlan18,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Brussels Europe

It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our contented guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of our staff as we strive continuously to reach excellence.

We would like to thank you your constructive comments regarding the water temperature. Kindly be assured that your comments are shared to the department concerned and the rest of the management in order to avoid such reoccurence in the future

We thank you for recommending TripAdvisor travellers to come over to the hotel. Our whole team look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    292
    41
    15
    15
See reviews for
114
481
110
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is nice and the staff are really nice and warm.

When I arrived, I was told that there is an open-market during weekend outside the hotel and started from 4-5am. To avoid the disturbance of my sleeping, they upgraded my room to another side without paying more. This is really nice and careful thinking for the customer. Therefore, I really have a very nice stay and good sleep during my stay over the weekend.

If I will travel back to Brussels, I will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear DoctorYoYo,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice comments and feedback about our hotel on tripadvisor.

It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our contented guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of our staff as we strive continuously to reach excellence.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels

Kind regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Sofitel Brussels Europe is a great hotel in a great location. When having business with the EU institutions the hotel gives great proximity to main areas of the EU quarter (Rond Point Schuman, European Parliament, European Commission) and at the same it is located in an interesting Brussels place called Place Jourdan, which is home to the best friterie in Brussels - Chez Antoine (french fries outlet, which as Belgians like to say origin in Belgium) and also to weekend local fruit and vegetable market. A good combination of EU and typically Brussels flavour. Services proveded were superb including free Wifi or a fitness room.
I took benefit of special offer - 100 EUR per night (available for night from Sunday to Monday). The price was great taking into account the level of service offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Ondrej_13,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice comments and feedback about our hotel on tripadvisor

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, especially with our service quality, the staff, location and the comfort in the room. Our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for antoher Sofitel Brussels in the near future

Kind regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Really nice rooms, slightly far from the centre of Brussels but good for the Euro Parliament. The Place Jourdain just outside has the best chips in Belgium.
Prices are very expensive during the week, but excellent value at weekends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mr DC56,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience on the Trip advisor forum.

It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our contented guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of our staff as we strive continuously to reach excellence.

You are absolutely right. As we are located just in the heart of the European Commission and European neigborhood, the room rate during the week hence then pretty much higher than the ones in the weekend. Most of the time, you could find easily the highly competitive room rate or/and the package during the holiday periods. So please keep an eye on it.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Brussels Europe for another Sofitel Experience in the near future.

Happy Easter.

Kind regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A little too far from the Grand Place but the amenities and the hotel itself were quite nice.

The concierge was helpful but we really blew it on the tour bus in Brussels because the tour didn't start till 10 am and the last bus was at 3 pm. We ended up getting off at the Grand Place at noon and by the time we were ready to get back on the bus, the bus had stopped running. Not the Sofitel's issue, but I wished the concirge had told me about the times that the bus ran.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your time and your constructive comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Brussels Europe

I'm sorry to hear that your tour which was recommended by our coniergedid not live up to your expectation. Kindly be informed that a complaint letter is signed and sent by myself to the company in order to be out aware. Hopefully, they will make their utmost to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

Please accpet our most sincere apologies even though we could not control the situation as you have mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another Sofitel Experience.

Kind regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Salvador
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on a square about 5 minutes walk from schuman metro stop. The square has about 10th different restaurants to choose between. The hotel rooms are clean and modern but breakfast is expensive. I would recommend having breakfast at a nearby cafe or even buying from carrefour across the road.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear me_not_likey,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sofitel Brussels Europe

Even though, you have considered the price of our breakfast or the price list in our restaurant "BE Café marché jourdan" is pretty high. We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, especially with our service quality, the staff, location and the comfort in the room. Our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.

I have noted your comment in regards to the price of our Breakfast. Kindly be informed that we have made an analysis of the hotels on the similar category in Brussels area, our rate stays the most competitive one which has not been amended since last three years.

We aim to provide our local and international guests the variety of choice, fresh and seasonal products. There are several options which are offered such as à la carte, express breakfast at 15eur the continental one at 23eur and the buffet one at 28eur only

Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide our valued guest a memorable experience. I thus thank you again for having shared us your experience

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another Sofitel experience

Kind regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Absolutely fabulous! Charming lobby, very professional staff and service - although I do not like big hotel chains this particular place is just adorable (perhaps they just might ease on the air refresher, it's killing the noses).

The room is big enough, has WiFi, I especially liked the bed/mattress/bed linen - all of them extremely comfortable. I liked the spacious bathroom and the big shower. Surprisingly small wardrobe.

The breakfast is just delicious, big choice and all fresh and tasty looking, but it was highly overpriced. If included in the room price - you won't regret, if not - it's better to go to Exki which is close enough.

Breakfast was great but the cocktails - in the hotel's very comfortable bar - just perfect. I honestly have never tried such a good cocktails! Both, their own champagne based cocktails as well as classics were just perfect. Nice choice of wine and beer, as well as tasty finger food. To be fair the prices are really high, but it's worth to pay more for such a good cocktails. i shall come back there even if I won't be staying at Sofitel. Really professional and friendly waitress/bartender. Divine Irish coffee.

This is the best hotel near to the Commission's building/Schuman. And I saw/tried many of them in previous year. I highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to sleep there in a couple of weeks again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear me_not_likey,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sofitel Brussels Europe.

We are happy to see that you have spent a nice stay with us. Your loyalty and encouraging comments are a great motivation and give us even more enthusiasm on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests.

I have noted your comment in regards to the price of our Breakfast. Kindly be informed that we have made an analysis of the hotels on the similar category in Brussels area, our rate stays the most competitive one which has not been amended since last three years.

We aim to provide our local and international guests the variety of choice, fresh and seasonal products. There are several options which are offered such as à la carte, express breakfast at 15eur the continental one at 23eur and the buffet one at 28eur only

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another Sofitel experience

Kind regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Brussels Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brussels Europe

Address: Place Jourdan 1, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brussels Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the European quarter, Sofitel Brussels Europe is a truly elegant Brussels Belgium hotel - just a short walk from the European institutions. Enjoy gracious hospitality within our Brussels hotel accommodations, which sit on the colorful Jourdan Place - at the doorstep of the peaceful Leopold Park, near the museums of Cinquantenaire Park and the exceptional Félix Hap garden. The Grand Place is a few minutes from our Brussels city center hotel via metro or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Splendia, Venere, getaroom.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Brussels Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brussels Europe Hotel Etterbeek
Accor Brussels Europe
Brussels Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Brussels Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.