We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel hotels - breakfast order all or nothing. I just wanted one thing but guess that was a bit too complicated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Brussels Europe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Brussels Europe to your Saves list
Sofitel Brussels Europe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Jourdan 1, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sofitel hotels - breakfast order all or nothing. I just wanted one thing but guess that was a bit too complicated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I went to this branch having stayed at Sofitel previously in another country. Before I give any watch out for tips, I would like to say that the hotel and the rooms are just what you would expect from Sofitel.
Here goes:

Breakfast - its all or nothing. We wanted to order just a couple of things from the menu. It does say that you can order an intercontinental or american breakie and to select the options. We made a note saying what items we wanted on our room service form. In the morning we got delivered 3/4 of the intercontinental breakfast. We explained what it was that we ordered and asked for the rest of the items to be taken back. However the concept of toast wasn't even on offer. Really. When checking out, I noticed they decided to spread the cost of the intercontinental breakfast by charging 14 euros for a single glass of orange juice. I picked up on this and asked where they actually buy such expensive oranges from. To be honest, I would have appreciated some gesture towards the inconvenience we experienced that morning at breakfast not actually receiving what we ordered and having to explain to the room service assistant, bearing in mind we dont speak French well at all.

There is no dedicated or any taxi guaranteed to be waiting outside the hotel but you can ask the concierge and they will call one for you. Personally I dont see the harm in keeping one taxi always at hand for such a big brand hotel. Check the standard of the taxi if your keeping public taxi's outside. The taxi we got in was atrotious. We had to take it as we were heading to Brussels midi to head back home. The driver kept no space behind his seat so we were completely squashed at the back.

Every hotel I have been to has movies on order by demand. This one did not. Luckily they did provide us with a dvd player when we asked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervé D, Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your time and your constructive comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Brussels Europe.

We are happy to see that you have spent a nice stay with us. Your loyalty and encouraging comments are a great motivation and give us even more enthusiasm on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests. It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our satisfied guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of our staff as we strive continuously to reach excellence.

We appreciate a lot your comment and it’s pleasant for us to known these details. We would like to inform you that we propose different breakfasts: Café Croissant 15€, Continental Breakfast at 23€, American Breakfast at 28€, and “A la carte” breakfast. Some products are “A la carte” actually. Compare to other 5 stars hotels in Brussels prices much competitive.

We guarantee you that your experience in our Hotel is providing us with relevant additional guest comprehension and experience. We remain at your entire disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent and truly unforgettable.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another Sofitel experience.

Sincerely,

Hervé Deniau
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    293
    42
    15
    15
See reviews for
114
488
110
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had decided to make a stopover in Brussels in advance of travel on a Viking River Cruise out of Amsterdam; never having been to Brussels before we were not sure what to expect, As to the hotel itself, it did not disappoint; it is relatively new and clean, everything about the place was certainly good. The rooms are just fine and well appointed. For those who happen to be early risers, the hotel puts out a coffee service very early in the morning, principally to accomodate the flight crews from various airlines that frequent the establishment, but no one objected to our making use of the service. There are many restaurants and cafes in the square adjacent to the hotel and we took full advantage of these. Although it can be a bit of a hike to some of the attractions in Brussels (e.g. Grand Place) it is certainly doable and will give you the opportunity to see some of the city. Brussels, by the way, is just another city unless you can find your way to the Grand Place which is the main tourist attraction. We took advantage of the opportunity to travel to Bruges while we were there; all in all, fairly easy to get around once you get your bearings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervé D, Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your time and your constructive comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Brussels Europe.

We are happy to see that you have spent a nice stay with us. Your loyalty and encouraging comments are a great motivation and give us even more enthusiasm on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests. It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our satisfied guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of our staff as we strive continuously to reach excellence.

We guarantee you that your experience in our Hotel is providing us with relevant additional guest comprehension and experience. We remain at your entire disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent and truly unforgettable.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another Sofitel experience.

Sincerely,

Hervé Deniau
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Expensive...which I don't have a problem with because that's what I wanted, but what you pay for isnt all that great, yes the room is very clean along with the rest of the hotel, bed was comfortable...my girlfriend really liked the blanket! The bathroom was nice except for the door, it really didn't shut because it was frosted glass and too big, if you choose to have breakfast it's 14 euro a person and it didn't really look all that great so we decided to go to a bakery across the street. If you use the hotel bar be ready to pay a good amount per drink...just a normal Jack Daniels and Coke costs 12 Euro...so again we decided to go to the local bars across the street. Parking was a little hectic across the street, so we decided to park the car at the 100pl parking 200m up the road (you can't miss the signs), and this was fairly cheap for the weekend around 40 Euro. Now let me say that I was a little annoyed with the hotel staff, they never cleaned the room and didn't offer to clean it till 4:30 p.m....and that was a phone call. They did call a second time to see if everything was ok which I thought was weird, I mean we could have been napping so why call to see if things Are ok....if they arnt we would call. My last tid bit of information is that if you book this hotel online, be ready when you check out to pay a "City Tax"...which is 6 euro per day..not bad, but unexpected. Overall it was an alright hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Brussels Europe

All guest correspondence is read with true interest and all matters are shared with our management team with the aim of improving the services we offer. Therefore we thank you for your constructive comments, suggestions and truly apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us

We regret to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet with your expectations. Please rest assured that your views have been forwarded to the departments concerned and will be taken into consideration

Kindly be informed that a courtesy call is taken care by our receptionist in order to make sure that every requests are responded straight away and we would like to know whether there is anything else we could assist with and the city tax is applicable to every hotel in Belgium since January 2012

We would like to thank you for choosing the “Sofitel Brussels Europe” for your stay in Brussels and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future

Best regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for four days. Staff were very helpful and were able to give advice on travel. What made this hotel superb was the location, there were many bars, cafes and restaurants in Place de Jourdan just outside the hotel. We had a room that overlooked the square and it was fab. Metro was nearby that took you up to central where many of the historic sites are, two stops. Hotel was immaculate and has a Bose sound system, great place to relax after a day of sightseeing. We travelled to Antwerp for the day only 45 minutes by train - great value only eight euros return.

I would definitely return to the Sofital, I forgot to mention the coffee maker and the restaurant in the hotel and the fantastic beds. Also a market on Sunday where locals shop and the little supermarket. It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear M&Ben,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sofitel Brussels Europe

It is a great pleasure to read that you were able to enjoy a nice stay with us especially when you have mentioned

Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide our valued guest a memorable experience. I thus thank you again for having shared us your experience

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels

Best regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Enjoyed a three night stay at the Sofitel Europe in February, and had a fantastic time from the moment we arrived to the time we left. We decided to stay at the Sofitel based on previous trip-advisor reviews, and it’s easy to see how the hotel receives its high rating and consistently positive comments. The highlight for us was the hotel staff; all without exception were incredibly friendly, engaging, and went about their duties with apparently effortless ease and efficiency – something that in reality can only be achieved through extreme hard work.

Our room had a large shower, excellent toiletries, large and luxurious bed, big flat-screen TV, and was kept spotlessly clean during our stay. A nice touch was the selection of eight (I think it was eight – they weren’t around for long) Neuhaus chocolates that were bought to our room on the first night – very, very good!

The hotel bar, whilst more expensive than other bars in the area, was where we started and ended our evenings, and the staff were welcoming, friendly and tirelessly patient as we inflicted our pigeon French on them. Tried a glass of a very tasty ‘Mandarine Napoleon’ brandy liqueur based on their recommendation, and then managed to pick up a bottle for €18 at the supermarket opposite the hotel. The Sunday market outside the hotel is also very good for cheeses and charcuterie.

Didn’t try the breakfast during our stay, but only because we were not hungry, having eaten well on all three nights……and to be honest, really didn’t want to get out of the luxurious bed.

Whilst the Hotel is not in the City centre, it is easily accessible via the metro or the taxi rank outside the hotel (€8 to Gare Central, at the edge of the City centre), and there are numerous bars and restaurants on Place Jourdan. The frites from Maison Antoine, just opposite the hotel, are pretty good – crisp and oil free - far superior to your average chip shop fare. Join the lengthy queue, buy a cone, and then eat them with the locals in one of the bars, downed with a beer – bonne appetit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Rp0263,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Brussels Europe

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, especially with our service quality, the staff, location and the comfort in the room. Our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel

We guarantee you that your experience in our Hotel is providing us with relevant additional guest comprehension and experience. We remain at your entire disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent and truly unforgettable

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another Sofitel experience

Best regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having found a good weekend deal I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.
It is a very good place to stay in Brussels, the location is perfect, near Schuman and parc Leopold. The rooms are nice, spacious, (nice TV and sound system) so is the bathroom (nice big shower, a lot of space to put your things).
Staff is very discrete but very nice. Great breakfast buffet, too expensive in my opinion but still very tasty. Great bar downstairs, very tasty drinks, professional and lovely staff. I can fully recommend this hotel and will be back sooner or later.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathapong L, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Brussels Europe, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Papeetee,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sofitel Brussels Europe

It is a great pleasure to read that you were able to enjoy a nice stay with us especially when you have mentioned

Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide our valued guest a memorable experience. I thus thank you again for having shared us your experience

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Brussels

Best regards,

Nathapong Laorvong
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Brussels Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brussels Europe

Address: Place Jourdan 1, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brussels Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the European quarter, Sofitel Brussels Europe is a truly elegant Brussels Belgium hotel - just a short walk from the European institutions. Enjoy gracious hospitality within our Brussels hotel accommodations, which sit on the colorful Jourdan Place - at the doorstep of the peaceful Leopold Park, near the museums of Cinquantenaire Park and the exceptional Félix Hap garden. The Grand Place is a few minutes from our Brussels city center hotel via metro or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Brussels Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brussels Europe Hotel Etterbeek
Accor Brussels Europe
Brussels Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Brussels Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.